We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Chico hotels

Vagabond Inn Chico

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Main St, Chico, CA 95928
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Chico to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Chico
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
13%
Ranked #17 of 17 hotels in Chico
  • Overview
  • Reviews (37)
  • Photos (3)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    5
    5
    23
See reviews for
9
8
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There aren't many hotels that top the level of disgusting that the Extended Stay America has to offer, but this one really takes the cake. We were not the only people in our party staying at this hotel and when they rolled up at the check in time none of the rooms were ready. They came back an hour later... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
htlboss, Owner at Vagabond Inn Chico, responded to this review

It's disappointing to hear we didn't leave a better impression on you! However, after reading your review, I can certainly understand why. Can you tell me what room you stayed in? I'd like to personally take a look at it as soon as possible so I can make sure it's guest-ready. Sincerely, Mohammad, Owner More

Westlake Village, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you are ok with mold in the fridge, dirty furniture,filthy baseboards and bubbled ceiling that could full on you, this is the place to go. I paid $452.08 for 2 nights, May 2014, managed to get a refund of $50 whoopy should have been more like $400.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
htlboss, Owner at Vagabond Inn Chico, responded to this review

Thanks for following up with us after your stay, Linda. The last thing we want is for any of our guests to leave frustrated, but I certainly understand where you're coming from. I really appreciate you speaking up about the problems with your room when you were here; please know that we're working on addressing these issues! Sincerely, Mohammad, Owner More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unless you like cockroaches, dont come here! The rooms were DISGUSTING as well as the shower. I wish i would have slept in my car. All they have is instant coffee and its NOT in your room. The towels were straight nasty. I dont think the clerk at the front desk even knew how to speak english. There were gangsters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
htlboss, Owner at Vagabond Inn Chico, responded to this review

I'm certainly sorry to hear you were so put off by your stay at our inn, but I appreciate you taking the time to let me know what you think. Nothing is more important to us than our guests' health and safety, so the last thing we want is for anyone to feel uncomfortable in our rooms. Please know that... More

Harquer
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

OK, so it's not Marriott or Starwood, but then if you could afford those you wouldn't be reading this. I can't explain the bad reviews --- maybe I lucked up with the nicest room. I certainly didn't feel "ripped off." Run by a very friendly (to me, anyway) family led by Mohommad, the Vagabond Inn Chico presents a clean, basic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
htlboss, Owner at Vagabond Inn Chico, responded to this review

That's a great idea, Harquer! Thanks for pointing to the noise on busy weekends in your review. We're always looking for ways we can improve the overall guest experience, and having someone on hand to patrol our parking lot, etc., at night is certainly a way to do that. If you have any other helpful suggestions, feel free to send... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Vagabond Inn is probably the WORST hotel I've ever stayed at! Granted the room itself was fairly decent, even though the toilet leaked everywhere. The main problem was the service. My husband and I have been stranded in California because our car and money were stolen. We had a little over $160.00 left when we came to the Vegabond... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
htlboss, Owner at Vagabond Inn Chico, responded to this review

Rest assured that we would never, under any circumstances, take advantage of our guests, nor do we tolerate drug use on our property. While I am sorry for the confusion the $50 charge caused, I want you to know we in no way meant to confuse or frustrate you. I apologize if you felt like we were trying to pull... More

Pasadena
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My son and I stayed just one night while visiting the college campus. The service was good and the room was clean. The only complaint was that the toilet was a little low and wiggled, but no other complaints. I will definitely stay there when I come to visit!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
htlboss, Owner at Vagabond Inn Chico, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us, Leslie! I appreciate you reminding us about the problems you had with your toilet. I think you'll be happy to hear our staff has since taken care of it! Until next time, Mohammad, Owner More

Chico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yes, it was an unfortunate experience. For the same cost, I went around the corner to Heritage Inn. Microwave, refrigerator, and a lot more than just warm water and packets of instant coffee, and cellophane snacks for breakfast. My friends in town kidded me for staying at the Vagabond, apparently this place was a dump in the 80's when we... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
htlboss, Owner at Vagabond Inn Chico, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that too, Loisann. We consider ours a great place to stay in Chico, so the last thing we want is for anyone to get the wrong impression of our standards and values. Although I'm disappointed we ultimately lost your business, I appreciate your candid feedback; I know it will only help us to improve. Regards, Mohammad,... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We took a group of high school seniors here to visit the university. We weren't expecting much. We just wanted a basic, clean space for them to sleep. It wasn't remotely acceptable even for this purpose. There were roaches in the rooms. The sheets were stained with what looked like blood. The curtains were shredded to bits and there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
htlboss, Owner at Vagabond Inn Chico, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to follow up with us after your stay. The conditions you described in your review are in no way acceptable, nor do they fall in line with our standards for health and safety. Please know that we're actively working to correct these problems, and we really appreciate your feedback on the matter. Thanks again, Mohammad,... More

Chico, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel is right in the centre of Chico with plenty of parking. We received a very warm welcome from the manager who did the utmost to make sure we had everything we needed including bags of continental breakfast and a good discount. Room was clean with good facilities and perfect for two tired and dusty travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
htlboss, Owner at Vagabond Inn Chico, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! It's great to hear you got just the R&R you needed on your trip. I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're passing through Chico! Safe travels, Mohammad, Owner More

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

For the price, this hotel was a good stay for the price. It wasn't excellent quality but it wasn't bad either. The room was decent quality with minimal features but it was enough to get me through a good night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Chico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Vagabond Inn Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Chico

Address: 630 Main St, Chico, CA 95928
Location: United States > California > Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Chico 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Vagabond Inn Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Chico Hotel Chico
Vagabond Hotel Chico

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Vagabond Inn Chico hotel is centrally located in Downtown Chico, California. We deliver clean, comfortable accommodations, quality amenities, a pleasant staff, affordable prices and classic, West Coast hospitality to each guest. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
43

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer