We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Virginia Creek Settlement

Certificate of Excellence
on Highway 395, H.C.R. 62 Box 1050, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Hotel amenities
Virginia Creek Settlement
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
hotspringqueen California
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    51
    27
    6
    10
See reviews for
45
84
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I love this place and visit as often as I am in the area. This time I stayed in one of the new cabins near the creek. It was comfortable and clean, with a microwave, refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker, and flat panel tv. Reception was good too. The bed was comfortable and the whole cabin was cozy. I only wished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're traveling Highway 395 in the eastern Sierras, you don't want to miss Virginia Creek Settlement. I stay here often and have no complaints. The cabins sit along Virginia Creek and they are clean and cozy, with all the necessary amenities like flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, mini fridge, and coffee. Compared to other lodging in the area, this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goeggingen, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Frustrated Tourist: While visiting California from Augsburg Germany March 15 , I had the unpleasant experience of doing business with the Virginia Creek Settlement in Bridgeport. I called and made a reservation the night prior, leaving my credit card as a deposit. I was not informed of the cancellation policy during the reservation, (More on that later.) I drove two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jimmy L, Owner at Virginia Creek Settlement, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that we had this experience with you. This review is for the same occurrence as was posted the week prior, and below will be the same response. Suffice to say, we disagree with your insistence that we were treated you unfairly. We held your room in good faith, you chose to not read your confirmation email where... More 

Augsburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Customer service is key in this industry. This hotel and its staff were rude, condescending and secured the payment without informing anyone of road closures. It was impossible to make it to this hotel due to road closures and their answer was a six hour drive to get around road closures. When asked why they did not inform us over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jimmy L, Owner at Virginia Creek Settlement, responded to this review

We regret you are dissatisfied with our cancellation policy, it is a 48 hour prior to check-in policy, and cancelling at 1pm the day of your arrival is subject to that policy. Tioga ,Sonora, and Monitor passes (highways 120, 108, and 89) are closed seasonally every year, typically from November thru the end of May, without exception. This of course... More 

Van Nuys, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We spent 5 days and 4 nites in cabin no. 8. It was off season, but Brin and Jim went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy. Our cabin was at the end of the settelement directly on Virginia Creek, so though the settlement is next to Hiway 395 with the rushing creek you barely know your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

So we booked this as it is exactly 1/2 way between San Fransisco and Vegas. We were looking for a bed for the night. There was a bed. It was very comfy. There was also a TV that didn't work. Satellite WiFi that reached its data limit by 8pm. The walls of the strip bunk house were very thin and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Excellent place to stay, very well maintained and great friendly staff. Really enjoyed the stay. One of the cheapest places around for a quick short stay. We did not try the restaurant. They had left the doors open along with some snacks since we were arriving late. Very nice of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pinole, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

This is a cute place with cabins and small campground. We had rented one of the wagons, and it was cozy and fun to sleep in. However, maybe we were there at a bad time, but the grounds and restaurant seemed to be severely understaffed. The bathrooms were very dirty (see pictures). I mean, dirty in a general sense of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We stayed in a cabin with our two kids and brought our dog. It isn't the picturesque quality of something you might find in Sunset Magazine, but it is a good value for a traveling family. Our small cabin had a front porch, a small picnic table outside, kitchen with sink, stove and microwave, fridge, a futon, one uncomfortable Queen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

We stayed here unexpectedly having arrived too late to visit Bodie and needing accommodation until we could visit in the morning. It was one of our best unplanned stays ever. The room in the motel is a cosy log cabin, tastefully decorated and toasty warm. The restaurant food was great with enormous portions but most of all the owners were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question