We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Eureka hotels

Econo Lodge

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1630 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
16%
Ranked #19 of 20 hotels in Eureka
  • Overview
  • Reviews (55)
  • Photos (10)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    6
    14
    27
See reviews for
15
14
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Avoid unless the only option you have. Not worth the $65 for a single they want/get. This review needed a minimum of 200 characters....difficult to say avoid with that many characters. Soooo just go somewhere else...mattress old/saggy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More

Lehi, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything in town was full except this property. It was passable at best. Not the best neighborhood, but typical of the majority of other hotel properties in Eureka. Would not stay again if there were other options, but it worked for the night we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Resham D, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More

Novato, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, but paid for 2. I thought I was on top of things, booking our hotel room for my daughter's graduation three months in advance. WRONG! Everything in Arcata and the better motels in Eureka were completely sold out. I had driven by this Econo Lodge on my way thru Eureka enough times to know that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More

Goleta, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Graduation is a tough time to visit Arcata, No hotel rooms under $200!. I ended up in the Econo Lodge Eureka. It was not far and, at $90, good deal less costly, I should have know it was too good to be true. This is a scruffy highway motel that surely didn't live up to even my Motel 6 standards... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review,> We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was> unsatisfactory. I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your> dissatisfaction. There is never an excuse for providing a valued> guest, such as you, with anything less than a perfect experience. We>... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sooo, my hubby and I were on a spur-of-the-moment trip through Avenue of the Giants, got up to Eureka and stopped for the night with no hotel reservation. After finding out the whole of Eureka and Arcata (and a 50 miles radius) was sold out for the Kinetic Championship event and a middle school graduation, and it's a holiday weekend,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank for posting your review we appreciate your comments we work hard to provide you with the best possible accommodations for the most reasonable rates and our staff is happy when we learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to Eureka. More

Venice, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was the worst possible experience of staying at a hotel...EVER!! This cess pool of dirt and stains and mold smells was over whelming, I changed rooms to only get the same if not worse, the bedding was disgusting and the mattresses were stained with god knows what and the floors were smelly and sticky. All of the furniture was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

> We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was> unsatisfactory. I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your> dissatisfaction. There is never an excuse for providing a valued> guest, such as you, with anything less than a perfect experience. We> are sorry that you received service that promoted you to... More

Fall City, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we came back to our hotel after dark we had to take a cab since the area is not safe. The hotel manager complained about us being to loud. (we just talked and said our goodnights) I would never stay in this part of town again. To many drug issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

>> We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was> unsatisfactory. I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your> dissatisfaction. There is never an excuse for providing a valued> guest, such as you, with anything less than a perfect experience. We> are sorry that you received service that promoted you... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive down the 101 we were looking for a place to spend the night before continuing on. I made the mistake of booking a room online before reading the reviews. I assumed when I saw the rate of $93 that it would be a little nicer but this room was barely worth $50 for a night, let... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Resham D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

>>> We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was> unsatisfactory. I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your> dissatisfaction. There is never an excuse for providing a valued> guest, such as you, with anything less than a perfect experience. We> are sorry that you received service that promoted... More

Rio Dell, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked a room here with my boyfriend because we had a going away party in Eureka, but we live in a nearby town, and we both wanted to drink and not worry about driving home. This was the only place that had a room available (smoking, 2 beds) within decent walking distance of the party, so we went ahead... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Resham D, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

>>> We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was> unsatisfactory. I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your> dissatisfaction. There is never an excuse for providing a valued> guest, such as you, with anything less than a perfect experience. We> are sorry that you received service that promoted... More

Michigan
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

No plans to ever return to this motel or this town! It is really sad, sad, sad... Closed up or for sale buildings, vagrants pushing grocery carts, people with black hoods on, kids on skateboards, people with pit-bulls passing right through the motel property all the time since the motel is sandwiched between two main streets and they can take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Resham D, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir. Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1630 Fourth Street, Eureka, CA 95501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Eureka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eureka Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Eureka

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Eureka with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
41

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer