We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

FogCatcher Inn

3.0 of 5 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
FogCatcher Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
FogCatcher Inn
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    318
    85
    38
    15
See reviews for
312
479
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1064)
  • Mar-May only
    (283)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (310)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (286)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (185)
All months
San Jose
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect location & grounds. Previously stayed in a garden view King room. Roomy, 2 windows in front, lots of light. This time we asked for garden view King, but the room was much smaller and dark. One window in front. Had all the lights on and still seemed dark. Good thing they are refurbishing rooms: my pillow case had stains... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this place! The room was so quaint and comfortable with a beautiful ocean view. The breakfast was plentiful and where you sit outside made it feel like a little dutch bistro. The staff were super friendly and helpful with any reservations you needed and suggestions on where to go and what to see. We had dinner at the Sows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your positive comments about the FogCatcher Inn. We strive to meet or exceed our guests' expectations and very pleased to hear we were able to do this for you! Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager More 

Orcutt, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love staying at the Fogcatcher because of the cute rooms, charm, and location. The service is always exceptional. It is one of the bigger hotels on Moonstone Beach and tends to feel more crowded but it's got cute grassy walkways to make up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and happy to hear you liked the charm and character of the FogCatcher Inn! We hope to have you back as a guest soon. Best, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with our room at the Inn. We loved the fireplace in the room. Loved listening to the sound of the waves at night. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The next time we are in Central California, we already know where we want to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the FogCatcher Inn and glad we will be your first choice when traveling to the Central Coast. Thank you, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager More 

Kenwood, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Being over-charged for tacky motel-style surroundings and amenities, and a cold, ho-hum attitude by front desk staffer Jon made this return stay very disappointing. Yes, the setting is nice along the beach, but they are capitalizing on being one of the 'only shows in town' for visiting Hearst Castle. There is a renovation in progress which will possibly make things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

We are truly disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us at the FogCatcher Inn as we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. If you are not happy, we are not happy. Please contact me so that I may personally address your concerns and resolve them to your full satisfaction. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com... More 

Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
39 hotel reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived late to the FogCatcher at Cambria, and we had a very fast check in process (with a funny present, a cookie). The room was large, had a fireplace. The furniture was rustic, made in wood. The room had a LG 40in TV. The wifi was free and worked fine. The whole room, including the toilet, looked somewhat old.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate your comments and feedback. It will help us improve to better serve our guests. Thank you, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are large and the location is great. Other than that I would be hard pressed to find anything positive to say. Dated rooms, poor cleanliness in shared areas like the breakfast room, poor service. Basically this is a dated motel. If you pay less than $100 for a room, it would be great value. We paid more than $350... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about the FogCatcher Inn. We were disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. As we are anticipating a remodel of our hotel, I would like the opportunity to personally address your concerns and share our future vision. Please contact me at your convenience. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager kmaraschiello@fogcatcherinn.com More 

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had done so searching for a hotel near Cambria and the Hearst Castle. There had been a few not so great reviews. We took the chance and very not disappointed. I loved the location and the waves pounding across the road. Had a lunch outside and watch the waves it was magical. The rooms are a little dated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel gets one star for the reservation snafu and three stars for customer service. We have stayed at the Fogcatcher Inn many, many times and also have brought friends. This stay was something else. We had reserved a room with a king-sized bed two months before our stay, however when we checked in, we were told the only room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the FogCatcher Inn and I do apologize for the issues and inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I am, however, pleased to hear your issues were resolved and Jonathon was able to accommodate you. We hope to have you back as a guest in the near future. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have been coming to Cambria for the past 35 years. The last two years we have been staying at the FogCatcher Inn. We have a small dog that travels with us and this Inn makes it possible to take her along. The rooms are spacious and well kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. The full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AGM_FogCatcher_Inn, General Manager at FogCatcher Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of the FogCatcher Inn. We are so pleased this has been your destination of choice for the past two years! We will look forward to having you as a guest soon. Kind Regards, Karen Maraschiello, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cambria

359 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (341)
Viewed
Room/suite (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
View from room (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay