We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodeway Inn Near Legoland

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3570 Pio Pico Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
A recent review
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    15
    10
    12
See reviews for
38
19
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
phx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this Rodeway last night and were pleasantly surprised at the quality. Comfortable beds and clean rooms with plenty of space. Even though it is very close to the freeway the sound didn't bother me and I'm a light sleeper. Guess the soundproofing was pretty good. Could have used an extra pillow to make allow both of us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
verde valley
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very nice room, very good service, excellent wi-fi. true its a bit farther from everything, but its not that far away. having looked at dozens of properties, i doubt you can find better value in the area. but then again, maybe this is off-season? i am not sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel was ok, but we only stayed one night so we don't know what the maid service was like. However, the breakfast was very poor. It was supposed to go on from 6 am to 12 pm, but was already run out by 8 am and not refilled at all. The front desk staff was also not very polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hyland727, Owner at Rodeway Inn Near Legoland, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review and for staying with us. To clarify the breakfast hours are 6:30am to 9:30 am. We service pastries, juices and coffee. We make sure we have plenty for the day and should we run out of something please feel free to ask we can always put out more. Thank you again and hope to... More 

Taipei
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

this has to be the worst! hotel we've stayed in!! the carpets in the rooms have not been cleaned in years!! your white socks turn black instantly!! staff were rude, they ran out of towels, couldn't wait to get out of here! the location may be convenient but it's certainly not worth living in filth. dirty, rude staff & small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hyland727, Owner at Rodeway Inn Near Legoland, responded to this review

Hello. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay with us. Also we noticed you were not happy when you stayed with us before. Hopefully we get another chance to serve you again. Also we shampoo the carpets frequently but if you ever find one not acceptable please inform us right away to fix the issue.... More 

Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
8 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Great location, good price. The hotel is 6.5 miles or less from most of the city's attractions. Is only 7 minutes away from Legoland, MOMM and GIA museum! (driving obviously) The breakfast is pretty simple, just cold cereal, pastries, juice and coffee. Will be great if the managers could add fresh fruits like apples, oranges and bananas. Luckily I found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

The maids are completely dishonest and extremely rude. I believe they are thieves. My wife and I left for the day and put the do not disturb sign on the door. When we returned the window was opened, door unlocked and the room was not even serviced. Although the maids said they serviced the room, but all they did was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We checked in on 12-27-14 for 2 nights. The toilet was sounding like a fog horn and they said "it is old" you can turn the water off on and off at the wall when you need to use it.. They refused to fix it or even give a discount for a non working toilet. They should never have rented... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Phoenix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We enjoy this hotel a lot. Location is close to shopping, every restaurant there is, the beach, and 15 - 20 minutes from Charlies Best Bread in PB. I love the rooms because they are a mini version of my favorite Marriott Hotel. The manager and his staff are kind, friendly and trustworthy. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

With the window open, oh the freeway traffic noise. With the window closed and the A/C on, never heard a thing. Lovely room. I slept well. Lovely bed. Everything was clean as a whistle. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Great value for the money. The continental breakfast is for those who eat cereal or pastries in the morning, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yucca Valley, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

OK, it's right next to the elevated I-5 (not on the ocean side) and between two interchanges. But, we heard no traffic noise and had a great night's sleep. The bed was comfortable. The room amenities were fairly updated and fresh appearing. Access to/from the I-5 from either interchange was easy and downtown San Diego is @45 minutes south. Parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question