We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1355 East Main Street, El Cajon, CA 92021
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    18
    15
    17
    21
See reviews for
41
24
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
martinez, United States
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff was great, but the place needed to be re-done, 3 roaches in the room, carpet was stained and smelly. The parking lot was dirty and there was, let's say, lots going on the in the parking lot. it was quiet though.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only reason I give the Best Western Courtesy Inn in El Cajon, Ca. such high ratings is because the housekeepers are great. The owner is fantastic, great person to be able to meet. The manager however is down right deplorable. Curses in front of whomever she wants, even our 5 year old granddaughter. The people she is cursing at is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DEBORAH C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you find a nice place to stay when you leave here. We are sorry that we could not accommodate you further but as it seems we are not able to allow you to choose what room you wanted to stay in because of the complaints we received about the noise from... More 

Travelers are raving about these El Cajon hotels

Lansing, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything in this hotel was excellent, including the breakfast. Appreciate the warm hospitality rendered by the hotel staff. I would recommend this hotel to any of my relatives and friends. A big thank you to Best Western.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DEBORAH C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to providing you with excellent service again the next time you visit. More 

North Hollywood, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here many times before during my annual family reunion, but this time it was less than satisfactory. Non-smoking room smelled of cigs, carpet was dirty, and pillows were lumpy (bed was fine, though). Staff was friendly, but like I just said, the room was what I'd expect from a lower-grade motel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Azusa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

They upgraded our room & reduced the price. Unfortunately, the main room air conditioning didn't work properly and the mattress smelled of urine and was soiled. We're grateful, that we had another room to sleep in so we didn't have to complain to management. Hopefully this comment will make a difference.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DEBORAH C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us we did take care of the things you brought to our attention and look forward to providing you with superior service again the next time you visit. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

I liked his hotel/motel because this was a family trip and we had enough space one room but divided inside by a wall two bathrooms 4 beds, and the price was excellent. The shower was great. The breakfast was delicious and the people very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DEBORAH C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to providing superior service again on your next visit to the area. More 

Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

With the need to house 5 children it was a blessing to find a four bed suite at the Best Western that was value rated. The breakfast was amazing and it enjoyed by all. The hot waffles, scrambled eggs, and the sausage links were delicious.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DEBORAH C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in filling out a survey, we appreciate the your comments. More 

Bethel Park
Level Contributor
100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

...and it was great. Never saw any prostitutes or drug-deals, or people outside smoking? We did see lots of young families in the pool everyday.Of course we were asleep by 9:00, but we never heard anything either? Slept great, good bed, clean room, housekeeping was excellent, and REAL eggs & REAL sausage for breakfast! Plus, lots of other items. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DEBORAH C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in submitting a survey regarding your stay. We are pleased that you noticed all the changes and we are looking forward to your next stay which you might notice more improvements. More 

Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Everyone and their dog smokes at this hotel. And it was not just one night. They love the stairs. I think that must be the designated smoking spot. The other thing I did not like is they moved my room at the last minute after I had personally called on the phone to confirm. I had 2 rooms and they... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DEBORAH C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review

Your concerns are taken very seriously and we are dealing with the smoking issue. Also we do regret having to move a room, sometimes we have to move them and can not accommodate a request because of the previous nights rentals. We do try hard to accommodate our guest and I hope the next time you stay with us we... More 

Monrovia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Best Western should be more selective of who they allow to stay, I was with my Son who travels with a nation wide drum core. During the day it looks safe but as soon as the sun went down there were drug deals going on as well as prostitutes. I did not feel safe at all. The night clerk would... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DEBORAH C, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for filling our survey out, We regret that you felt uncomfortable, we have a general construction crew and other business guest staying with us and I know they like to talk outside after work. There were and are no drug dealers or prostitutes on our property, we work with the local police department in conjunction with other hotels... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
1.1 mi away
Days Inn El Cajon
Days Inn El Cajon
#2 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santee Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
18.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
#126 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay