We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Chula Vista hotels

Travel Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   394 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Travel Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    2
    14
See reviews for
4
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Chula Vista, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I can't believe this place hasn't been condemned by the city - it's disgustingly FILTHY. UNSANITARY. CREEPY. GROSS!!!! Had to have the house fumigated so my husband and I stayed at the motel for one night. BIG MISTAKE. Our room had more roaches than my house! We had to sleep with the lights on. we couldnt7

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place was creepy and filthy and nasty. Your rooms can be accessed by anyone because the stairs are OUTSIDE. The stairs had barbwire on them and lots of rust every where. The rooms were not at all satisfying. The TV remote didn't work and neither did the TV buttons. The beds weren't comfortable. Don not go this hotel. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
travelinns, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this review

We sorry that you were not comfortable staying in Travel Inn. We are replacing new beds for the whole motel (some were replaced already). The 4th floor stair to the roof are barbwire to ensure public safety. When TV remote control or TV is not working right, please let the front office know so we will correct it. The housekeepers... More

Riverside
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I am so happy to have survived my 2 day stay at this establishment. I would have left this hotel, but there were no other available vancancies in the city. I warn you to please go elsewhere. There were thugs and protitutes everywhere. The rooms were disgusting. I requested fresh bedding and decided to change it myself. The mattresses were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wan Chai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

If it were not for the location and service, I would have rated this property a 1 in all categories. Dirty, dark and musty, not worth your money. Spend a little more and look into Rodeway Inn just next door!!! Newly renovated, parking is a little tight late at night but was able to park across the street. If you're... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Whats worst? Clogged toilet Dirty walls Filthy carpet Lights that don't work Dirty bath tub Or mites in the bed. Prostitues Gang thugs in parking lot Behind a trailer trash park. Old Zenith TV that had no color. By far the worst hotel. I'm reporting this hotel to the health department. I knew there would be a problem when I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosemead, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I can't believe we actually stayed in this hellhole .... it smelled terrible, the carpets were grimy and gross and stinky and the place just reeked of old body smells, mold, and mildew and the cockroaches ... watch out when you turn out the lights ... they're too cocky, if you ask me! the place is a dump ... I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I booked this hotel as a last resort. It was the only hotel available during the weekend for a remotely cheap price. I wish we had paid the $100+ for a better room. The location is pretty shady, but not the worse. The room was dirty. It appeared as though they did zero maintenance. The bathroom was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Last minute for 4th of July getaway. Cheap price is right. You get for what u pay!!! Towels are so old, they were very rough. There was 4 of us & only 3 towels in our room our 1st night. 2nd night, they didn't leave us any towels. I had to go to the lobby to ask for towels. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Pierce, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel uses a photo of Howard Johnsons, which it is NOT. The hotel is in a less than desirable area. Rooms are rented as housing for locals to live in. The room was a "suit". It had a small kitchenette, separate sitting area and bedroom bath combo. The room was dirty and smelled like mold/mildew. Parking is bad, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
travelinns, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this review

This review is not for Travel Inn. We do not have suite or kitchen at all. The motel described is Travelers Inn & suites, changed to Howard Johnson? More

Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We did't find last minute available rooms elsewhere, so we got a room here. The price is OK, compared to other nicer hotels, and the room was big, with a fridge and coffee maker (a plus). However, the walls are paper thin, it's very outdated, rugs are dirty, and they don't seem to change sheets and towels after a guest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 394 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Chula Vista

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay