We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pelican Inn & Suites

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
6316 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Exclusive
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pelican Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pelican Inn & Suites
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    136
    29
    14
    15
See reviews for
83
279
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (437)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were driving down from SFO to LA and decided to stop for one night on the way. We chose this place and it turned out to be a great choice. The hotel was located along Moonstone beach which in the morning is in an extremely scenic location. The room we stayed was absolutely fantastic for the price that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peoria AZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice place just across the road from Moonstone Beach. Nice large rooms, many with great ocean views. Wine and cheese each evening and full breakfast each morning. Easy walk to two restaurants. Short drive to town with shopping and more dinning options. We would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reserved a room in the newly renovated portion. An upstairs room with balcony. I wish we could have stayed for more than 1 night. The complimentary breakfast was very delicious and extensive. The rooms were tastefully done. Having a Kuerig coffee maker in room was awesome! We had brought our own Peet's coffee pods with us. The staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Livermore, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A perfect stay along the way, the ocean view room with fireplace added the perfect touch. The staff was very helpful and made our stay more enjoyable with a thoughtful card and bottle of champagne upon our arrival, to enjoy our birthday celebration. Cambria reminded me a lot like Carmel a very quiet and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napa, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at The Pelican seven or eight years ago. It was old and charming, with an outstanding location. It still has a wonderful location. It is really dirty. Our toilet had an imbedded pubic hair on top of the toilet--in dust that had not been wiped or washed in a year or two. Clear dirt marks around all doorknobs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good value. Location near ocean was great. Very well appointed room with luxurious king bed and great shower. Nice little touches like chocolates on the bedside tables on the first night and robes. Very nice, hearty breakfasts that varied each morning. Nice wine / cheese hour at the end of the day. Very helpful and friendly staff - Christina... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very nice review! It is such a pleasure to hear from our guests and we hope you return to the Pelican Inn & Suites soon. All the best, Charlie Yates, General Manager More 

London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised that our room was exactly as shown on the website. A little bit tired in terms of decor but with beautiful views. Great base from which to discover this part of the world. However, and it's a shame, breakfast is not amazing and is served in a bit of a mean space.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We chose the Pelican Inn because the site photos looked great and our travel agent recommended the hotel. What we didn't know was that we were going to get a room in a much older part of the hotel (an older building apparently recently purchased) that doesn't live up to the photos. Yes, the bed was great but the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write your review. We take pride in offering a clean and comfortable experience and I am truly sorry that we did not live up to our high standards. I had the pleasure of speaking with your friend and learning more about your stay. We have come... More 

Burnaby, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We travel extensively and this is the worst "dollar value" we have experienced. We paid for 5 star accommodation and received 2 star (dirty windows, tired dirty carpets, crack in sink and tub, fireplace didn't work, had to wash patio furniture before using etc.). We booked 2 rooms, ocean view, renovated, at top dollar. We were put in an old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charlie320, General Manager at Pelican Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Louise, Thank you for taking time to write your review and share your experience. I am truly sorry that the Pelican Inn & Suites did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer every guest a clean and comfortable stay and I have shared your review with our team. Your opinion is very important to me and I would... More 

Newcastle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Stayed in Cambria one night to have easy access for our Hearst Castle tour and wish we had stayed a little longer. There isn't much to do in Cambria, and that is kind of the point. I could feel myself relaxing, sitting on our patio with a view of the water.The hotel, and all hotels on this strip, are across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (156)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities