We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Chula Vista hotels

Highway Inn Chula Vista

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   70 Broadway, Alpine, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Highway Inn Chula Vista to your Saves list
Highway Inn Chula Vista
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
25%
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Chula Vista
  • Overview
  • Reviews (9)
  • Photos (3)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Due to 4th of July there was no reservations anywhere. I booked 5th of July at 11:45 p.m. And checked out at 11:50 p.m July 5th this place is gross and I would never recommend it to nobody, I payed $141.00 and they wouldn't refund my money. Very disappointed, had to drive back home for another 2 hours tired. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not what you expected, This is a very limited budget hotel and as far as the prices we raise and lower them with fair market value of what is happening in San Diego and the season. We do however clean the room after every use. We cannot refund money if there is no way... More

Twentynine Palms, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I suppose for a motel I shouldnt expect much but this place wasnt very good at all.Just pulling into the parking lot i wanted to leave.This place looks like a run down motel from a horror movie.The outside is really dirty and against the motel was the overflowing dumpster with a mattress leaning against it.That was just pulling into the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments, since this review this hotel has been updated and we do have some new staff, which has undergone additional training on customer service. More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I booked this place for my dad on Friday night, because there was NOTHING available in San Diego due to a convention. When we got there, the "front desk" was a sketchy window with the staff behind glass, there was a mattress propped up on the outside of one of the rooms, the carpet in the room was stinky, everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

SInce this review, we have updated our rooms and we are more aware of our room cleanliness and customer service. Thank you for your information. More

San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have stayed here on multiple occasions across a several year span. The prices are very reasonable, staff is always attentive to my requests. Rooms are clean, not modern by any means but clean none the less. As far as safety, your in Chula Vista not La Jolla, I've always felt safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We are updating this hotel and we thank you for your feedback. More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Currently staying here and unfortunately for the next two nights. AREA: Across the street is a generic brand gas station, kitty corner is run down vacant looking building plus an old garage that never seems to be open even though cars are parked out front (they may have been there a while). As soon as you turn on Broadway to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thanks for your information, however this is very old and we have changed management and upgraded this hotel, it is a limited service budget hotel and we are in the midst of making additional changes. More

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

after reading the other reviews I was worried about the cleanliness of the place and security of it. Once we arrive at the Inn they pointed out that an error had been made on our reservation and they were fast at helping us with the accommodations for our family. This was a last minute trip to San Diego with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thank you we have upgraded some things, if you are in the area please come back and check us out! More

Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

A/C had 2 settings, on and off, making our sleep infuriatingly uncomfortable. Security is also lacking, as our car was broken into while parked in the most well-lit space in the lot. Hotel employee (singular) masquerading around as "security" was lackadaisical and didn't seem at all surprised by the break-in. On top of it all, the room was grossly overpriced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We are an older limited service hotel but we are in the midst of upgrading. Thank you for your feedback. More

Kalispell, MT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This is an icky motel, the carpet was sticky, the toilet leaked, the rooms stunk! Cheap motel, I suppose you get what you pay for! Its almost like it is in the ghetto!

Was this review helpful? Yes
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Since this review we have upgraded and we are making improvements. Thank you. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Highway Inn Chula Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Highway Inn Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway Inn Chula Vista

Address: 70 Broadway, Alpine, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highway Inn Chula Vista 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Highway Inn Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

3 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Chula Vista, this motel offers a 24-hour front desk, wake-up call services and on-site laundry facilities. Our guest rooms at the Highway Inn Chula Vista are air conditioned, We have Cable TV with HBO and Microwave and fridge are available on request. Our motel is closed to many attractions including the Seaworld Aquatica and Coronado State Beach. The Westfield Plaza Bonita shopping center is within a 5-minute drive from the Highway Inn Chula Vista.We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
41

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines