We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
340 Main Street, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Hotel amenities
Cain House
Ranked #3 of 4 Bridgeport B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgeport
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Checked in next door, given keys and wifi instructions. Very friendly gentleman on duty. No staff on site of our hotel. Wifi was hopeless - kept dropping out and we gave up. Rooms were spotlessly clean but really chintzy and stuffy. Dreadful breakfast on paper plates and paper cups . We were not acknowledged by the lady supervising the breakfast.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erinn99, Owner at Cain House, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. My manager, manages both properties - the Silver Maple and The Cain House and he is on site. The entire town of Bridgeport has horrible wifi service - we keep requesting better service, but I think you get service from your phone! More

Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had just spend time at a beautiful bed and breakfast in another city and were excited about the Cain House. Check-in was a breeze and the gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. There is a motel and then there is the Cain House, which has several individual rooms. We were given keys to let ourselves... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erinn99, Owner at Cain House, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We will definitely look into the odd odor. We do not consider or market The Cain House as a bed & breakfast. We call the Cain House a country inn and have done so for over 7 years. We have a continental breakfast, not a hot breakfast, so that is why we... More

Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had 2 rooms in this hotel, JS Cain & Aurora. Our daughters got JS Cain, the larger room. Took us a while to find though as there were no members of staff available to help us. The rooms were a bit weird. Really prissy with huge 4 poster beds. The bathroom was tiny, All media was OK. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Got into Bridgeport late trying to get to Yosemite and just decided we were all too tired to go on, so we stopped for the night. Checked out the main motels but they were all pricey for what they offered, and finally stopped at the Silver Maple. The very nice lady behind the desk (with the overly affectionate dog) had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Walker Hotel in the past before because of their pool, but it was too expensive for one night and too late to swim anyway. We looked at various hotels and the Cain House had a good rate and looked nice. When we saw the room, it was wonderful! We had 2 rooms, nicely furnished and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. Helena, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed one night while on our road trip between Reno and Las Vegas. The Cain House was perfect for us, the Bodie Room being even more of an addition given it's "cultural history"...loved the red colors in the room. The outside lawn area was perfect for a glass of wine and cigar (for SO). We were greeted professionally and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Foster City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

we stayed one night (7/5) in Bridgeport. I ended up choosing the Cain House cottage instead of a motel room at Silver Maple Inn (same property management) for only $20 more. With a family of four, the cottage worked out great with two separate bedrooms. The bathroom is small but I was not expecting three star hotel amenity anyway. It's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Erinn99, Owner at Cain House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. And thank you for writing about the other businesses and our 4th of July celebration. We like to promote all the things to do and see in Bridgeport - if one business is successful then we all are! More

Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Returning from a short trip to Yosemite, and with a planned visit to Bodie the next day, Bridgeport was the place to stay for the night. Honestly - none of the opotions looked too attractive seen from the outside ! Finally we decided on the Silver Maple Inn - and when entering the office we were asked if we wanted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erinn99, Owner at Cain House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review, it is nice to see this when guests enjoyed their stay. We know the town can look a little "brown" this time of year - after our leaves have fallen and the snow isn't here yet. But I think most of the small motels in Bridgeport will suprise you once you walk in. We... More

Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We wanted something other than a Hwy 395 motel while visiting the Tuolumne Meadows area of Yosemite. The Cain House worked out quite nicely. Liked the fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies in the dining area in the afternoon upon arrival. Breakfast was nothing fancy - a continental of various cereals, yogurts and fruit - but it met our needs and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Note: this review is also posted on Yelp. We rented the cottage at the Cain House a few days ago. The cottage had ample room and was tidy. However, it is definitely not worth the money. After paying comparable rates at the Westin Mammoth, I would expect comparable amenities. The bathmat looks like it hasn't been changed in years, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Cain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cain House

Address: 340 Main Street, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Location: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Exquisit Victorian Establishment was created with European Elegance and a hint of Serenity. We boast 7 private accommodations with their own private bathrooms, as well as, a secluded cottage for our extended guests. Our Country Inn is rare in it's ambience, due to guest participation in house rules. Guests are encouraged to welcome themselves throughout the establishment, with respect of other guests. All our rooms have a different decor than the other, delighting the most exquisite tastes. Enjoy our Traditional Hometown 4th of July Festivities from our Beatuiful Front Porch and the Amazing Firework Display from our Manicured Lawns. We cater to all travelers who wish to stay overnight in one of California's Best Kept Secrets. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cain House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines
    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Cain House to your Saves list