We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Eureka hotels

Econo Lodge

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1630 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Eureka
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    8
    14
    33
See reviews for
19
15
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Eureka, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This motel is directly across the street from the ground bus stop. This is the first and closest place to stay once the greyhound drops off a load of transients and tweakers at 1015pm. If you like to be surrounded by meth heads then this is your place. Made the mistake of getting a room here while passing through and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, Dec.12 2014. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.... More 

Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

My wife and I cannot even begin to tell you HOW MUCH YOU SHOULD AVOID STAYING AT THIS MOTEL!!! We found this location by accident as we were driving down the CA coast and needed a last minute location to spend the night. We paid $65.00 for 2 adults and a 1 queen bed, non-smoking room. The room was one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Were tired on our way to Seattle and thought we would stay in an Econo-lodge. Mistake!! The room was old and dirty with stained towels in the bathroom. Numerous transients in the parking lot asking for a hand-out. The pillows (if you could call them that) were flat as a pancake. We had to roll up our clothing to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We were desperate for a place to sleep on our road trip from LA-Seattle. We wish we had kept driving. Room was dirty, sheets were not clean. (Luckily, we travel with a top sheet for such emergencies.) The bathroom was disgusting: there was a dirty pair of shorts/shirt (?) on the back on the filthy bathroom door left behind by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

San Miguel, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Upon arrival at the check in desk I was happy with the manager. Very helpful and polite. But while checking in 2 homeless men ran in and got coffee and ran out. The manager started yelling at them. On the way to our room there were several people lurking in the parking lot.They were searching for something in the bushes...and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

tomahawk, wi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

transcients were present, and rooms looked like they had been used for 30 years and not maintained, did not feel safe saying in this room, breakfast offered but not very much to choose from, just looked old

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

San Jose
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Clean rooms and Good Service. Staff was very friendly and responsive. Free wifi is actually pretty quick. Cheapest place in Eureka I think, well placed on US-101. For what it is, a place to sleep, it's fine. People that run it are nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional... More 

Bandon, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

After reading other reviews, I am truly sorry for the owner/manager. I paid $60 for the night- incredibly cheap! Yes, the rooms weren't extremely clean and the breakfast was lacking, but if you want a luxurious hotel, there are plenty more in the area that cost more than double. Money buys what it buys. Don't book a 2 star hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional... More 

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We arrived at this lodge about 8 pm after having flown from Sydney and driven from san Francisco.The gentleman on reception was not at all friendly as one would have expected a reasonable welcome. The rooms were dated but clean and tidy.Breakfast in the morning was very sparse But value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Oxford, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Avoid unless the only option you have. Not worth the $65 for a single they want/get. This review needed a minimum of 200 characters....difficult to say avoid with that many characters. Soooo just go somewhere else...mattress old/saggy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1630 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Eureka

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay