We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Inn

630 Main St, Chico, CA 95928 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Chico)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
University Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't know how I missed the terrible reviews that came before me, but somehow I found myself in room 223 of this motel. The room had a weird unlatched door (in that it had no locking mechanism) that opened onto a utility closet that opened to the outside through an unlocked door. The room smelled of stale pot smoke.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clickie
Lemoore, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Dirty room. Stay away. Stinky. It was dark and late when I checked it. Didn't realize what I had done until morning. Great place for deer hunters, coal miners, well drillers and camel hearders. Not for you.

Helpful?
Thank Bill M

Travelers are raving about these Chico hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

I booked this hotel somewhat last minute to go up to Chico for a friend's birthday. The room was clean, the hotel is easy to find and easily accessible, and it's the perfect location in downtown for walking to and from.

Helpful?
Thank Olivia E
Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

There was a group of people hanging out in the parking lot, smoking and drinking right outside my window until 2 in the morning. The room was filthy, with nasty carpets, graffiti on the walls in the room; the furniture was damaged (chair was super gross); toilet was not properly attached to the floor so it rocked when you sat... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wolfpooka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

The health department should consider shutting this place down. First, there was no smoke detector in the room. This is a violation of state law. The room smelled terrible from cigarette smoke and we had to immediately wash our clothes upon returning home. There were bugs in the bathroom. The vent in the bathroom had wads of toilet paper stuck... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigSur007
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

I wish that the University Inn was better for those folks who have kids attending Chico State but it was really bad. It is very dirty and the rooms smelled like smoke. I'm not sure what room is on the front of the website, but the rooms we saw were nothing like that they were both the same, filthy!

Helpful?
Thank Amy B
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015 via mobile

Super friendly! They let me check in extra early. I have a fridge, micro, tv, clock, new carpet, 2 double beds, 6 great pillows, and it is right downtown! I have stayed at many fancy hotels. This is not a fancy hotel, this is Chico! And for the price and location... It's good! I would stay again! Also they have... More 

Helpful?
Thank G M
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Worst hotel I think I've ever experienced. Took a shower, went to dinner and returned to the feel of a shanty town. Packed my bag and our group left instead of staying there. Asked for a refund and one was not granted. Disgusting.

Helpful?
Thank Thattraveladvisor
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I have traveled the globe and visited some of the poorest villages imaginable. Never in my whole life have I ever come across a place this bad. The smell of cigarettes, body odor, and pot hit you in the parking lot, and don't stop. Cockroaches are everywhere, but if you are careful you can step over them as you enter... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank David P
Redding, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

Say no more, just VERY dodgy! The location is okay, room looks okay, but aircon doesn't work properly beds are saggy, looks like whoever made the beds just threw the pillows on the beds. The receptionist was grumpy, carpets dirty, and to add insult to injury, it's not cheap, this quality I'd expect to pay say $45.00 but this room... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 33Wren33
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

I want for you to always have a quality, comfortable stay with us, 33Wren33. We do have a very stringent policy for keeping our rooms in top condition, so I'm disappointed that you left feeling underwhelmed. Your receptionist needs to be ready to address your concerns and make things right for you. I'll address these issues with my staff. Please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#1 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chico
Holiday Inn Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#2 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay