We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Welk Resort San Diego

8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Welk Resort San Diego
Welk Resort San Diego
Welk Resort San Diego
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    316
    107
    62
    71
See reviews for
470
268
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (920)
  • Mar-May only
    (289)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (247)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (191)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (193)
All months
White Mountains of New Hampshire
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Kitchen great, bath great, living area and balcony great. But...wifi totally awful and the business centers always busy. The beds are not comfortable. The sofa bed was just springs. We had to get 5 down quilts to put on top of it. They need temperpedic sofa beds at the next upgrade. The hot tub wasn't really hot. Lovely grounds and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tyler, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Reservations were made several months in advance. Plane flight was cancelled due to dangerous weather. Resort was informed promptly. Arrived the next day for second reserved night. They would not grant us another night for the one missed(our preference) and did not offer to refund the funds. Even though had "reservations" and requested upstairs room WERE PLACED ON A BASEMENT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a two bedroom condo. Spacious and very comfortable. Bathrooms were great! Lots of counter space, double sinks, separate toilet room. Only drawback is no bath in second bathroom. Bed was just the right level of softness/firmness for me so I got great nights sleep. The balcony had a mountain view facing west so it was good for sunsets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Lieu H, I apologize for any negative interactions with the staff at our market. I will be sure to pass your thoughts on to our management team. I am glad you enjoyed your villa as well as our resort amenities (and the car chase). We would love to have you return for another getaway with us and see what... More 

Parma Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are beautiful and it was a very pleasant stay. The water pressure in one bath was nearly nonexistent and the furniture in the living room is hard a a rock and difficult to lounge on. Other than that, the rooms were spacious and the views beautiful, the kitchen well appointed. There are a ton of activities probably more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Wendy o, I am glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. I apologize for any challenges you encountered with your Villa. I am glad you had a chance to enjoy our resort as well as relax. If you return to the area we would love to have you back. More 

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We go each year. We rent 3- 2 bedroom Villas ( either Broadway or Harmony) and unpack and set up shop with out 3 sons and their young families. It has it all. If you need something extra or something is not working they send someone quickly. Lots of activities for all ages.Easy free parking. Quiet setting at the edge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear joanne g, Thank you very much for making Welk Resort San Diego your choice for an annual vacation with your family. I appreciate you taking the time to post you review. We look forward to having you and your family back in the near future for another excellent vacation. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thieves work here and they will steal from you like they did me. Had our Macbook stolen by the staff. Stay elsewhere or lock your things up in your car. Otherwise the resort is nice the pools where a zoo, and the food on site is awful. Oh yeah you are a ways from anything worth seeing, especially with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Jason G, Your comments concern us and we'd like the opportunity to look into this further. I have taken your concerns directly to our management team. Please reach out to me personally at hutch.farrell@welkgroup to discuss this matter in greater detail. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are owners who visit family in the San Diego area five or six times a year. The Welk Resort never disappoints, and improvements to the property are making it better and better. This is a wonderful place to stay, whether to relax and enjoy the resort, or visit any of the many attractions in the area. The staff try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Cynthia F, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always enjoy hearing from our owners. It is wonderful to hear that you had another great stay here at Welk Resort San Diego. We are very happy you had a chance to catch up with Adrienne during your stay. Thank you for being part of... More 

Weatherford, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there at the resort for a week in April 2015. The resort has many amenities and is family structured. We ate several meals in their restaurant and found it to be reasonable and very good. Our trip was to visit the attractions in San Diego and while the resort was a little remote, it met our needs. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi ftexas, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed some of the various amenities we have at the resort. We also appreciate your comments about the on-site restaurant. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to having you stay with us again if you return to the... More 

Goodyear, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Welk Resort April 13-18. This is a wonderful resort that has plenty of awesome features. My wife and I are Marriott owners in multiple locations. We always look for, and expect, high quality from 5 star resorts like Welk. Overall, this is a terrific time share resort. First, the good stuff. The facilities and grounds are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi warste, Thank you for choosing to stay here at Welk Resort San Diego. Your comments will certainly educate our future guests on some of the great things to expect while staying with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the wireless connection. We will be sure to look into this further. Thank you for taking the time to leave us... More 

Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited from Michigan on a gifted week from friends. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the villa. Being spring break week the pools were expectedly crowded. My son was disappointed with the essentially non operational splash pad near our pool, and the mountain pool one was completely closed. For spring break it seems that those should have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Parker J., Thank you for staying at the Welk Resort San Diego. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience at the pool area or the restaurant. We are, however, happy to hear that you and your family had a great stay, otherwise. Thank you for taking the time... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Golf course(16)
  • Living room(7)
  • Full kitchen(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

816 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (364)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (113)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Family/play areas (9)
Viewed
Other (94)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Boulder Springs Club House (49)
Viewed
Mountain Springs Rec Center (24)
Viewed
Mountain Villa (73)
Viewed
Resort Villa (93)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
Villas On The Green (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question