We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Rincon de La Vieja hotels

Hacienda Guachipelin

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 11782-1000, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Guachipelin to your Saves list
Hacienda Guachipelin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
74%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ken_Garrett San Francisco, California
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    234
    109
    45
    23
See reviews for
193
265
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You want a good day? Get Santos to be your guide on the Cowboy-For-a-Day Adventure! Who doesn't love to milk cows before dawn, then eat the home-made cows' cheese and wrangle some cattle back to the farm. After, as downtime, we hit the trail on horseback to lunch near a volcano. Well, maybe not everybody describes that as a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we have just returned from a 'Costa Rica' tour, this was our first and last time at Guachipelin, sad because so many things could be improved with better management and a little effort. The rooms are basic but comfortable, however, due to the absence of separation on the terraces, there is no privacy whatsoever as people walk past the windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jose b, Propietario at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

we appreciate your comments and we will look seriously into all of them. We are happy to know hat you enjoyer the food and that the staff at the restaurant met your expectations. As for the rooms, our staff will look seriously into your suggestion. As for the tours we will look into the records to see if there was... More

San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You come here for all of the available activities. If you arrive mid-day, a one-night stay allows you to participate in any activity you want if you leave late the next day. The rooms offer simple accommodations. If you require a luxury property, this is not it. If you require simple, basic accommodations to access all of the activities available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jose b, Propietario at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for knitting on the type of customer who can enjoy our facilities. Of course, after a day of adventure, hunger is present. Thanks a lot. More

Brampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel offers complimentary shuttles to the volcano and hot springs. The hotel lobby features a TV and two computers for guest use and there is free Wifi available throughout the hotel and restaurant. The Adventure Tours office is visible from the restaurant and is a two-minute walk from the lobby. The basic rooms offer no TV or blow driers,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jose b, Propietario at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this important comment. It is very helpful for us knowing the experience of each one of our guests in our hotel. We hope to see you soon enjoying the adventure of our tours. More

The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel lies in the middle of nowhere. However, it is a good location, because it is close to the entrance of the Rincon park and it is very easy to book tours and / or activities. The restaurant is good, there is buffet and a la carte and we liked it. Our room was somewhat small for 4 people,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jose b, Propietario at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear good reviews about our activity. No doubt that we will take into account reviews to improve. More

Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel stays near the Rincon de La Vieja volcano in a location which is beautiful and perfect to explore the national park. The food at the restaurant is great but the service is terrible, some nights we had to wait nearly half an hour to have our order taken and they kept forgetting drinks and stuff and we often... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for you feedback... we are working on the details you mentioned. Thanks for visited us. More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The over night room was behind animals which smelled. Did not get a good feeling since we were able to see through doors to outside between wood panels. The bathroom smelled of poor sewage. The light was very dim. The cows woke us in the morning at 530am. The food seems to be fresh. But nothing outrageous. The buffet lunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are working on your details. Thanks for visited us. More

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is very close to Liberia airport and a great place to start after landing in Costa Rica. The hotel is simple, but very clean and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are nice and quiet. From this location you can have a day of adventure, starting with horse riding in the forest, then canopy zip lining, then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Martine C thanks for recommend us. Nice to read you enjoyed our adventure called "Hacienda Guachipelin." hope to see you back soon. More

River Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I booked a week at this hotel and had a wonderful time, enjoyed horseback riding with Emilio everyday, he took me all over the ranch different directions each trip, he didn't speak any English so it was interesting/fun to try and figure out what each of us were saying. I also did one other adventure activity each day. The tubing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Diane M we feel really happy with your review. Read about your great experience in our hotel is wonderful. Hope you be back soon with your family. Thanks :) More

Saint Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel is nothing special but it is nice and clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again. For me, if I had been staying more than 2 nights, it would have been too remote. You are in the middle of no where, but we wanted to go to Richon National Park it was a perfect location since it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jose b, Director General at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hacienda Guachipelin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 11782-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

401 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (346)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Family/play areas (41)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rincon de La Vieja with
any amenities