We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1050 Grand Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    23
    15
    14
    14
See reviews for
46
8
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Chico, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My mother-in-law booked this for a four day stay and I have to say that much to my surprise it was very nice, very clean and the staff went out of their way to help, our fridge did not get cold and they had someone come and take care of it that day for us, the pool area was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here while visiting Lego Land and other nearby attractions. It was clean, priced well, and had excellent service. We wound up extending our stay here rather than changing hotels later in our trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for couple nights. It's quite an old hotel, but it gave good value of your dollars. It's very good for small family especially with small kids. Every room has a small stove, microwave and fridge. So we do need to worry about keeping kids' foods and milk and warming them up at anytime and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! I’m glad you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens and our reasonable rates. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

No matter how much planning you do ahead of time, are ready at check in with your confirmation and all, they still overbook rooms!!! We had checked in with hotel staff to let them know we were in town, confirmed our room type, came back later at night to check in and of course they had overbooked! Given our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

The room was clean and everything in it worked. The bathroom was musky and our room was directly across from the freeway so it was very loud. Within walking distance to the beach, shops and dining. The kitchen is not equipped with any equipment but you can borrow some supplies from the front desk. This is a pet friendly hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Usually we stay @ the legoland resort but we wanted to be close to the beach this time. When reservations were made they told us it was walking distance to the beach? I don't think so it's about 10 to 12 blocks away. To use the kitchen you have to ask the front desk for utensils and cooking pans, morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I apologize that you were not pleased with our location, our grab-and-go breakfast, or our customized kitchen program. Your comments will be helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with... More 

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

The room was very clean, everything worked as it should and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was surprisingly quiet for being next to I-5, absolutely no traffic noise in my room. The little self service breakfast bar was well stocked.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the grab-and-go breakfast we offer. I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and the friendly service they provided. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 via mobile

The room was dingy and unclean and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The reservation was wrong and I had to share a bed which I was poorly compensated for. The free breakfast was a joke. There was granola bars and oatmeal packets. The door to the bathroom was broken and the floors were so gross I kept my shoes on.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

Took a last minute vacation our drive was about 7 hours so by the time we got down there it was about 3am when we checked in we were supposed to leave today but because we checked in so late Nicole offered if we wanted to stay through the night tonight? How awesome is that!? Not only was the customer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am proud of our staff for providing you with excellent customer service. I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our great value. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Alicia was very helpful. Online booking defaulted to reserving us a smoking room and there was nothing available. I asked alicia to do somethig about it since a smoking room would give us allergies and ruin our vacation. Hotel was fully booked, she said she'll see what she can do but cant promise. Upon check-in she was already off duty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the issue you had with your reservation; however, it is great to hear that Alicia was able to resolve the issue. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with Alicia and our team. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
3.1 mi away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#28 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 37 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#33 of 37 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#36 of 37 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay