We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Virginia Creek Settlement

on Highway 395, H.C.R. 62 Box 1050, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Hotel amenities
Virginia Creek Settlement
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
supertraveltracy cape town
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
cape town
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We were forced to stop due to a snowstorm. This friendly spot was a treat. Quaint rooms with nice bathroom. Small adjacent verandah to sit on. Coffee making facilities in the room. The dinner was really good, eggplant dish highly recommended, portion sizes were generous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Virginia Creek Settlement is a perfect starting point for visiting the ghost town Bodie, where we went the next day. It is a must-see. We stayed off-season in a standard room, at a very affordable rate. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and made to feel at home by the staff and owner. The room was a fairly standard motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakland, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I highly recommend staying here! The staff was super friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We stayed in the wagon the first night. The sound of the running water from the creek made for a comfortable and soothing evening. The second night we stayed in the motel just to switch it up and it was equally inviting with a private... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

I love this place and visit as often as I am in the area. This time I stayed in one of the new cabins near the creek. It was comfortable and clean, with a microwave, refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker, and flat panel tv. Reception was good too. The bed was comfortable and the whole cabin was cozy. I only wished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

If you're traveling Highway 395 in the eastern Sierras, you don't want to miss Virginia Creek Settlement. I stay here often and have no complaints. The cabins sit along Virginia Creek and they are clean and cozy, with all the necessary amenities like flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, mini fridge, and coffee. Compared to other lodging in the area, this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goeggingen, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Frustrated Tourist: While visiting California from Augsburg Germany March 15 , I had the unpleasant experience of doing business with the Virginia Creek Settlement in Bridgeport. I called and made a reservation the night prior, leaving my credit card as a deposit. I was not informed of the cancellation policy during the reservation, (More on that later.) I drove two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jimmy L, Owner at Virginia Creek Settlement, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that we had this experience with you. This review is for the same occurrence as was posted the week prior, and below will be the same response. Suffice to say, we disagree with your insistence that we were treated you unfairly. We held your room in good faith, you chose to not read your confirmation email where... More 

Augsburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Customer service is key in this industry. This hotel and its staff were rude, condescending and secured the payment without informing anyone of road closures. It was impossible to make it to this hotel due to road closures and their answer was a six hour drive to get around road closures. When asked why they did not inform us over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jimmy L, Owner at Virginia Creek Settlement, responded to this review

We regret you are dissatisfied with our cancellation policy, it is a 48 hour prior to check-in policy, and cancelling at 1pm the day of your arrival is subject to that policy. Tioga ,Sonora, and Monitor passes (highways 120, 108, and 89) are closed seasonally every year, typically from November thru the end of May, without exception. This of course... More 

Van Nuys, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We spent 5 days and 4 nites in cabin no. 8. It was off season, but Brin and Jim went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy. Our cabin was at the end of the settelement directly on Virginia Creek, so though the settlement is next to Hiway 395 with the rushing creek you barely know your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

So we booked this as it is exactly 1/2 way between San Fransisco and Vegas. We were looking for a bed for the night. There was a bed. It was very comfy. There was also a TV that didn't work. Satellite WiFi that reached its data limit by 8pm. The walls of the strip bunk house were very thin and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Excellent place to stay, very well maintained and great friendly staff. Really enjoyed the stay. One of the cheapest places around for a quick short stay. We did not try the restaurant. They had left the doors open along with some snacks since we were arriving late. Very nice of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (140)
Room/suite (29)
Hotel & grounds (39)
Dining (20)
Bathroom (12)
View from room (3)
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question