We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Inn

630 Main St, Chico, CA 95928 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Chico)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
University Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    5
    5
    5
    27
See reviews for
11
8
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Super friendly! They let me check in extra early. I have a fridge, micro, tv, clock, new carpet, 2 double beds, 6 great pillows, and it is right downtown! I have stayed at many fancy hotels. This is not a fancy hotel, this is Chico! And for the price and location... It's good! I would stay again! Also they have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Worst hotel I think I've ever experienced. Took a shower, went to dinner and returned to the feel of a shanty town. Packed my bag and our group left instead of staying there. Asked for a refund and one was not granted. Disgusting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I have traveled the globe and visited some of the poorest villages imaginable. Never in my whole life have I ever come across a place this bad. The smell of cigarettes, body odor, and pot hit you in the parking lot, and don't stop. Cockroaches are everywhere, but if you are careful you can step over them as you enter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Redding, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Say no more, just VERY dodgy! The location is okay, room looks okay, but aircon doesn't work properly beds are saggy, looks like whoever made the beds just threw the pillows on the beds. The receptionist was grumpy, carpets dirty, and to add insult to injury, it's not cheap, this quality I'd expect to pay say $45.00 but this room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

I want for you to always have a quality, comfortable stay with us, 33Wren33. We do have a very stringent policy for keeping our rooms in top condition, so I'm disappointed that you left feeling underwhelmed. Your receptionist needs to be ready to address your concerns and make things right for you. I'll address these issues with my staff. Please... More 

Pasadena, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

There were holes in the wall and I found multiple cockroaches in the room. The ice machine was next to room and was leaking water everywhere.water pressure was bad. the continental breakfast was instant and bad coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

Daisy, we take pest control and cleanliness very seriously, so I'm surprised to read this. Although what you described is very abnormal here, we're always happy to address any issue you have at the front desk and make things right. If we can take care of these rare occurrences as soon as possible, we can better ensure that the rest... More 

San Jose, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

There aren't many hotels that top the level of disgusting that the Extended Stay America has to offer, but this one really takes the cake. We were not the only people in our party staying at this hotel and when they rolled up at the check in time none of the rooms were ready. They came back an hour later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

It's disappointing to hear we didn't leave a better impression on you! However, after reading your review, I can certainly understand why. Can you tell me what room you stayed in? I'd like to personally take a look at it as soon as possible so I can make sure it's guest-ready. Sincerely, Mohammad, Owner More 

Westlake Village, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you are ok with mold in the fridge, dirty furniture,filthy baseboards and bubbled ceiling that could full on you, this is the place to go. I paid $452.08 for 2 nights, May 2014, managed to get a refund of $50 whoopy should have been more like $400.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for following up with us after your stay, Linda. The last thing we want is for any of our guests to leave frustrated, but I certainly understand where you're coming from. I really appreciate you speaking up about the problems with your room when you were here; please know that we're working on addressing these issues! Sincerely, Mohammad, Owner More 

Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unless you like cockroaches, dont come here! The rooms were DISGUSTING as well as the shower. I wish i would have slept in my car. All they have is instant coffee and its NOT in your room. The towels were straight nasty. I dont think the clerk at the front desk even knew how to speak english. There were gangsters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

I'm certainly sorry to hear you were so put off by your stay at our inn, but I appreciate you taking the time to let me know what you think. Nothing is more important to us than our guests' health and safety, so the last thing we want is for anyone to feel uncomfortable in our rooms. Please know that... More 

Harquer
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

OK, so it's not Marriott or Starwood, but then if you could afford those you wouldn't be reading this. I can't explain the bad reviews --- maybe I lucked up with the nicest room. I certainly didn't feel "ripped off." Run by a very friendly (to me, anyway) family led by Mohommad, the Vagabond Inn Chico presents a clean, basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

That's a great idea, Harquer! Thanks for pointing to the noise on busy weekends in your review. We're always looking for ways we can improve the overall guest experience, and having someone on hand to patrol our parking lot, etc., at night is certainly a way to do that. If you have any other helpful suggestions, feel free to send... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Vagabond Inn is probably the WORST hotel I've ever stayed at! Granted the room itself was fairly decent, even though the toilet leaked everywhere. The main problem was the service. My husband and I have been stranded in California because our car and money were stolen. We had a little over $160.00 left when we came to the Vegabond... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

Rest assured that we would never, under any circumstances, take advantage of our guests, nor do we tolerate drug use on our property. While I am sorry for the confusion the $50 charge caused, I want you to know we in no way meant to confuse or frustrate you. I apologize if you felt like we were trying to pull... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay