We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cain House

340 Main Street, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgeport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cain House
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Bishop, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Ed was wonderful and always professional. The Cane house is beautiful and always clean and very helpful staff. Ed has always been the most over the top in customer service. The Town is very beautiful and so eventful for 4th of July.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benicia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

This is the place to stay in Bridgeport! The staff was friendly and accommodating. The house itself was a real surprise, with nicely furnished rooms. The house is old & historic, so you know it has character. However, the rooms are large, with comfortable beds and antiques. Bathrooms are pretty basic, but adequate. In addition to the rooms, there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rolling Meadows, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed at the Cain House in early July 2014. It was clean and quite comfortable. The staff was great, the breakfast was nice. We arrived late- after check in - but called ahead and were graciously accomodated. The room we choose was actually 2 rooms which was perfect for our family. There is a nice parlor and ample outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for three nights in the Cottage with another couple. Located back behind the main house it was nice and quiet. With two bedrooms, a kitchen and sitting room the room was a good match for us. The main bedroom is large with a king size bed, satellite tv and a huge walk-in closet. two windows allowed us to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Checked in next door, given keys and wifi instructions. Very friendly gentleman on duty. No staff on site of our hotel. Wifi was hopeless - kept dropping out and we gave up. Rooms were spotlessly clean but really chintzy and stuffy. Dreadful breakfast on paper plates and paper cups . We were not acknowledged by the lady supervising the breakfast.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erinn99, Owner at Cain House, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. My manager, manages both properties - the Silver Maple and The Cain House and he is on site. The entire town of Bridgeport has horrible wifi service - we keep requesting better service, but I think you get service from your phone! More 

Riverside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had just spend time at a beautiful bed and breakfast in another city and were excited about the Cain House. Check-in was a breeze and the gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. There is a motel and then there is the Cain House, which has several individual rooms. We were given keys to let ourselves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erinn99, Owner at Cain House, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We will definitely look into the odd odor. We do not consider or market The Cain House as a bed & breakfast. We call the Cain House a country inn and have done so for over 7 years. We have a continental breakfast, not a hot breakfast, so that is why we... More 

Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had 2 rooms in this hotel, JS Cain & Aurora. Our daughters got JS Cain, the larger room. Took us a while to find though as there were no members of staff available to help us. The rooms were a bit weird. Really prissy with huge 4 poster beds. The bathroom was tiny, All media was OK. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Got into Bridgeport late trying to get to Yosemite and just decided we were all too tired to go on, so we stopped for the night. Checked out the main motels but they were all pricey for what they offered, and finally stopped at the Silver Maple. The very nice lady behind the desk (with the overly affectionate dog) had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Walker Hotel in the past before because of their pool, but it was too expensive for one night and too late to swim anyway. We looked at various hotels and the Cain House had a good rate and looked nice. When we saw the room, it was wonderful! We had 2 rooms, nicely furnished and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed one night while on our road trip between Reno and Las Vegas. The Cain House was perfect for us, the Bodie Room being even more of an addition given it's "cultural history"...loved the red colors in the room. The outside lawn area was perfect for a glass of wine and cigar (for SO). We were greeted professionally and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
0.3 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
21.6 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#3 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Maple Inn
Silver Maple Inn
#2 of 4 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Virginia Creek Settlement
Virginia Creek Settlement
#4 of 8 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities