We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Calistoga hotels

Mount View Hotel & Spa

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1457 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mount View Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
76%
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Travelin2Anywhere Acton, Massachusetts
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    69
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
9
93
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is right in the downtown area and within walking distance to many restaurants. It is a historic building so not a typical hotel. HVAC unit in the window for heat and AC but rooms were clean and spacious. Service was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountViewMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Travelin2Anywhere, I am so happy to see that our location worked with your plans. We do like to promote a park and stay experience. Its even easier with Calistoga offering a courtesy shuttle to all of our guests to any other Calistoga destination! I am sorry the window HVAC was bothersome; we have an improvement plan coming to switch... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've had 2 nights here while visiting the Nappa valley. The reception staff were really welcoming & greeted us each time we passed through. The room was large with a very comfortable bed. Ok so no view from the windows but this is a historic building. We had a lovely afternoon in the pool, Jacuzzi - mineral water fed &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
75 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We wanted to stay in Calistoga for a part of our 3 day Napa valley visit and found the Mount View Hotel through a Trip Advisor. It was a very good choice. I enjoyed being in the historic hotel (but wish they would have played up the history a little more). The facility was in excellent shape (notwithstanding its historic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect spot - downtown Calistoga. First the good, the spa was great. The services and environment was very relaxing. The staff in both the hotel and spa was great as well. Very helpful and friendly. The hotel had the basics. The room we stayed in was older and small. Overall, a nice stay in Calistoga.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hercules, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My daughter and I used the spa today. Good massage, facial and aroma bath. Very clean with helpful staff. I would visit again. My husband paid as a surprise so I'm not sure of the cost. Nice area with other shops and restaurants near by. Close to the wineries as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountViewMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello di0nec, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed a great Spa Day, what a wonderful gift to receive. We hope you will choose to return to us again. Cheers! Cassi D. Hospitality Manager More

Eureka, Ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our stay was ok...customer service was only ok. For off season there are better deals. Spa was having electrical work done and that was not stated before we came. Room was just ok. Everything was just ok. I will make another choice next time we visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MountViewMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello finewine35, I am sorry to hear your experience was just "OK". We strive for excellence here at the Mount View Hotel & Spa, and "OK" does not qualify for excellence. We did do some beautification improvements to our Spa, and had this listed every where possible, I am sorry you were not clear on our efforts. If you are... More

Redway, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Their website doesn't do them justice, the spa is awesome best in town! This place is awesome! I will admit I haven't stayed here yet, but everything else is really nice. We spent Christmas in Calistoga this year and stayed at a couple of cottages in town. Mount View was the only place open on Christmas day that i knew... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Rooms can have nasty views. It's on the expensive side. Breakfast is not good. Feels like you are in a cell. I asked the staff if I can get another room that doesn't face the air-conditioning system of the building, or a wall, and they refused, saying the hotel is full. It clearly wasn't, so I was lied to. Only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MountViewMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Venera1122, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Mount View Hotel. More than that, I am sorry you feel as if we lied to you. Since all of our rooms are individually appointed, it is policy to show a guest another room if they wish, we try to show the same room type, but will... More

Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay! Front desk staff was amazing at recommending wineries, arranging tours and setting up the shuttle service for us. Room was small - but clean and comfortable. My husband and I aren't into sugary pastry breakfast - but we found an excellent spot a few doors down at Sarafornia. You can find amazing cheese, wine and California IPAs a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cassi D, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Tanya S. Thank you for the wonderful review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the Mount View Hotel as well as Calistoga as a whole. I agree, it is worth the extra drive. We hope to have you as our guest again. Cheers! Cassi D. Hospitality Manager More

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for us to venture out into wine country. I will say for the price we paid and received two twin beds was a little overrated. I thought the hotel was really nice and good condition however we ran out of hot water. So literally we had to take showers at the spa which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cassi D, Guest Relations Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Jackie R. Thank you for the review. I do wish to apologize to you again for our water heater going out during your stay. That was in deed a very unfortunate morning and we have had the water heater replaced. We had several rooms affected by that situation and we had it fixed as quickly as possible. Still, the... More

Been to Mount View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel And Spa
Mount View Hotel Calistoga
Mount View Hotel
Mount View Calistoga
Address: 1457 Lincoln Ave., Calistoga, CA 94515
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount View Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Art of Relaxation at Mount View Hotel & Spa in Napa Valley. The Mount View offers personal touches, amenities and spa services to surprise and delight you from facials and revitalizing body treatments to soothing massage. Zagat rated in Top U.S. Hotels, Resorts and Spas and a long-time member of the Green Hotels Association. Downtown, Romantic, Eco-friendly, Private Cabanas, Pool, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI, Breakfast in Bed and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mount View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount View Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.