We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City

69151 East Palm Canyon Drive, Cathedral City, CA 92234 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Date Palm)
Hotel amenities
Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cathedral City
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
pocpo Los Angeles
Add Photo

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    25
    21
    23
    24
See reviews for
33
19
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a Memorial day weekend, I was able to make a last minute reservation. Having read some negative reviews, didn't expect much at 2 star. But room was clean and spacious. Staffs were helpful and breakfast were great. Convenient location along with 111 hwy, btw Palm springs and Palm desert. It was a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

The shower was broken and they wouldn't fix it or let us go to another room. The phone was missing all of this buttons. The breakfast was lacking, and the fruit was hard. The staff were rude wrt every problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review

Thank you for writing review for us on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. In your the review you wrote that you had several issues starting with the shower not working, phone issue, breakfast not what you expected and staff issues. I sincerely apologize for all the issues... More 

California Hot Springs, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Having read mixed reviews I was hesitant to stay. However we went during Coachella Festival and this was one of the more reasonably priced hotels. Room was nicer than i thought it would be. Looks like it was recently refurbished. Nice King bed. Small refrigeratore and a microwave was included. Even though it was a standard room it almost looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for the very nice comments and will pass them along to staff. Marsha Dumas General Manager Red Lion, Cathedral City More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We stayed at the red lion this past weekend to attend Coachella Music festival. The only real complaint we had is the price, but we already expected to pay a lot of this weekend. In fact, the red lion was the cheapest hotel we could find for the weekend, with other places charging upwards of $500 a night. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice comments about the property and I am very happy it worked out nicely for Coachella Fest! Hope to see you next year, please call us we will be happy to help you with 2016 Coachella Fest!! Marsha Dumas General Manager Red Lion, Cathedral City More 

Huntington Beach, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Stayed here on business for two weeks. Had two different rooms, both were two room suites. This was business trip so we packed-em in. 3 to 4 workers a night. Didn't get any pictures as by the time I would want to, the rooms were already littered with luggage, supplies, etc. Pros: - Staff is very friendly and accommodating. -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review

Good Morning, I am glad that there were many positive items that you did like! I apologize for the issues that you did have. We have taken several measures with the housekeeping department and that has seemed to help a lot with making sure rooms are clean. Our new maintenance lead is working very hard to make needed repairs on... More 

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Okay, first off, this is really an average two to three star place. Better than a Motel 6, but definitely nothing luxurious. Don't expect a resort! It got a better rating from me because 2 bedroom, 2 bath suites are almost impossible to find in the Palm Springs/Palm Desert area for under $250+ a night. We had 3 people staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review

Good Morning, thanks so much for the great comments they are greatly appreciated! Marsha Dumas General Manager Red Lion, Cathedral City More 

San diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

This was a very good hotel, great breakfast. Clean rooms just outdated if they did some remodeling it would be a awesome hotel. I have to shoutout Fernando Lopez this guy is a legend. One of the hardest workers I've seen. Really helpful and friendly. The manager should give him a raise or promotion or something. When I come next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review

We are a little out dated, but we are starting in May with a test room to see what we are going to do with updating. We have some ideas but we need to make sure what is going to work. Fernando is amazing, I will pass your comments along to him and our owners! Marsha Dumas General Manager Red... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Friendly staff Rooms spacious but needs renovation - bathroom door to wide for frame - would not close, tile work on vanity coming off on corners Breakfast - limited items - no protein except yogurt Easy to find Quiet for most part - but we were there on a weeknight

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Sounds like the stay was ok, but we need to work on the bathrooms which we are currently trying to do with the test remodel room that we are working on. So please if you would like to come back call me directly. Marsha Dumas General Manager Red Lion, Cathedral City 760.324.5939 More 

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Personnel was nice. Room smelled. Rugs stained. Furniture from the 70's. Mold in bathroom. Bad bad. Bed linens clean but would Never stay there again. Complimentary breakfast. Gave us two free waters and a power bad upon check in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marsha D, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Cathedral City, responded to this review

Ms. Sandie, Sorry, that you had such a bad experience at the hotel. We are working on updating over the summer and are doing a test room remodel that is coming along. Again, I am very sorry you had problems and if you want to speak in detail about them please call me and I will be happy to help... More 

Boise, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We chose this hotel as it was one of only a few that had rooms available, and we thought the Red Lion brand was better, based upon past experiences. Unfortunately, this property poorly represents the Red Lion brand. Everything is very old and run down. Our room had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a kitchen, which was a very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
0:17
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay