We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    868
    289
    149
    81
    65
See reviews for
372
461
36
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1452)
  • Mar-May only
    (325)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (488)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (364)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (275)
All months
There are newer reviews for St. Regis, Monarch Beach
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I thought the property itself, location, rooms, and everything about the resort was top notch. The attention to detail and cleanliness is literally second to none. The ocean views, pool, common square, golf course, and grounds are incredibly beautiful and breathtaking. I live in Southern California, and mostly get to see the ocean daily. I was still taken aback by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

we booked the st Regis on the advice of our agent Rob M at smartflyer dot com (St. Louis division). He arranged an upgrade with extensive amenities include ocean view suite. we are well travelled professionals and this may have been the nicest hotel room we've seen in the US. the lobby, dining facilities and pool area are similarly elegant.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately only stayed one night. Had to tear myself away. Beautiful and large suite with incredible views of the manicured golf course. Service was outstanding everywhere. Would jump at the chance to come back. One night is not enough. Friendly and accommodating staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review

Ann F- Thank you for your review on The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short stay with us and will look forward to your return as a repeat guest! Thank you, The Executive Offices The St. Regis Monarch Beach More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It is a beautiful facility at best setting in California. But it has worst staffing and service in the world. My golf bag was missing every time I play and didn't even made to my trunk when I check out from the hell. My family was harassed by drunks no staff came to help and when I complained about it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review

Chuck K - Thank you for your response on TripAdvisor. Our management team is looking into your issues right now, and making sure these events do not occur in the future. We apologize for the events that took place during your stay. The St. Regis Monarch Beach is a safe place for families, and we strive to make sure our... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This is our first stay at Monarch Beach but it certainly won't be our last stay. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are very spacious and the decor is lovely. The food in the restaurants is definitely five star. But the very very best thing about this hotel are all the people who work there. The staff is efficient, non-intrusive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review

Rivahgirl68- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you, The Executive Offices The St. Regis Monarch Beach More 

Essex Fells, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and daughter spent a day here in August. Rooms are nice, but condescending attitude of much of the staff was a big disappointment from previous stays. The superiority attitude of the Reception front desk was only outdone by the "I'm very important" attitude of many of the guests parading around the pool midday in High heals, makeup and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review

davidanddottie- Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear you had issues with the front desk. Your concerns have been voiced to our management staff. However, we are happy our concierge team was able to help you. Thank you, The Executive Offices St. Regis Monarch Beach More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Overall, amazing property. I had a good room rate because I was there for a conference but everything else was ridiculously priced...ie, wireless Internet, bottle of water, coffee at shop. Which brings me to my next point, there was no complimentary coffee in room. You had to pay $25 for a coffee maker or order room service. This was annoying.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel continues to impress with its consistent service, spotless rooms and gorgeous location. We enjoyed our 25th wedding anniversary and other than a really loud and obnoxious group getting drunk near our table (thankfully, the waiters helped scoot them away), the evening was perfection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review

LReego- Thank you so much for your positive review about your recent experience at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. Congratulations on your 25th Wedding Anniversary, we are so pleased you choose to spend it at our Resort. Looking forward to having you back again soon, The Executive Offices St. Regis Monarch Beach More 

Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was one of the most perfect first time experiences we've had in traveling. My husband and 2 children, booked a last minute trip to California. I researched southern Cal. hotels and decided to go the Laguna Beach area. It was a toss-up between the Ritz and St. Regis. After reading 20+ reviews... the choice was St. Regis. I read... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review

MoA- Thank you so much for your positive review about your recent stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are thrilled to read about your great experience at the Resort, and we hope to have you and your family back again soon. Thank you, The Executive Offices St. Regis Monarch Beach More 

usa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Gorgeous views, very helpful staff, yummy food. The pool are is lovely and relaxing. You can see the ocean. Nice areas to walk around the property. Beautiful and spacious marble bathrooms. Very comfortable beds also it was quiet. I wish they had coffee/tea makers in the room ---otherwise it was great. They also offer self parking for those of us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • St Regis(21)
  • Stonehill Tavern(10)
  • Golf course(9)
  • Resort fee(7)
  • Very nice(5)
  • Star hotel(4)
  • Room service(4)
  • Valet parking(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

788 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (554)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (140)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (167)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (39)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Resort View Room (5)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (30)
Viewed
St. Regis Suite (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#3 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 19 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay