We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vagabond Inn Bishop

Hotel website
1030 N. Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Special Deal
Enjoy Breakfast On Us!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn Bishop
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    108
    60
    18
    23
See reviews for
97
87
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Melle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room is what you can expect from a motel room : large, basic, but very clean. The reception was very good, and the service at breakfast as well. You feel that the team there wants to give you a good stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us as your hospitality partner. We are glad that we could provide you nice and clean place for you stay. Yes, we as team make sure you keep coming to visit us again and again in future. Sincerely, General Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I manged to book the wrong night at the Vagabond Inn in Bishop on our 3 week road trip so showed up a day early only to discover my mistake. Dixie in reception was fantastic, contacted Expedia and sorted it out quickly and efficiently. The room was large and well equipped, great for a stop over. Breakfast was served in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our Vagabond Inn while you were traveling through Bishop. We are glad that we could add a pleasant resting point for you along with great service and breakfast. Sincerely, General Manager More 

Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was just ok, not worth the nightly rate. Definitely needs updating, towels were a joke, noisy A/C. Morning breakfast was really nothing, just go to Denny's next door. Staff at front desk were very nice and friendly though. Bishop hotels are overpriced, wouldn't over night there again. One good place to eat in town (Whisky Creek is now closed)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Vagabond Inn as your business and for the review. We are extremely sorry for your unpleasant trip. We strive really hard to make and enjoyable and pleasant stay for all of our guest. We hope you will give us another opportunity to help you serve better in near future. Sincerely, General Manager More 

Acton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this motel in the past on a motorcycle trip and I would give it a 4.5. However, on my latest trip in July 2015, I was travelling with my wife who has a broken hip and uses a walker to get around. We were able to secure a downstairs room but noticed there were no handicapped... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for Choosing Vagabond Inn as your partner hotel and for the excellent review. We are extremely sorry to know that your stay was not as pleasure-able as you had hoped it to be. As you might have noticed that bigger portion of our property is under construction due to which the ramp and handicap room was... More 

Portstewart, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although breakfast included it was quite limited. Staff nice with good recommendations for local restaurants. Good location for death valley and Yosemite National Park. Walking distance to town shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for Choosing Vagabond Inn as your partner hotel and for the review. We will share your comments with our staff to let them know that you were pleased with our team work. We hope to serve you again in near future. Sincerely, More 

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here for our first leg of a long family road trip. We weren't arriving until 1AM and the office attendant that greeted us was very friendly. The room was perfect for us, comfortable and the breakfast was just right. I would definitely stay again and recommend this chain of hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for Choosing Vagabond Inn as your partner hotel and for the review. Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy breakfast. We will share your comments with our staff to let them know that you were pleased with our team work. We hope to serve you again in near future. Sincerely, More 

Alta Loma, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have stayed at VI Bishop in years past, and every year it seems to be more & more run down. The location is great, close to restaurants, but the motel itself is disappointing. The pool has never been warm enough, and the tiles are generally dirty. On this trip our room had several problems including a bathroom door that... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your business and for the review. We are extremely sorry to hear that your stay was very unpleasant. We hope to serve you again in near future with much more better effort to make an enjoyable stay for you, after our complete renovation of new construction along with other renovations in other rooms as well.... More 

Guangzhou
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good location and comfortable feeling,near the center of town,free parking,close by there is a Chinese restaurant,it is good for us,the reception is very kind and easy for check in.breakfast is good...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for Choosing Vagabond Inn as your partner hotel and for the review. Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy breakfast. We will share your comments with our staff to let them know that you were pleased with our team work. We hope to serve you again in near future. Sincerely, General Manager More 

Odenthal, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Summary, we could not find much sleep, but rooms were clean and breakfast was somehow OK. Unplanned early weak up before 6a.m. due to noise (talks and cars) in front of our room (ground floor). In addition we heard each step due to noisy floorborads in the room above us, late night and early morning, very squeaky and creaking noise.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear guest, We did sincerely like to thank you for choosing Vagabond inn as your stopover. Thank you for review and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you from our other guests and other noises. Sincerely, More 

Östersund
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

To rest on the road between Las Vegas and Curry Village so we chose to stay in Bishop. We had no idea that the city was beautifully situated, had a fantastic micro-brewery and a wonderful Vagabond Inn. A cannon which we gladly share with you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for Choosing Vagabond Inn as your partner hotel and for the excellent review. We are extremely please to know that your stay was very pleasureable was able to enjoy our beautiful city. Thank you once again and we hope to serve you better in near future again. Sincerely, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.4 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 21 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 21 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay