We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
4450 Main Street, Chula Vista, CA 91911
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    58
    22
    17
    9
See reviews for
50
24
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Henderson, United States
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was good, clean, and it meet our needs. It's close to the freeway and gas station. The price was reasonable compared to other hotels. The staff was friendly. However, it is a run down for a Best Western Plus and definitely requires renovations in the rooms. My non-smoking room smelled like smoke, which was uncomfortable. Overall, it was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly staff, clean room and grounds. Overall very satisfied with the stay for the rate paid. Staff was also very accommodating given some last minute changes on our part. Would stay here again, no doubt. A couple random knocks on the door over the course of the stay but we chalked it up as other guests forgetting which room they... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments. Everyone here thanks you. We are happy that you enjoyed breakfast and that we met your expectations. We hope you come visit us again. I am sure our staff will be delighted to provide you with excellent service one more time. Thank you, Victor M. Carrera General Manager More 

Phoenix, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception is extremely nice. The rooms were decent but the cleaning crew is lazy. Sheets were dirty, no towels, and when asked for new sheets by the evening crew we were told they do not change out sheets. In the a.m. we found dirty under wears from the previous customers. We notified Lynn and she was very apologetic.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is not proper procedure from our Guest Service Agents not to comply with your request to change the sheets in your room. When a customer requests service for any discrepancy in the room our duty is to do our best to correct it. Our housekeeping department takes pride in their work and even in high demand seasons... More 

Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spacious and clean room. Good value for the money. We will be back here on our next visit to San Diego. The only challenge was their lobby air conditioning unit was not working when we checked in. Reception manned only by one staff . Overall, we had a comfortable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. In very demanding times we are faced by unexpected circumstances. We appreciate your patience and understanding. We hope you come visit us soon. Regards, Victor M. Carrera General Manager More 

vista, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would stay here again despite a couple of minor irritants. Pulling up on the bath spout valve did not work very well. Took a while to get the shower operation to work. Had trouble accessing the internet for the first couple days. Issue was corrected the following day.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Holidays are where we put all hands on deck to maintain high levels of service. It is only in rare occasions were we fail to provide great customer service. We hope that you will grant us another opportunity to host you at our hotel. We can assure you will have a more pleasant... More 

MINERAL WELLS, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel 5 nights, Rooms were very clean, nicely appointed. Staff was very helpful in directions to the different facilites around the hotel. The pool and hot tub outside were very wonderful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come again. On behalf of all of our staff, Thank you . Sincerely, Victor M. Carrera More 

East Brunswick, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We went to Chula Vista for an archery tournament and this BW+ was the host hotel. There were several issues with our room: - A/C not working, so our room was warm and a bit humid, leading to a mildewy odor. - Toilet and bath faucet were both leaking, wasting precious water in CA. - Fridge was making grinding sound... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for not meeting your expectations. In very demanding seasons we take special care of all the amenities in the rooms. It is seldom that a problem arises and we cannot meet the guest expectations. I hope we were able to fix the issues you mentioned. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences we caused and thank... More 

Riverside, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

I paid 185.00 for 2Q bed for a party of 3. The room looks, feel and SMELLS old. The positive thing is close to a freeway, attentive staff, breakfast is included. I will not come back and will not recommend.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. We have many guest walking in our doors every day and in seldom occasions details like the smell of the room get over looked. We apologize. Our last renovation was in 2011 and since then we have upgraded many features in our rooms. We hope that you... More 

Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

For a Best Western Plus hotel i expected this hotel to be much nicer that it was. The rooms were clean but very dated and old. Burnt out light bulbs, A/C that worked poorly and very hard to open/close door to room which was loud when you did close it. Breakfast was very disappointing, a small selection, powered eggs and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We work very hard to make sure that our guest feel welcome from the moment they step into our doors. We also continuously check and test all the amenities in the room to make sure they function when you need them. We hope you give us another chance to demonstrate that... More 

Imperial, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We decided to stay at the Best Western Plus Otay Valley Hotel because it was very close to the sleep train Amphitheater were going to for a concert. It is close and easy to get there. When we arrived I immediately noticed the lack of eye contact with the hotel staff. They almost seemed as though we were a bother.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments. We are happy to have successfully hosted you and your family. We hope you visit us again soon. Respectfully, Victor M. Carrera General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
#7 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
#119 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay