We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Simeon Pines Resort

7200 Moonstone Beach Dr., Cambria, CA
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Simeon Pines Resort
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
San Simeon Pines Resort
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    80
    27
    21
    15
See reviews for
56
79
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (220)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

we have been going to Cambria for many years and just love it. We have stayed at the San Simeon Pines before, and liked the quiet rooms with fire places. We enjoyed our stay this time, too. However, I do have to say that when we checked in, we were put in an upstairs room (no elevator). When I requested... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CambriaCypress, Guest Relations Manager at San Simeon Pines Resort, responded to this review

We apologize for the inappropriate response from one of our front desk staff....we will take this up with them. We hope you do not let this one time situation keep you from returning! Thank you for your review. More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Over the years I have stayed here. At first it was quaint and charming but it has gone downhill from there. Location is nice. Breakfast is included. Fireplace rooms use segments of compressed sawdust logs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CambriaCypress, Guest Relations Manager at San Simeon Pines Resort, responded to this review

Sorry we did not meet your expectations, but hope you will still come to Cambria and enjoy our lovely town and scenery. More 

Brighton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed long walks on the Cambria coast, Hurst Castle and the Elephant Seal rookery a few miles away very much. Hotel is a throwback to the 70's including setting and rooms, but quite comfortable. The only concession to modern times was the flat screen TV and DVD player in the room. Breakfast was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CambriaCypress, Guest Relations Manager at San Simeon Pines Resort, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your 3-day stay at San Simeon Pines and that you took in the local sights. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope you return soon! More 

Cambria, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I would just like to take a moment to thank the Owner of san simeon pines lodge for his kindness. Two days ago i asked him for a simple jumpstart as my battery had died. Not only did he chastise me for not buying american and driving an import vehicle, but he also walked then drove away from me when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
El Camino Village
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Although we love the location the hotel has gone down hill some in both service and quality. My husband and I decided to stay here over Thanksgiving, we usually stay here when we are wine tasting, never arriving prior to check-in before. Since we were traveling on Thanksgiving Day we arrived at the hotel around noon. We were immediately told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CambriaCypress, Guest Relations Manager at San Simeon Pines Resort, responded to this review

So sorry your visit with us was not up to your expectations this time around. Just to address some of your concerns: We have relayed your experience to the front desk staff to reaffirm with them how important great customer service is; We haven't taken anything away from our complimentary Continental breakfast; Our policy is to not release our rooms... More 

Newhall
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

First time at this motel. Had a great 2 day stay. Even played shuffleboard! We had no complaints except for the bathroom mirror. Having to shave sideways was a bit out of sorts but what the heck. Wouldn't mind staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CambriaCypress, Guest Relations Manager at San Simeon Pines Resort, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and will return! Not sure what you meant by the sideways mirror, but it got my attention!! Thank you for the nice review and hope to see you back soon! Happy Holidays! More 

San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

This place provided an excellent lesson for remembering that you get what you pay for. Unbelievable. Poor treatment is just unacceptable anymore, at any price. What ever happened to customer service at San Simeon Pines? We checked in. We were then told we could not access the room, even though it was vacant, clean, and ready. What gives? Seems like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CambriaCypress, Guest Relations Manager at San Simeon Pines Resort, responded to this review

After doing some research and speaking with the staff I was able to put this very negative review in perspective. Due to a water leak on the property, our water was turned off temporarily and that is the reason behind your complaint. With no water available during the repair, we were unable to offer the use of our employee restrooms,... More 

San Bernardino, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We recently spent two nights at San Simeon Pines Resort, and in my opinion, it is still one of the best bargains to be found on Moonstone Beach Drive. No, it isn't the newest or have the most modern decor, but it does deliver solid value in their comfortable rooms that have a rustic feel that is enhanced by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CambriaCypress, Guest Relations Manager at San Simeon Pines Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased you are a satisfied, returning guest. We appreciate your lovely review and the heads up on room #70 - it is passed on to the mangers. Hope to see you again soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We have stayed at SS Pines several times and just returned from a four day stay. Since my wife has to use a walker now we were happy to be able to get the room with a handicap accessible shower, making the trip much more enjoyable. The last time we stayed there the staff was happy to change our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CambriaCypress, Guest Relations Manager at San Simeon Pines Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for being one of our many loyal returnees! I passed on your complimentary comments to the staff and they were thrilled! And we appreciate the great review! Sorry you can't bring your dog, but we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I concur with the other recent reviews. In style, It is a throwback to earlier days. The Resort is surrounded by pine trees, and it is close to the ocean. Across the street is a bluff from which you can enjoy the coastline and activities of numerous birds and pelicans that call it home. It is very close to Cambria,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CambriaCypress, Guest Relations Manager at San Simeon Pines Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing San Simeon Pines for your quick trip from LA and for commenting on your stay - hope you return to visit us again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to San Simeon Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Pines Resort

Address: 7200 Moonstone Beach Dr., Cambria, CA
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your San Simeon Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Pines Hotel Cambria

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay