We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Welk Resort San Diego

8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Welk Resort San Diego
Welk Resort San Diego
Welk Resort San Diego
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    323
    108
    62
    71
See reviews for
476
271
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (931)
  • Mar-May only
    (300)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (247)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (191)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (193)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We used interval to trade for a small 1 bedroom unit in the Mountain Villas. The rooms are nice with a King bed in the master, a limited kitchen, living/dining room combination, and 1 full bathroom. The mountain villas seem to be the newest buildings on the property and have a "lodge" feel to them. There is no daily housekeeping,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

What can we say....what a relaxing vacation. We bought here many years ago after signing up for a promotion at a Dodgers game. So glad we did. Our family is so grateful for this beautiful vacation each year and we are so happy with all the upgrades we see at the property! The new activities, the wine tastings and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grover Beach, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed with friends who own a timeshare here, and we've been here several times. As others noted, there is some construction going on & pools are a bit crowded, but not overly so. Our unit was well appointed and looked out directly onto the BBQ's. Bed very comfy. Only downsides were air conditioning didn't work too well and Internet is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My friends and I have been coming to this resort for years , it just keeps getting better and better. the villa are well maintained and the grounds are beautiful, The pool areas are very inviting and they have an adult only pool which is inforced. They have a farmers market and craft fair on thursday,they have great food and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As always, Welk resorte took care of my husband and I. The room was spacious and clean, our balcony view was so peaceful, and the location to wineries and other attractions in San diego were amazing! Their food is delish, and all their employees were so sweet. Can't wait to go back 😄

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is near the main roads but the closest place which we went was a minimum of 30 minutes away... clean, quiet, nice gardens and golf course. Cannot really fault the hotel... just the location, which may have been my fault for not researching.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for a spring break vacation in San Diego, CA and stayed at the Welk Resort. It is a big property with very nice golf courses and very near a lot of great sites. The staff was always attentive and the buildings are well maintained.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

935ricardog, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I appreciate all of your positive comments. I will be sure to pass your thoughts on to our resort team. We look forward to you and your wife returning for another vacation sometime in the near future. More 

Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rented a two bedroom condo for a family reunion. The condos are very large, we were on the ones on The Greens. The family all golfed. Beautifully manicured landscaping and grounds. The beds are not the best, but the room was nice and great for a family. Would rent here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

AnnieP7, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is great to hear you were able to get your family together for a reunion and play some golf as well here at Welk Resort San Diego. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you returning for another visit in the future. More 

Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed during spring break April 8th with wife and 2 boys in a 1 bedroom villa on the green. The sofa bed was horrible, just springs. Luckily we brought a queen size air mattress. The toilet room door that separates the toilet from the rest of the bathroom didn't close all the way. Left about a half inch gap opening.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affgairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Robert H, I am sorry to hear about the challenges with your villa. I will share your information with my resort management team. We are upgrading some of our recreation areas so they will be closed while construction is happening. We are fortunate to have five separate recreation areas so we will always have areas open for the enjoyment of... More 

Grandview, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a week here with my husband and 3 y old daughter. The villas are nice and so is the pool area. The only complaint I have is that we couldn't get cell phone service in our villa (Mountain Villas) and the wi-fi wasn't great. It isn't such a bad thing to be unplugged when on vacation, however.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Joanna, It is great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The are occasions where the Wi-Fi and cell service can be a little challenging. I am glad you had a great vacation. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again if you return to the area. More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Golf course(16)
  • Living room(7)
  • Full kitchen(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

817 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (365)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (113)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Family/play areas (9)
Viewed
Other (95)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Boulder Springs Club House (49)
Viewed
Mountain Springs Rec Center (24)
Viewed
Mountain Villa (73)
Viewed
Resort Villa (93)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
Villas On The Green (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities