We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa

Hotel website
16702 Coast Highway One, Bodega, CA 94922 (Formerly Sonoma Coast Villa Inn And Spa)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa
Rate this Hotel

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    18
    12
    16
See reviews for
10
78
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Yuba City, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The owner wears many hats which is very commendable, but he needs to work on his people skills. He was EXTREMELY RUDE to us when we checked it and at the wine tasting he insulted my friends intelligence (literally). I spoke with many other guests and they had the same experience. The grounds are beautiful, but we will never return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I noticed a trend throughout the course of the previous reviews; a lack of courtesy on the part of the owner/manager. I cannot speak to those experiences; I can only speak to my own, but mine could not have been any more different. I too ordered a vacation through Groupon and extended it through the end of the week. Immediately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonh H, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review

Dave, we are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay. Our guests mean so much to us and we wouldn’t think of treating our guests any differently. We are glad your cat is feeling better! Thank you again for all your kind words. We hope you visit again. More 

Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Groupon buyer - Here's the real deal on how your experience will go. We purchased an upgraded groupon package that included a two night stay in a villa, dinner for two, and a couples massage. First, the positive aspects. It is a beautiful villa and spa resort. The villas are spacious, but slightly dated to the 1980's. We enjoyed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Jonh H, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you had some great food and enjoyed our villa and spa resort. We wanted to bring the Groupon fine print to your attention, which discloses: $ 54.89 for 11% rooms tax, $ 30.00 resort for two days ($15.00 a day), $ 27.55 for the Private dinner ( 47.50 per person or $ 95.00 per couple),... More 

California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We booked then read the reviewes. So glad we knew what to expect or we would have been very disappointed. We didn't cancel because the meal and massages meant the most to us and those received consistency good reviews. We agree - The dinner and massages were very nice. But the whole concept is weird. Personally, it is awkward watching... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jonh H, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Tom and Jill, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Though it’s a delight to hear you enjoyed your time here overall, it’s disheartening to find your visit was anything short of exceptional. The satisfaction of my guests is my absolute top priority and I thank you for bringing to my attention the aspects which... More 

Petaluma, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We stayed here for two nights on the weekend. I had stayed here once before so we had an idea of what we were getting. The Villa is in a beautiful location out towards the bay. Not sure why they advertise "Southern Wine Country"? There are no Vineyards out at the coast its too cold and it would be Western... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonh H, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review

rrblanquie, we appreciate your honesty and will take your feedback into consideration. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for the feedback More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We reserved the Sonoma Coast Villa Food and Wine Experience package for two. We added an additional two nights for a 5 night stay. The package included a deluxe villa room with a private courtyard. The room was nicely decorated and had all the amenities one would expect. We loved the heated floors and the wood burning fireplace. When we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonh H, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review

nolatraveler2013, we are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay! We are glad you enjoyed the food, wine, and the grounds. Our goal is to have our guests have a wonderful memorable stay. We appreciate your kind words and hope you visit us again! More 

San Bruno, CA
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I really wanted to like this place, but from the first day to the last, our experiences were unpleasant. The owner showed us to our room in the rear building. It was small and dark, not what we expected for a "Deluxe Junior Suite." Once we saw the slipcovers on the small sofa and stained armchairs, we asked to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Sorry this review is a bit late but, better late than never. I read some of the negative feedback about Mr. Johannes and thought I'd give my feedback. I stayed 3 nights in June 2013 at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa.....had never been to the part of Cali so I wasn't sure what to expect. We had no complaints, overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonh H, Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review

We will make sure that Johannes reads the review you’ve written. He works very hard to provide top notch Villa and Spa services for all of his guests and it sounds like you had a wonderful 3 day stay here. We are indebted to your loyalty to return again in the future and we look forward to having you stay... More 

Peoria, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was a beautiful , well manicured setting. We rented a deluxe room and it was clean and spacious. We had a courtyard as well as a nice sitting area in our room. We traveled with two other couples so it was nice to be able to enjoy sitting and visiting when we were not out. The breakfast was delicious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights this week on a girls trip and had a very enjoyable time. We used a Groupon for 2 nights which included one dinner which was exceptional. We purchased one additional night and believe it was a fair price. Mr. Johannes’s is a busy guy and is to the point and efficient but we never really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:54
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question