We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portola Inn and Suites

7921 Orangethorp Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Portola Inn and Suites
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    76
    69
    46
    21
    16
See reviews for
106
37
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for Portola Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My family and I were VERY pleased with the lady Maria that helped us with our stay. From the moment we walked in, she was very polite and helpful. Such a sweet lady. The room she accommodated us in was really clean. Overall a great value for the price and location. I will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the five star review you have on our Buena Park property. We are happy to hear that our customer service shined for you during your stay and that the room that was provided to you and to your family was to your liking. Please know that our housekeeping team do their best to make sure all rooms... More 

California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

No problems at all during our stay (09/05/14-09/09/14), everything was great. The price is right too, perfect for those traveling on a budget! Reservations were made in advance (very courteous staff) and we had a very smooth and efficient check in process. Arrived to our room, which was surprisingly spacious and had everything we needed - and more. It's nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your review on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. We are glad to hear that you liked our accommodations and services. We are also very much happy to know that the free Wi-Fi worked perfectly inside the rooms and that... More 

Eagle Mountain, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

You really get what you pay for. We had stayed at this hotel a few years back and decided to go again. We really were sorry we went there. The room was so filthy and smelled so bad that we asked the clerk to have it cleaned while we were gone. They shampooed the carpet so it was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience your encountered while staying at Portola Inn and Suites. And thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please know that since your feedback, we have given special projects to our maintenance personnel regarding the maintenance of our carpets, room appearance and condition. We always buy the items we served for... More 

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Very good price. Great proximity to the freeways and Disney but very bad wifi, mediocre room up-keep and poor breakfast. Not sure if I would stay again unless we were on a strict budget, Id rather spend a couple of hundred extra for a week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for deciding to stay at Portola Inn and Suites on your recent visit to Southern California. We greatly value the feedback you have provided for us and for future guest to read. Yes, we are located only minutes from Knott's Berry Farm, Disneyland and about half an hour to Universal Studios Hollywood. We will take into great consideration... More 

Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Very clean and spacious. Family friendly. Helpful/friendly staff. When we checked in, our room had a clogged sink. Staff quickly moved us and upgraded our room for the trouble. We are planning to make this one of our regular places to stay. Close to theme parks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay at our Buena Park property. And we are also happy to learn that our quick thinking team members upgraded you to a suite for the trouble you encountered when you checked into the first room. As you were able to see our spacious suites come are... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Love love this place friendly service every yr I stay there. Clean place.my fam loves to come here and next yr I'll come back with my fam.good price for the rm.and I love the rm I stay in.quite place to bring ur fam.and next yr I might bring more people with me.love portola inn best place.like I said every year... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank your for been a returning guest to Portola Inn and Suites. We are happy to read that every summer you come and stay at our Buena Park location. We are also happy to read that you liked our rooms, as they are always kept in the best cleaning position. When compared to other hotels around the area, we have... More 

Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This is just an average hotel. Room is quite big for 2 queen bed room. However, furniture is old, bathroom door unable to close properly. Floor is dirty. Breakfast was just some cold bagel and frosted banana cake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay here at Portola Inn and Suites. As you were able to see, all our rooms are spacious and the rate for the rooms are always affordable. Thank you for the comments you have regarding the outdated furniture; you'll be happy to know that we are working on upgrading... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My 21 year old daughter and I didn't need a real fancy place as we weren't spending our vacation in California in our hotel. Perfect for what we needed. Staff were very friendly and eager to please. Continental breakfast was great, not a lot of variety but perfect for us (toast, bagels, banana/carrot cakes, fruit, coffee/tea, milk and OJ or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review you have on our Buena Park property. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that your room was ready when you arrived at the hotel. As you were able to see during your stay, our rooms are spacious and are always kept in immaculate... More 

Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If your plan is to find a reasonable place to stay while visiting Disney parks, this is a fair one. Clean, average room, nice staff. Breakfast is really poor. At night, when you come back to rest and you´re exausted, it´s really anoying when your key doesn´t open your room´s door, and it happened every single night. Besides that, average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Portola Inn and Suites. As you were able to see, our room rates are very affordable and we are also located five minutes away from Knott's Berry Farm. Our immaculate and spacious rooms are fully furnished with a flat screen television, microwave, fridge, Iron, Iron board, coffee... More 

Indio, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I read some decent reviews of this motel and to be honest everyone was quite nice to deal with, but this place needs work. I had reservations for several weeks and checked in about an hour after posted check in time. Had a 3rd floor room, not close to the elevator (previous review), and started to bring in our things.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a minute out of your busy schedule to provide us and future guests with your feedback on your stay at Portola Inn and Suites. And please apologize us for the inconvenience you encountered as you checked into the room. We always make sure a room is in the best possible condition when giving it to our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay