We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Paro B&Bs / inns

Udumwara Resort

Save
You added Udumwara Resort to your Saves list
Satsamchorten | P.O.Box 1236, Paro 975, Bhutan
Hotel amenities
Udumwara Resort
Ranked #10 of 24 Paro B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paro
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are beautiful but low quality services. No internet at the rooms and sometimes no connection at the lobby either. Food options are extremely limited and always the same for dinner and lunch. Also limited breakfast choices. Not worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your feedback Luciana N. I am glad that you liked our rooms, yes indeed they are beautiful with the river flowing just below and isolated to give you utmost peace. True that we don't have internet facilities in the rooms but we tell our guests about it as soon as they check in, however to provide the... More 

Nasik
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This resort in Paro is one of the best place to stay as it is by the river and in the valley. a beautiful place to say, the rooms are good and spacious. the staff is very friendly and cooperative Very near to tigers nest Not very far from the main city of paro.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Hi Arvind, thank you so much for liking our resort. Very much agreed that it is one of the best place to stay especially if you are a nature lover. We always assure to make our guests go back with a smile on their faces :) Thanks again. More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

this is the best stay i had in bhutan. nice, clean and spacious cottages..slightly away from the main lobby. the only sound you can hear in the night is the river flowing down.. since the cottages are away from the main lobby expect delay in room service.. there are no other restuarants nearby and you have to depend on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thanks a lot Pramanan for the lovely feedback..As you mentioned we have rooms in the main block and also in the cottages. Sorry if there was a delay in the service but trust me this happens rarely. We have expert chefs and kitchen staffs who are specialized in all kind of dishes so in case you would like to have... More 

Jaipur, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Its just the most perfect resort with lot of apple and peach trees and the most supportive staff what you can expect in foreign country. The ambiance is no natural and pleasing, just in the heart of nature. If you are visiting Bhutan and are planning a trip for Paro and Thimpu, this one is the best choice. Also dont... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us Piyush...We always look forward to provide excellent services to make you go back with a SMILE on your face....do visit us again :) More 

Thimphu, Bhutan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Udumwara Resorts in Paro is located in an exquisite location below the foothills of towering and legendary Taktsang ( Tiger's Nest ) monastery. The resort has well furnished rooms and locales with facilities for national and international cuisines by expert chef. In addition the resort provides outdoor services like out door lunch , organizes trekking and cultural visits, barbecue dinners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Pee W for the beautiful lines about the Resort. We will try hard to maintain the same standard to make our guests build memories with us to remember for a lifetime. Thank you for your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. More 

SFO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent two nights in this resort that is very poorly managed resort. Poorly maintained Buddha Statue at the entry point gives you the hint. The lobby is spacious and you get wi-fi only in the lobby (and that too if you are a lucky guy ) There are hand written registers for noting down details of the guest. Then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Ajit K, it means a lot to us. We shall keep a note of all the points that you mentioned and shall work on it, infact we already have made the changes- 1.The Buddha Statue is re-painted and it looks beautiful with the waterfall behind. 2.The hotel now has excellent wi-fi signals not just in... More 

Pune, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good Thing about this resort :nice and comfortable rooms. Rooms had wired internet connections so we were happy, we created wifi from our laptop itself for our phones. Very clean and decent service( xcept from food department) Bad Things : 1 whole day TV connection + internet connection was not working. Food : They have very less variety for alacarte.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Nishrajani for the feedback.As said by you we do have spacious, nice and comfortable rooms with the facilities like internet connection, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, TV connection etc. Our first priority is hygiene so our housekeeping department always works hard to keep the rooms clean. About the food, we do have expert chef who can prepare... More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were surprised by the size of the room once we checked in. Big beds, spacious bathroom and balcony with a good view! The bathroom was out of hot water but the staff responded quickly. The staff came to check but was unable to fix it so they gave us another room key. After a while, the toilet bowl was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sonia, so nice to hear such good things about the Resort from you. Like you said we do have big spacious rooms with comfortable beds, balconies with good views of the mountains and the river. The hot water problem is now fixed with the new geysers. Our staffs are kind and corteous, ready to help promptly incase you face... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The winding up of the Bhutan tour lead us the Paro for a two night stay from 26/05/2014. The resort was good in splendour, rooms, restaurant et all charmed us but the veg food was off palatability! The service provided was just ok. The view from the room was good and the noise of the gurgling Paro river kept us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Iyerss for good things you said about the Resort. The best thing about the hotel is the view from the rooms as you described with river flowing sound that gives you utmost peace and relaxes your mind. Sir, we now have an expert chef with the kitchen staffs who are trained to prepare any kind of food... More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Udumwara resort in Paro is a decent place to stay in but the services are really poor. Especially we had bad experience with lot of flies in the room,kettle was not working. Only thing we enjoyed was the beautiful view of the river and the mountain from our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udumwara R, Guest Relations Manager at Udumwara Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Venkatesh. We have improved a lot in terms of providing good services to our guests and we also get many good feedback's about the same. Flies are definitely a big problem during summer however we always use the repellent's to keep them away. It might have been a one time occasion where the kettle didn't... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Udumwara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udumwara Resort

Address: Satsamchorten | P.O.Box 1236, Paro 975, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay