We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Inn

12644 Lakewood Blvd., Downey, CA 90242
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
American Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    4
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my wife for the weekend. Couldnt here the guy either all i heard was the room number... but what matters to me is the room. And me and my wife loved the room it was nice, clean, and comfortable. The guy does walk around but all we did is closed the curtains, simple solution. Will stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southern CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Ok BEWARE of this creepy place. I really gave them 0 stars. Yes like the other p[person said the owner is creeping around all hours of the night because he is a pervert. My daughter stayed here and was frightened to death. The owner actually made advances to her and spoke sexist remarks. She just said get out of here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Downey, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

The room was very clean and nice, but the service was terrible. The man at the counter was very rude to my boyfriend and I, he even told us "If I see another person going into your room, I'm gonna charge you".

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while staying at American Inn. Your feedback on your experience at our Downey property has helped us tremendously in the retraining of the customer service we offer at American Inn. We truly hope that you were able to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms, which come furnished with a flat screen television,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to relax for a week, after hours of browsing for a nice place for less than a hundred dollars a night, we found one. When we arrived, we were both a little disappointed at first sight. It's very different from other places we had even e'er stayed at. But, as there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at American Inn. We are glad to hear that our property exceeded your expectations. As you were able to see our newly remodeled rooms come fully furnished with a flat screen television, microwave, fridge, Iron and Iron board. We also offer free Wi-Fi and parking. Please know that... More 

Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

did not care for the office area where you check in, but overall a good value for a clean, newly remodeled room with a comfortable bed and good space to put your luggage. complete with small refrigerator and microwave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Downey property. As you were able to see, our recently remodeled rooms come with a flat screen television, microwave, fridge, coffee maker. You will be happy to know that we are located near many shopping centers, major freeways, so going to such places like Disneyland or Universal Studios... More 

Santa Maria
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Have stayed here before and it was fine for the price. Stayed again for Christmas holiday and very disappointed! Owner/manager stands behind a very thick glass window at check-in and you can't hear him talk, all I heard was room 102 as his slid the key under the security opening. He was not friendly at all and lacked customer service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for deciding to stay at American Inn during the Christmas season. We are happy to hear that you are a returning guest. We also apologize for the experience your encountered during your most recent stay. Please know that ever since your review, we have spoken with the person that checked you in and have retrained this person. Now,... More 

Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The rooms were very nice, modern and clean. The only con was there was an odor in the bathroom from the fan whenever you turned it on. The beds were comfortable. The location was great. If I remember, In-n-Out burger was really close. A great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your feedback on our Downey property. We are happy to hear that you liked our newly remodeled rooms, and that the beds were comfortable. We hope you were able to enjoy our free Wi-Fi, as well as parking. Yes, we are located... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This motel is decent for the area... Your five to ten minutes from walmart or walgreens and 6 for fast food. Train line is 5 min walk and goes to long beach or downtown la via metroline. It looks better on the inside than the outside. The room was modern and great, wifi was decent and bed was comfy. Friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for deciding to stay with us for the last couple of nights (19 nights to be more specific). We are glad you liked our newly updated rooms. We worked really hard on improving the inside conditions of our room, and are happy to know that valued guests such as yourself greatly appreciate all the hard work... More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Pros: - Rooms were surprisingly very clean. Everything seemed newly renovated, so the decor was very modern. - Wifi access was consistent and moderately fast for hotel wifi - Conveniently located by the freeways. Cons: - Front-desk staff weren't outwardly friendly as you would hope they should be. Since I didn't run into problems, I didn't have to deal with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your feedback on our Downey property. We thank you for the great comments you have regarding our newly renovated property. As you were able to see on your stay, we have update all our rooms with flat screen television, microwave, fridge, iron... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Rooms are excellent for the price, very clean and modern. The outside is very clean and the landscape area is manicured. Also really like the floors, not carpet to me makes the room much cleaner. I do agree with a previous review, the staff when you check in were a bit cold and they don't communicate too well, but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at American Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a chance of staying at the American Inn this past weekend. We are happy that you liked our newly remodeled property and that the room was to your liking. Yes, even though all our rooms are brand new, our room rates are always at an affordable rate. And yes, here at American Inn, we feel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downey
0.4 mi away
Studio Inn And Suites
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Stonewood
Days Inn Stonewood
#3 of 8 in Downey
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk Inn
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in Downey
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
3.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn South Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay