We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Inn

Hotel website
6620 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Offers & Announcements
15% OFF Book Now
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castle Inn
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    98
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
102
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Big and nice room, lovely views of the sea even from ground floor. All mod cons incl. Good wifi, breakfast a bit crammed but a good sending off. Cambria itseæf a good but brilliant walk away, a real neat small town with good eateries galore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found this "nice little motel" on the Internet, without checking Trip Advisor, bad mistake. I dont think that I have ever tried to sleep on a harder mattress. Upon returning home, I checked Trip Advisor and discovered all of the warnings about the mattresses. Unless they change the mattresses, I would never recommend this place, even though it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My stay at the Castle Inn was just great. The hotel is located in front of the ocean so the view is amazing. The room was tidy and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was really friendly. Breakfast is not a big deal but it's good enough. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castle Inn. We just replaced the beds recently and did a refresh on the decor. This is one of the original motels on Moonstone Beach Drive and we are pleased to be one of the more affordable options right along the beach. More 

Nathrop, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Looking for an overnight stay on a drive up the coast I chose the Castle Inn because it was less expensive than most other places in the area. The price was still well north of $150, but I thought, "What the Heck? It's on the beach." I just didn't want to pay $200 or more for an overnight stay. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. Castle Inn is one of the most affordable options along Moonstone Beach. It was one of the original motels along this road and it is also one of the few hotels with a pool. We include a continental breakfast with your stay, which traditionally is not a hot breakfast, more of a... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

First time stay in Cambria. I was shocked at how great this hotel was. Great price, super clean, right by the ocean, substantial continental breakfast. I will definitely be staying here again! Love Cambria.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for this stellar review of Castle Inn. We are pleased to offer one of the original properties along this road at affordable prices for families. We are happy you enjoyed everything and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Our family of 5 from the UK stopped here in Sept '14 for 1 night as we travelled down Highway 1. Great communication with the hotel from the UK when we booked and the hotel is in a great location opposite the coast and with a great restaurant less than a 5 min walk away. The room was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit from the UK. We are also very happy your toy was reunited with your child, we know how important a special item is to our guests and we make every effort to reunite people with their belongings. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast and many enjoy... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

It's all about what's important to you. The staff is fabulous; very nice and customer-service oriented. The room is clean, VERY clean. The bed is comfy. The shower is small. The toiletries are higher end. We had an ocean view room that was very nice-we could hear the waves crashing. Access to the beach is easy. The pool is clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review of Castle Inn. This is one of the first motels along Moonstone Beach and we have made many efforts to upgrade and modernize it. It is our budget-friendly option and our family-friendly motel so we do understand it might not be the best fit if you are looking for a quiet escape. We suggest... More 

Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Our two night stay was pleasant and wonderful. The room was clean and the towels were really white though th bathroom is little small. It has flat screen TV and personal refrigerator. The breakfast was good too, boiled eggs, bagels, bread, cereals, yoghurt, juice and water. The staffs are very nice and accommodating. Very refreshing because it is facing th... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castle Inn. This is one of the original motels along Moonstone Beach, built in a time where small bathrooms were the norm. We have done a lot of updating since we acquired this property and we are very happy you had such a great time with us. Thank you for the compliments about our... More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

A stunning location overlooking Moonstone Bay the converted motel is clean and comfortable and the room rate does not "break the bank". However some advertised amenities disappoint such as the free WiFi which only operates in reception and then very slowly and the inclusive breakfast which has a poor choice and is served in a tiny room. For a one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience here. The wifi like the cell reception is a bit spotty along the coast. We do our best to provide a reliable source but our remote location has it's special challenges technologically. As soon as there is a better option, we will definitely upgrade, but currently, it is what it is. We offer a... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Clean and comfortable -- we were quite happy to stay the night at the Castle Inn. The room was quiet and clean, and we slept quite well. The front desk was helpful and friendly at check in and check out. In the morning, it was nice to cross the street and immediately be at a nice walking trail up above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen_Fyfe, General Manager at Castle Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Castle Inn. It is one of the few budget-friendly options along Moonstone Beach. We are pleased to offer this family-friendly motel, which is one of the original motels along this road. We have done many upgrades including new mattresses and bedding. We are please you enjoyed your visit with us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question