We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
740 Broadway, Chico, CA 95928 (Formerly Chico Days Inn)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    7
    7
    4
    13
See reviews for
11
5
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Apparently they don't turn on the air until guests check in. It had to be at least 100 degrees in the room. We've been here for 2 hours and the room is still above 85. It's cooler outside. I'm regretting not sleeping in the car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ABVI T, Front Desk Clerk at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have had very high temperatures recently here in Chico. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. More 

Chico, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Stay here quite a bit to visit my college kids. Always friendly and helpful. 5 minute walk to downtown eating and shopping. Good value for location. Perfect for short stay to access all Chico has to offer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

The rooms were clean. Staff was pretty friendly. The price was affordable. The hotel is located close to Chico State. I was able to walk from here. Several restaurants are within walking distance too. I will definitely come back to this place again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
san francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Could hear the TV on in the neighbors room all night and voices too. Thin walls. Hard bed, cheap and worn blanket and sheets. Lousy old tube TV that I haven't seen in a room in 5 years. The remote was probably for a different TV, only the on button worked. I guess the surprising part was how nice the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We would like to apologize for the inconvenient experience you had during your stay with us. We always promote and ensure that our guests feel comfortable during their stay, as well as provide our customers with a quiet room. As for the inconvenience, we are very sorry. Customers who have complaints of noisy neighbors usually call front desk and make... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chico hotels

Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I stayed here with my boyfriend while visiting some old friends in Chico. I'm glad I booked this place with a promo code on top of the already reduced winter prices, because it is definitely not worth more than 55 a night. The walls are thin, and I could hear people moving around and talking all night, even through my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I get that this place is cheap, but it should cost less than $85/night. The only good thing about this place is its location. Everything else is disgusting! 1. the room smelled like someone was smoking in the room even though it's a non smoking room. 2. there are cigarette burn spots on both blankets. 3. the carpet is stained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Outdoors this hotel looks fine. Its the rooms -- in a word, shoddy. Broken window, missing light bulbs, terrible lighting. Felt dirty. Only stayed here because it was the only place left in town. I would probably go anywhere else but come back here. Owners really need to get this under control but perhaps they can't afford it. Don't understand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVI T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

It seems as though your visit was not how you expected it to be. Unfortunately, we had damages that were in progress of getting fixed. We thank you so much for your feedback as we are trying slowly, but surely to get this ABVI at its best state. Thank you for staying with us! More 

San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This hotel must have changed owners because even though the hotel is sketchy (what do you expect for $50-$75 a night) the management and employees were always pleasant and helpful, which made up for the old musty rooms. This experience was terrible. I had a bunch of cash on me because of a purchase I did not make and wanted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVI T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for the many problems you experienced during your stay with us. Due to many circumstances we have had with customers paying cash and putting a credit card/debit card on file in substitution for the $50, we have to take a cash deposit if you are paying cash. I know this may sound ridiculous, but bare with us because... More 

Redding, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The room was way over priced, towels and sheets had lots of stains on them, the bed creaked, and you can here the people moving and talking upstairs. I was not impressed by this place. I would however take it over sleeping in my car.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not as accommodating as you would have liked it to be. We can assure you that the towels we put out in the rooms for our guests are clean, as we do want to represent our business the best possible. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Thank... More 

Chico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

When I began my last two years @ Chico State, during the first month in my fall semester I must have stayed at 5 different motels/hotels (the immediate Chico area only) in trying to figure out which had the best value, cleanliness, and overall customer service. Around week 3, I stumbled upon ABVI through my, now traditional, weekend search for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ABVI T, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

It is our pleasure to have you stay at our ABVI. We are quite glad that your stay with us was more than great! With our friendly employees and great housekeeping staff we are always trying to make customers feel like they are at home. We would also like to thank so much for giving us such positive feedback after... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay