We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Paro B&Bs / inns

Udumwara Resort

Save Saved
You added Udumwara Resort to your Saves list
Satsamchorten | P.O.Box 1236, Paro 975, Bhutan
Hotel amenities
Udumwara Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Paro B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paro
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its just the most perfect resort with lot of apple and peach trees and the most supportive staff what you can expect in foreign country. The ambiance is no natural and pleasing, just in the heart of nature. If you are visiting Bhutan and are planning a trip for Paro and Thimpu, this one is the best choice. Also dont... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us Piyush...We always look forward to provide excellent services to make you go back with a SMILE on your face....do visit us again :) More

Thimphu, Bhutan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Udumwara Resorts in Paro is located in an exquisite location below the foothills of towering and legendary Taktsang ( Tiger's Nest ) monastery. The resort has well furnished rooms and locales with facilities for national and international cuisines by expert chef. In addition the resort provides outdoor services like out door lunch , organizes trekking and cultural visits, barbecue dinners... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Pee W for the beautiful lines about the Resort. We will try hard to maintain the same standard to make our guests build memories with us to remember for a lifetime. Thank you for your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. More

SFO
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent two nights in this resort that is very poorly managed resort. Poorly maintained Buddha Statue at the entry point gives you the hint. The lobby is spacious and you get wi-fi only in the lobby (and that too if you are a lucky guy ) There are hand written registers for noting down details of the guest. Then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Ajit K, it means a lot to us. We shall keep a note of all the points that you mentioned and shall work on it, infact we already have made the changes- 1.The Buddha Statue is re-painted and it looks beautiful with the waterfall behind. 2.The hotel now has excellent wi-fi signals not just in... More

Pune, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good Thing about this resort :nice and comfortable rooms. Rooms had wired internet connections so we were happy, we created wifi from our laptop itself for our phones. Very clean and decent service( xcept from food department) Bad Things : 1 whole day TV connection + internet connection was not working. Food : They have very less variety for alacarte.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Nishrajani for the feedback.As said by you we do have spacious, nice and comfortable rooms with the facilities like internet connection, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, TV connection etc. Our first priority is hygiene so our housekeeping department always works hard to keep the rooms clean. About the food, we do have expert chef who can prepare... More

Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were surprised by the size of the room once we checked in. Big beds, spacious bathroom and balcony with a good view! The bathroom was out of hot water but the staff responded quickly. The staff came to check but was unable to fix it so they gave us another room key. After a while, the toilet bowl was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sonia, so nice to hear such good things about the Resort from you. Like you said we do have big spacious rooms with comfortable beds, balconies with good views of the mountains and the river. The hot water problem is now fixed with the new geysers. Our staffs are kind and corteous, ready to help promptly incase you face... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The winding up of the Bhutan tour lead us the Paro for a two night stay from 26/05/2014. The resort was good in splendour, rooms, restaurant et all charmed us but the veg food was off palatability! The service provided was just ok. The view from the room was good and the noise of the gurgling Paro river kept us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Iyerss for good things you said about the Resort. The best thing about the hotel is the view from the rooms as you described with river flowing sound that gives you utmost peace and relaxes your mind. Sir, we now have an expert chef with the kitchen staffs who are trained to prepare any kind of food... More

Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Udumwara resort in Paro is a decent place to stay in but the services are really poor. Especially we had bad experience with lot of flies in the room,kettle was not working. Only thing we enjoyed was the beautiful view of the river and the mountain from our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Venkatesh. We have improved a lot in terms of providing good services to our guests and we also get many good feedback's about the same. Flies are definitely a big problem during summer however we always use the repellent's to keep them away. It might have been a one time occasion where the kettle didn't... More

Bangalore, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

First the positives: 1. large, good looking rooms 2. great balcony overlooking the river (especially from villa rooms). We enjoyed our time sipping morning tea while sitting in the balcony - listening to "birds" and flowing water in the river Negatives (there were many): 1. the room lock and the locker didn't work when we checked in - they needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Hello travelfanatic71, thank you for both the positive and the negative feedback. It always feels great to hear good things about the location of our hotel, good to know that you too loved the view from the room with the river flowing just below. Sorry about the inconvenience that you had to face. Let me inform you about the few... More

Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Our 2 night stay in the resort was the MOST delightful out of the 6 hotels in Paro,Thimphu,Punakha & Bumthang. Located besides a beautiful river against a scenic range of mountain, 10 min by car to the Tiger's Nest. The reception is stylish & welcoming & the lobby wifi immediately satisfied our Internet connection needs. The gift shop is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Hi Pam, it feels great to hear such good things about our hotel from you. We shall try hard to provide the similar kind of services to all our guests so that you build memories with us. Thanks for your stay with us and hope to see you again :) More

Sedgefield, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Udumwara Resort was our first hotel stay in Bhutan and was a wonderful experience, mainly because of the staff who are always smiling and extremely helpful. The rooms are very big and most comfortable, with huge windows overlooking the Paro river. Most enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your feedback Mr. Lea D...We are proud of our staffs who are courteous, kind and always wear a smile on their faces, they are friendly and ever ready to help you with any difficulties you face. As you described we do have huge, beautiful rooms overlooking the Paro river to give you a feeling of paradise.... More

Do you own or manage Udumwara Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Udumwara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udumwara Resort

Address: Satsamchorten | P.O.Box 1236, Paro 975, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Udumwara Resort

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby