We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
588 North Mollison Avenue, I-8 Exit Mollison Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021-6143 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Ehernadnez Phoenix, Arizona
Add Photo

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    35
    15
    14
    22
See reviews for
42
19
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chose this hotel for location and price. It is in an older area of town. I was a little leery when we first got there thinking this place was going to be as old as the neighborhood it was in. Although the outer appearance does look to have a little history to it, it is very well kept and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear E.Hernandez, Thank you for our feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our inn. People are often surprised in a good way at our inn. It seems the work we have done to clean up and maintain the Inn is showing well. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found our staff to be nice. We... More 

Yuba City,Ca.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Service was great It was an awesome stay,booking next month again. room was beautiful and clean slept great, walking distance to El Cajon downtown. The least I didn't like was that there were dogs barking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you for staying with us, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time and giving us your feedback. We are glad you will be staying with us again next month. Sincerely Chetan Patel More 

Winchester, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

I got a call from the manager Chetan Patel, that damages occured in the room, the nightstand and the armoire were damaged. I believe that is insane. This is a scam here. No all professional. Lies above all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear London, I am glad you enjoyed our room, as you stated in your review the room was great. Upon check in you requested to see the room, one of my front desk agent took you to the room. Everything in the room was great. Upon entering your room after you left, my housekeeper noticed the damages that was caused... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Worse hotel experience ever! I cant believe these people get away with operating a hotel.. The first night I stayed there was ok but I had left early in the morning and then when i came back around noon, there were 2 leaks in the ceiling by the bathroom and all my clothes were soaked so I went and told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Dalyce A: Thank you for staying with us, our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests, however sometimes we are not able to do so. I am sorry about the leak in your room. The leak in the room was caused due to the rain. Since we were unable to make a quick repair we had to... More 

Sandy, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

My stay was in July! We went out for a family vacation and to drop my daughter off at San Diego State for a volleyball camp. We stayed 6 days. Over all we were very happy with the property, room and location. Its just of the 8 freeway so its very convenient to get to and leave from. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for staying with us, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a good time at your game. We hope to see again soon next time you are in town. Sincerely Chetan Patel More 

Champlain, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This Inn has excellent lodgings for a reasonable price. Close to the expressways and Sea World. The Black Angus restaurant is close by for an excellent evening of beef and more. The old village of San Diego is also close by.... with its many restaurants on the side of a rolling hill featuring excellent Mexican cuisine and more. The area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback. I am so happy that you found our inn to be excellent and our rates to be reasonable. Our goal is to provide a clean room for a fair price at a central location that has much to offer. It seems you had a blast in San... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed here for the Labor Day weekend. Checked in on Saturday at 3. I had lost my credit card so I had to put a $100 cash deposit, which was a little inconvenient but understandable. Our room was the king bed suite. It was comfortable and clean. I did not see any mold, smoke smell, or anything else that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Wow I could have not been able to described the hotel as well as you did. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We have spend thousands of dollars renovating this hotel, it feel great at our efforts are worth it. Our policy is to get a deposit... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My family and I stay in Choice Properties including Comfort Inns, Econo Lodges, Quality Inns, etc. throughout the country, without a problem ever. This one is HORRIFIC. They take your driver's license and COPY it when you arrive, then refuse to give it back upon check out. We literally had to call the police to get it back. The front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, it is feedback such as your that help us improve our service. I am sorry about the stained tub in your room, you will be happy to know that we are in process of refinishing all our tubs. I did have a word with our front desk staff, about getting things taken care... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Booked my rooms (4 nights) 2 months in advance through the website. Said 5 people -- 2 queens and a rollaway. Arrived (luckily) at 5PM to a desk clerk who (when asked) if the rollaway was in place said "It should be, but if not, just let me know". When we got into the room, 2 queens, no rollaway. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. I apologize for not having a rollaway bed ready for you when you arrived. One of our guest that had a rollaway extended his stay and we could not put one in your room. Once I found out about this I went to another hotel near by and borrowed one for you. However... More 

Montana City, Montana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

When you get off the interstate... this hotel is actually behind a gas station and car wash.... The room was very spacious and nice. Staff was helpful. Close to a few casinos that are very large. Which if you are into gambling is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad you found us, yes I agree we are little hard to find tucked away from the main street, yet our location is close to all that San Diego has to offer, such as Casinos and other attractions. I am so glad you found our rooms to be spacious and nice along with helpful staff. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay