We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Inn

Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dolphin Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    61
    71
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
80
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place is a quant inn about three blocks away from ocean avenue. We got a room with a king size bed that came equipped with a fireplace. There is no central conditioning in the room but the hotel staff was nice enough to bring us a fan. The continental breakfast they brought us in the morning really hit the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped off at the dolphin inn on the way up the west coast. This hotel was just what we needed, ideal location, 5 mins walk to the centre. Next to a local sports bar to a quick drink and bite to eat. Rooms are huge, clean and well maintained. Breakfast is left in a cooler bag outside the room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second hotel on our Honeymoon drive to LA from San Francisco. We arrived early so left our car in the hotel car park and walked into the town for lunch. Our room was so romantic with a realistic log fire (Gas) and a lovely bottle of chilled wine. The bed was so comfy and the room clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and I hope we'll be able to welcome you back to Carmel in the future! Warm Regards, Felina Smith Operations Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good size room and well located in Carmel village. Beds were comfortable and price was reasonable and included continental breakfast. It is located on a quiet street except for a pub directly in front of the inn which is open late and the kitchen noise went on until well past midnight. They supplied nice complimentary toiletries but the shower pressure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your experience at the Dolphin Inn. We strive to provide warm, welcoming service in a clean and comfortable environment and we're always looking for ways to improve. I'm happy to say we are reviewing the bathrooms for the issues you mentioned. I'm so glad you had a pleasant stay and I hope we'll... More 

Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sweet little hotel in downtown Carmel. It's not a 4 or 5 star hotel. It's a high 3 Carmelish cozy hotel and we enjoyed our stay. We got the standard room with a fireplace (a must in Carmel) and enjoyed the simple, clean and comfortable room. Continental breakfast is delivered in a cooler and left at your door in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Dolphin Inn. Your review highlights just what we're trying to offer our guests and it's great to know when we're getting it right. We'll look forward to welcoming you back to Carmel in the future! Warm Regards, Felina Smith Operations Manager More 

Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

This hotel is located right in the middle of downtown Carmel, within walking distance of everything. Room was very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful and the coffee and fresh baked cookies were a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Positives: - Good location in the main Carmel town - Good sized room - They have good complimentary coffee in the lobby area Negatives: - Overdue for refurbishment - Multiple pieces of furniture in room were broken - Wifi very slow - Absolutely appalling breakfast - they market themselves as serving free breakfast but you get a small cool box... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The location is close to dining and shopping in Carmel. The desk/lobby staff are helpful and courteous. Our comfortable double bed room was spacious, clean, and the in-room coffee was very good. The bathrobes provided were high quality as well as the towels and bathroom amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

1950's motel possibly updated in the 1980's. Mostly clean - don't look high, in corners or too close. Makes my top ten most uncomfortable motel beds list. Within walking distance to everything. Desk clerk Ricky is the best thing this place has going for it. He was pleasant and helpful. If you just want "a place to stay" this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kent, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We spent one night here on our 6 day road trip. The check in was smooth, the room immaculate and the beds comfortable. Breakfast is a simple pre-order and is waiting in a little cooler outside your room when you get up. The room was nice and big and had a lanai perfect for enjoying breakfast or an evening glass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Guestroom with King Bed (34)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Standard Guestroom with King Bed (30)
Viewed
Suite with King Bed (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay