We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Eureka

3.0 of 5 1929 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    96
    78
    45
    38
See reviews for
96
80
27
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (314)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Eureka
See the most recent reviews
Geyserville, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Chose this hotel as every thing else was two stars. Foremost the bed was terrible! Lumpy, old sinking in the middle old. Every thing else was fine... Quiet. Fairly clean and accommodated with a good location on the north end of town. Free water was nice. Large Spacios room and bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

DiannaC20, I am happy to hear that your stay was good. I am very sorry about your bed and will try to locate and replace it. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to serve you again. More

Eureka
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting the ocean. i was disaponted in the quality of how clean the rooms where. Their was mold growing in the shower. Multiple lights had burned out bulbs. Don't know that we will go back to this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello S W, I am very sorry for your experience while staying at our hotel. We have identified the problem room and have deep cleaned every surface and performed a full maintenance review. We take your complaint very seriously will review all showers for any similar problems. Thank you for writing a review and have a great day. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

the room and facility was clean, excellent city location, difficult street entry, staff had the attitude that the guest were an inconvenience, often got single word answers when asking questions or requesting assistance

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

S P, Thank you for staying with us. I have brought this review to the attention of all my staff. Please know that our staff is dedicated to a great stay for all the guests and that we will use your comments to avoid any issues in the future. Thank you for writing a review. More

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We decided (on a whim) to stop at the Red Lion after a long day of travel We were able to catch the Dodger game in the sports bar. Friendly staff and a good place to relax and catch the game. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was good (for hotel buffet style).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Greetings RJ F, Thank you for your kind review. Our bartenders we be happy to hear the great news. We hope to see you again! More

Homewood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We stayed at this property for three nights. It was very busy with tour buses and college soccer teams all staying at the same time. As a positive, we did not hear anything as far as loud noises. This place seems to be well insulated. The lobby can be a busy place though, with college kids running around, as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Jody A, We can certainly get busy with the tour buses and teams and we appreciate your patience. I apologize for the view from the room. We are exploring options about how to make those views more pleasant. We also employ parking lot security to help protect and secure guest's cars and belongings. Thank you for your review and have... More

Gulf Breeze Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I have quite a bit of experience traveling, and have stayed at plenty of Hotels. This Red Lion stay (My first with this franchise) was very good. Friendly people, good breakfast, bar was fine. Nice comfortable beds...very adequate all around. I'm all for staying again...and I wouldn't just say that...It's comparable to any 3 star I've stayed in, and although... More

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello SunandFun20142014, Thank you for your great review. We are always happy to see when a guest enjoys their stay. We look forward to serving you again and hope you have a great day! More

London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

If this hotel were anywhere else, I would up its star rating by 1. The room was fine and the staff were friendly and efficient. We had a meal in the restaurant - pretty good, but there were not many vegetarian options on the menu. The real downside of the restaurant was the multiple TV screens booming out a football... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

LondonpairLondon, Thank you for taking time to write a review. I will speak with our bartenders about making the breakfast room available for more peaceful dining if needed. I apologize that wasn't offered during your meal. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your tour was exciting. We hope to serve you again. More

Eureka
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Our stay was very enjoyable. All the staff, through out the hotel, were very friendly and helpful. Check in was easy and quick, the rooms are very nice and roomy. Updated furnishings, TV, microwave and fridge.

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Kimberly W, Thank you for writing a review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again! More

Spokane Valley, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We pulled in behind 2 tour buses that had just arrived but our check in was very speedy but not quite so efficient. The front desk clerk wrote the wrong room number on the key jacket and I arrived to a room already occupied requiring a trip back to the lobby to get it straightened out. Having stayed at many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello CouleeCat, Thank you for taking time to write your review. I really appreciate this review as it gives me great training items for front desk and housekeeping in our meetings. I apologize that for the issues and hope we can serve you again soon. I would like to see another review that says "All good" in the future. Again,... More

Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This was our second night stop-over with the tour in late August. We have not heard much about Red Lion Hotel but this hotel is quite good or above average. It offers all basic amenities including of course Wi-Fi., room was clean and everything worked well Our room was on the street level, so we did not take a chance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Benfamily11, Thank you for your kind review. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Lion Hotel Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Address: 1929 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay