We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bridgeport Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
205 Main Street, US Hwy. 395, Bridgeport, CA 93517
Bridgeport Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 4 Bridgeport B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
George T Chennai (Madras), India
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
12
44
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Located on main street, (probably the only Street!), this motel has reasonably priced rooms. Like every motel in the USA, the walls are thin. Room heater is barely adequate. These are basically places to keep extra stuff and sleep, while you spend most of the day outside, in the beautiful countryside. Why spend a lot of money on a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Don't know the room you stayed in, but we will check all heaters in the motel building just to make sure. They are powerful and fast to provide really good heat, so it's possible one might need repair. Hope you come again. Bob Peters More 

Yerington, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We were going to visit the ghost town of Bodie and this hotel was the only place that had any rooms available. It is a very old but pleasently updated hotel. Our rooms were recently painted with wainscoat and border wallpaper added. The rooms were bright, simple and cheery. There is no bathroom in the rooms and they are at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. You described the Inn perfectly, old but clean and comfortable. Hope you come again. Regards, Bob Peters, Owner More 

Lancaster, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We just finished another fantastic time at the Bridgeport Inn. The 9 days we spent there went by all to quickly. Bob, Kathy and the Entire staff made our stay one we will always remember. Everything from the meals to the evening cocktails was perfect. We are already talking about our next visit to the Gem in the Sierra's. Once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the great review. We are very lucky to have so many returning guests that get to know our staff and local characters. Bob Peters, Owner More 

bath maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

rooms were very clean but very dated. had dinner at inn and there was a variety...fish, steak, vegetable options...felt they were -trying- but meal came across as having dinner at an older person's home. person at the desk was pleasant and also offered other ideas/establishments for dinner had to go to main building to get wifi...didn't work in our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Some guests love the old motel building and others prefer the historic hotel building. Almost everyone comments about the cleanliness. We keep the rooms and the restaurant and the service like we could enjoy if we were guests. Bob Peters, Owner More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This Inn is on the road less travelled on the east side of the Sierra Nevada mountains. Much older facility that is well maintained but be aware that not all bathrooms have electricity, so hair drying is a challenge. Office is closed for early check-in until 2pm, doesn't open in the morning until 8am. On-site restaurant is a cut above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do try to maintain the gold rush era experience and encourage all guests to visit Bodie Ghost Town historic State Park as well as Yosemite National Park. Hope you can visit again. Bob Peters, Owner More 

Temecula, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Trip Advisor needs to make negative stars available just for this place. Long story short, what a terrible experience; my wife and I did not stay for even 10min. After telling the motel staff about the room, they became very rude. John(staff), claims he's been working that motel for 15years+ and this is the first complaint; what a joke! Still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Sorry your experience was so awful. Your complaints have been investigated by me. Cleanliness, service, and location are three aspects of the experience at the Inn that almost always get the highest marks by our guests. Usually when someone reviews "sleeping" at the Inn they actual do sleep at the Inn. You indicated that you left after 10 minutes. The... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bridgeport hotels

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed in Bridgeport after a few days in Yosemite and visited Bodie and Mono lake before heading north. Bridgeport was a great base and this was a lovely old hotel. In particular, the restaurant was outstanding, especially the steak. Our room in the main hotel was quite small but cosy and amenable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for the great review. Hope can return some day. Bob Peters, Owner More 

Modesto, California, Usa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was frankly just looking for an inexpensive place to stay somewhere near Lee Vining, because a favorite band was playing nearby. I had procrastinated, and was shocked at the prices quoted. The cheapest was the Bridgeport Inn, some 20-odd miles away, at about $110 with tax. It's an 1877 building, with a more modern, and more expensive, motel surrounding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The Cowboy rooms are very popular because of the lower price and the old west feel. Our Inn is very unique experience and we're glad you had a good time. Bob Peters, Owner More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed at the Bridgeport in on our way back from Yosemite national park. the room was expensive $130.00 nearly the same price as San Francisco. We had a drink in the bar and was stunned to find the awful local fizzy lager at $8.00 a pint... !! that's the same price for a pint as central London and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It's always too bad when we hear insults from customers. Let me explain. Our $8 beers are Imperial pints (20 ounces) of mostly California craft beers. We also have $3 beers (12 ounces) on tap and in bottles. You pay for the quality regardless of where you are in the world. I doubt very much that... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We first stopped at the Bridgeport Inn on our way to Tahoe. Just stopped for dinner because we liked the historic charm of the building. Had an outstanding meal, reasonably priced, and excellent service. The bar was warm & friendly, and we decided to stay over because we enjoyed the overall ambiance of the inn. While at the bar, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert P, Owner at Bridgeport Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We really appreciate hearing from happy guests. Particularly those who enjoy our local history. Please come again, Bob Peters, owner. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay