We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added Hotel Jeffery to your Saves list
5001 Main St., Coulterville, CA 95311
Hotel amenities
Hotel Jeffery
Ranked #3 of 5 Coulterville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coulterville
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
37
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We were going to a field trial (dog race) in the area and this hotel was recommended. After doing some research, we were a little hesitant. The hype made it fun, exciting and memorable. Clean, kind and the bar & restaurant was amazing. We slept good and quiet and we look forward after they clean up from the fire, staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walworth, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Unfortunately the hotel burned while we were there. Sara put us up across the street for the rest of our stay. Anyone who wants to donate to the restoration, here is a go fund me address: Gofundme.com/hegno4 We had an experience similar to the one described on Yelp in May of this year. We stayed in the rooms next door.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monterey California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This really authentic old Western Hotel is not in the best of shape and certainly is nothing like its brochure. Stayed there recently and thought it reminiscent of a Russian boarding house, no luxuries whatsoever, heaters didn't work, no hairdryer and breakfast was equally unappetizing. Plastic cereal bowls, gallon milk jug shoved in a bowl of ice and orange juice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sara Z, Owner at Hotel Jeffery, responded to this review

We do offer hair dryers, robes, coffee makers and various other toiletries upon request, even for the rooms that rent for $54.00/night.. Unfortunately, we can no longer provide them in each room as they kept disappearing and made it financially difficult to keep replacing them on a continuing basis. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Not sure... More 

Patterson, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Super charming European style accommodations. Hotel has a lot of deferred maintenance when you look closely. Gruff check-in procedure in bar could have been friendlier. Shared bathroom setup for most rooms. Shared baths were not as clean as I'd like. Charming rooms and furnishings, good food, court yard seating on patio was nice. Interesting vibe in town and very out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

An hour away from Yosemite National Park, this ancient hotel sits cozy with its haunted stories doing the rounds. I was there in May 2012 for the Memorial Day weekend when everything closer to the park was sold out or too expensive. The rooms were neat and clean and the shared baths were clean and well-maintained. I didn't try the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stay in the hotel with my three sisters, and we had the best experience in our live. We also went to the kitchen of the Restaurant Bar to cooked with the Chef. We love our stay and we have plan to be there soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Irving, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I am 71years old.My daughter and i came to the hotel on july 4th and 5th.The first night on July 4th .The room tempt. at nine oclock was 89.It never cooled down the whole night.We found out that it had no air condition.Itwas cooled by a swamp cooler.A lot of good that did.We came back the next evening around 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sara Z, Owner at Hotel Jeffery, responded to this review

The hotel was built in 1850 and we advertise our hotel as not having central air conditioning and during the day in severe heat conditions (which we have been having) the swamp coolers that we have don't keep the hotel as cool as we would like but during the night they do keep the rooms cool and we have ceiling... More 

Fountain Valley, California
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Let me start by telling you that this review is for the dining room only, not the accommodations. We have family in the area and they had called to make reservations in the dining room specifically. They were told not a problem, check in at the bar also attached to the Hotel and we would be seated in the dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mt. Clemens Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I were very excited to stay here on our three week road trip across the country. We booked the Teddy Roosevelt room back in Dec of 2013, and we booked this room specifically for its historical significance. We even had a lengthy conversation with the manager when we booked the room about how excited we were to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sara Z, Owner at Hotel Jeffery, responded to this review

I feel very bad that we had to rent out the room that had been reserved months in advance and had I remembered my conversation with her and that she specifically wanted that room (the Teddy room) I would have done things differently. We had a situation where a family the night before had ended up traveling with additional people... More 

Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel Jeffery several times and had a great time . The rooms are comfortable and clean, it's a B&B style, not all rooms have bathrooms but that's Ok. The bar downstairs is fun and it's nice to not have to go anywhere to have a great evening. We would recommend it to anyone staying in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Jeffery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jeffery

Address: 5001 Main St., Coulterville, CA 95311
Location: United States > California > Coulterville
Number of rooms: 18

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay