We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel Eureka

3.0 of 5 1929 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    94
    78
    44
    38
See reviews for
95
78
26
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (307)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (140)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Lancaster, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Red Lion-Eureka for my daughter's official visit weekend at Humboldt State University. The hotel was an easy commute from HSU and the staff was outstanding. The rooms (furniture) can use an update and the bar and grill was good but a little pricey. The staff in the bar and grill was very accommodating as well, tuned... More

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a clean and comfortable hotel. Rooms are nicely furnished and linen was clean. Quite a few restaurants in the vicinity within walking distance. Breakfast was good and the staff were extremely helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello iwrileyi, Thank you for your kind review and business. We hope to be able to serve you again! More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On my way to Creater Lake we had one night stay. We were in a group. The hotel rooms are clean and very good except the carpet. The rooms are big enough. The location is very good. For choice of food Subway is just opposite the hotel & Indian hotel is just one minute walk for lunch or dinner. In... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello shivanandrajadhyax, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed the beautiful vistas at Crater Lake. I have noted your comment about carpet and will add your room to our monthly carpet cleaning list. Thank you for writing a review and have a great day! More

Geyserville, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chose this hotel as every thing else was two stars. Foremost the bed was terrible! Lumpy, old sinking in the middle old. Every thing else was fine... Quiet. Fairly clean and accommodated with a good location on the north end of town. Free water was nice. Large Spacios room and bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

DiannaC20, I am happy to hear that your stay was good. I am very sorry about your bed and will try to locate and replace it. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to serve you again. More

Eureka
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting the ocean. i was disaponted in the quality of how clean the rooms where. Their was mold growing in the shower. Multiple lights had burned out bulbs. Don't know that we will go back to this hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello S W, I am very sorry for your experience while staying at our hotel. We have identified the problem room and have deep cleaned every surface and performed a full maintenance review. We take your complaint very seriously will review all showers for any similar problems. Thank you for writing a review and have a great day. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the room and facility was clean, excellent city location, difficult street entry, staff had the attitude that the guest were an inconvenience, often got single word answers when asking questions or requesting assistance

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

S P, Thank you for staying with us. I have brought this review to the attention of all my staff. Please know that our staff is dedicated to a great stay for all the guests and that we will use your comments to avoid any issues in the future. Thank you for writing a review. More

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided (on a whim) to stop at the Red Lion after a long day of travel We were able to catch the Dodger game in the sports bar. Friendly staff and a good place to relax and catch the game. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was good (for hotel buffet style).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Greetings RJ F, Thank you for your kind review. Our bartenders we be happy to hear the great news. We hope to see you again! More

Homewood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this property for three nights. It was very busy with tour buses and college soccer teams all staying at the same time. As a positive, we did not hear anything as far as loud noises. This place seems to be well insulated. The lobby can be a busy place though, with college kids running around, as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Jody A, We can certainly get busy with the tour buses and teams and we appreciate your patience. I apologize for the view from the room. We are exploring options about how to make those views more pleasant. We also employ parking lot security to help protect and secure guest's cars and belongings. Thank you for your review and have... More

Gulf Breeze Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have quite a bit of experience traveling, and have stayed at plenty of Hotels. This Red Lion stay (My first with this franchise) was very good. Friendly people, good breakfast, bar was fine. Nice comfortable beds...very adequate all around. I'm all for staying again...and I wouldn't just say that...It's comparable to any 3 star I've stayed in, and although... More

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

Hello SunandFun20142014, Thank you for your great review. We are always happy to see when a guest enjoys their stay. We look forward to serving you again and hope you have a great day! More

London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If this hotel were anywhere else, I would up its star rating by 1. The room was fine and the staff were friendly and efficient. We had a meal in the restaurant - pretty good, but there were not many vegetarian options on the menu. The real downside of the restaurant was the multiple TV screens booming out a football... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford L, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Eureka, responded to this review

LondonpairLondon, Thank you for taking time to write a review. I will speak with our bartenders about making the breakfast room available for more peaceful dining if needed. I apologize that wasn't offered during your meal. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your tour was exciting. We hope to serve you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Eureka?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Lion Hotel Eureka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Eureka

Address: 1929 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Eureka 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Eureka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Eureka
Eureka Red Lion

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay