We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Hotel website
Hotel deals
20688 Tracy Avenue, I-5 and Hwy 58 Exit, Buttonwillow, CA 93206 (Formerly Homeland Inn & Suites)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Review This Hotel

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    8
    15
    27
See reviews for
20
18
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

In all fairness, we did not stay at the Econo Lodge. We wanted to, but were so turned off we ended up at the Motel 6. Upon check in, we were greeted by the brusque manager, who checked us in. I took the key and went to the room while my husband finished up in the reception area. When I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge. Thank you again for sparing your time to put a review with straight observations which will definitely help us to improve. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused howsoever. The front desk staff has been effectively trained to be responsible and caring towards all guests. The staff you mentioned in the review... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were on our way to SF from AZ, and this town was our first stop. As other reviewers have said, they struggle with bugs and smell because of the cattle and farms all around. I was at first taken aback by disrepair in the lobby, but we were adequately served, and our rate was correct. We had called to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We called in to get a room.they gave us wrong price, told us no pet deposit but charged us anyway. got to room a/c didn't work and when I called in they treated me like I was stupid. Found a cheaper one a block away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge. We appreciate your review and the straight comments. We have ensured that such a misunderstanding will not happened again. We are continuously improving our rooms, AC and other amenities along with points related to cleanliness and other points mentioned by you. We look forward to see you again at our hotel... More 

Winters, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was our first stop on a cross-country road trip from northern California to the Florida panhandle, where the kids are attending school. I made the reservations on-line for a family suite. The price was right - $71 + tax. I guess the old saying "You get what you pay for;" may be true after all. We arrived late, when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area. We appreciate the review and we take it quite seriously for improvement. We apologize for your experience howsoever it might have happened. We have engaged a professional team to check all the amenities and to ensure the rooms are in the finest condition before a... More 

Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a large dumpy motel with lots of wear. We stopped here on a drive because Buttonwillow was located at the end of a 11 hour driving day. The room was cheap and seemed relatively clean. We slept, got up, and left. We have no complaints. For less than $50, you can't expect much. We booked online.

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with the Econo Lodge, Buttonwillow, during your last visit to our area. We definitely appreciate your review and observations. In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve. Thanks for the positive comments, but also we have taken steps to improve upon your suggested areas. We would like to invite you once again... More 

California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This motel is not rated or recommended by AAA and based upon my visit it fell short of even a one diamond designation. It is a fairly large motel with butterscotch yellow stucco and maroon colored doors. I was there on a Friday and even then it was lightly occupied. One clue that they needed more business was the $169... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge for your recent stay in our area. We appreciate your efforts in giving us a lengthy and descriptive review. We take our guest reviews quite seriously. Upon receipt of your review, we have taken the steps to eliminate any smoke odor and other observations made by you. Housekeeping staff have received... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I already booked one week on Hotels.com for $360 incl. tax & fees. I saw lighted signs outside saying $39.95 and Weekly Special $159 ... when I asked about those I was told that those were all sold out. We've all heard THAT before... This was early Saturday afternoon with an empty parking lot at this motel... in this ghost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge for your stay during your visit to our area. We definitely appreciate suggestions about our hotel. We have noted all you observations and concerns and have taken corrective measures to attend to each of the observations. We have also taken steps to see that all the amenities are in clean and... More 

Santa Rosa, Ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Night 1 in room 135 no problem, except when using the pool, there were many bugs in the pool. The breakfast leave a lot to be desired, cereal, store bought roles, and waffles that were actually pretty good. The coffee was weak and almost undrinkable. Got coffee at the TA next door. Starbucks across the street. Night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EcoButtonwillow, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

This is a false review because all the beds were brand new when the guest stayed. We have always very good guest comments for the cleanliness. We have continuely gottenn 100% on our county and franchise Health/Housekeeping inspection also we have an enviornmental Health Inspection Report for the week of the guest stay, and is available for viewing. More 

California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was an OK place to stay. Nothing notable, though nothing really bad. Check in help was a bit surly. Boring continental breakfast...The sign says "NO FOOD TO BE REMOVED FROM BREAKFAST AREA!" Door to room was a bit rough...had been pried open. An act of God is needed to get additional soaps/shampoos. Towels and linens were fine. I found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Worst place I have stayed in a long time. No WiFi, No Laundry, sheets were so old and ratty you can see through them. Dirty floors, unkempt grounds and pool, unhelpful staff, uncomfortable beds - nothing even okay about this place! Not cheap either!!! Do NOT stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us during your last visit to our area. We appreciate your review and have taken the observations for further improvement. We are really sorry for the inconvenience you had however unlikely may it be. We have taken adequate steps to check and ensure that the overall amenities and a system to maintain the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question