We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Regis, Monarch Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
St. Regis, Monarch Beach
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    258
    136
    76
    63
See reviews for
322
413
35
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1302)
  • Mar-May only
    (288)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (376)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (363)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (275)
All months
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My sister and I took my mother to the Spa Gaucin for her birthday. What a wonderful experience we had! I must give a shout out to Jenevieve who went out of her way to make our day extra special. I have been to several high end spas, and this one is incomparable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
California, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is walking distance from the beach by way of some private and public trails. It's a great way to start the morning or end the day with a brisk morning walk or a calming sunset jaunt. The hotel is beautifully designed and the rooms are quite large by today's standards. The furnishings are efficient but nothing special for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Loved every minute of our 6 night stay. Beware though, Luxury does not come cheap!! The staff were helpful and polite, the views stunning, grounds carefully maintained, and although the beach a short tram ride away very private with wonderful food at the cafe. The golf course is also top class. Was pleasantly surprised to see a top class hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Service and the people who worked at the St. Regis made it a Five Stars. The property needed some updating and they are taking care of this. The food was very good but not Outstanding. My best meal was at the Stone Brewery about forty minutes away. The Stone Brewery was half the price and it was outstanding. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a five star hotel. Truly. It was all very expensive, perhaps 2.0 or 2.5 times what you normally expect to pay for a room, or a glass of wine, or a salad. But the service was extraordinary without being obsequious (which I really dislike); no-one was subservient, just open, friendly and helpful. We were there for four days,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First of all, the beds and pillows have a bad odor. The rooms are dated and need improvement. Passover Program was $11,000 for eight days and the food gave several people stomach programs. What a rip-off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris W, Director of Sales at St. Regis, Monarch Beach, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you, for taking the time to share your experience. We have confirmed with the Passover leader that the "program" was 10 nights as part of the custom, not 8 as you have stated and the price you quoted was not correct. The organizers are concerned. Please reach out to them via the way you confirmed your attendance if... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I recently stayed at the St Regis Monarch Beach for 10 days with a large group. The service and amenities could not have been better. The staff went out of their way to please, and they extended every imaginable courtesy to the group. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, the restaurants are fantastic, and the service is second to none.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I just completed a 10 days holiday stay at the St Regis, Monarch Beach. What a fabulous vacation! I have stayed at a number of St Regis (and other Starwood) properties and I believe this is the most beautiful, best located, most comfortable – and perhaps most importantly – the one with the best staff. The things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I can't say enough good things about this hotel!!! My husband and I came here March 24-29 for my husband's business trip and I tagged along since my 30th birthday was the 27th. Upon check in I casually mentioned it was my birthday that week and somehow the bartender must have overheard me because later on when we went outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
baltimore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Family stayed at the hotel for a week. Truly the best experience. The staff is always so helpful and ready to help. The rooms are very homey and the extra large bathroom is a plus!! The pools are beautiful and the views are stunning. I can not wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

713 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (479)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (130)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (118)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (39)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Resort View Room (5)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (30)
Viewed
St. Regis Suite (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question