We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vagabond Inn Bishop

2.0 of 5 1030 N. Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    45
    16
    19
See reviews for
63
67
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

16th September we turned up to check in having booked with Expedia, checking our itinerary there was no indication that the hotel had suffered a bad fire at the end of August 2014. there were workmen gutting rooms, and a sign on the door sending us to Travelodge, who then sent us on to the Motel 6. I have yet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the fire, and the difficulty you had finding your relocation. Unfortunately, we were not able to make contact with a few of our reservations, such as yourself. We have re-opened almost half of our rooms, and plan to have the second half reopened by summer. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Arrived last night to find the Hotel had unfortunately been closed due to a fire. The Vagabond guys had arranged for all bookings to stay at theTravelodge in Bishop instead. No email notification the guys at Vagabond though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience that the fire caused you. We did attempt to contact all guests to the best of our ability, and we sincerely apologize that we were not able to reach you. Hopefully this did not impact your trip to much, and you were still able to enjoy a wonderful time in Bishop. More

San Diego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Basic, clean motel with a few extras. Breakfast was decent and simple. The pool was clean, as was the room for the most part. The bathroom had a few issues, and when I expressed my dissatisfaction, the manager was quick to take action. He also credited us back 25% of our payment for the night we spent there. A good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear that you were so pleased with the rooms and the staff. Our goal is to provide top quality service in hopes to give our guests the most outstanding stay possible. More

England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a reservation at the Vagabond Inn and arrived to find that the hotel had suffered a fire several days before. There was a kind lady on reception who greeted us and informed us that they had made replacement reservations for us at the local Travelodge. She remained professional and considerate despite being clearly upset over what has happened.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for your concern and especially your understanding while we dealt with this unfortunate circumstance. We have opened a portion of our property, and plan to open the second half before summer. More

Nevada City, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My family has stayed at the Vagabond Inn at Bishop so I was shocked and surprised to learn that during their recent fire neither the fire alarm or sprinklers were activated. My friends visiting from Brussels barely made it out alive during their "stay" at Vagabond Inn Bishop. At approx 8:30am the power went out. They checked the light switch,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Niral M, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear nevadacity, I am very sorry that you were in a section of the hotel where there was an unfortunate incident. Kindly email me at Niral@attunehospitality.com and I can certainly assist your family with their hospital bill and also their luggage that was lost in the fire. When the building was originally built, it did meet all the fire codes... More

Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Unfortunately, the Vagabond suffered severe damage on August 14, and a significant amount of the hotel was destroyed. Hopefully rebuilding will be able to start very soon, and the hotel will again be up and running.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niral M, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Inyogirl, We are equally devastated by the fire. We are currently working diligently with the city and the builders to get the hotel back up and running. We anticipate that about half of the hotel will be back in operations within a month. We anticipate that the other half of the hotel will be back in operations prior to... More

Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

It won't blow you away but I found the Vagabond to be a very nice place and definitely one of the better stays in Bishop. I would stay here again the next time I am in town. The room had a microwave and a decent sized mini-fridge (see pics). The decor was a little worn and dated but I'm not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We offer an array of amenities in an attempt to suit the needs of all our guests. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in town. More

Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Quoted three different rates on line. Called to check for correct rate and could not understand the person who answered the phone. Finally he quoted me yet another rate. Decided not to make a reservation there. Called comfort inn and got a rate 20 dollars cheaper for same accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We apologize for the confusion and conflicting rates. We always try to provide top quality service at the best rate possible. We hope that in the near future you will give us a chance to provide you with the same experience. More

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just needed somewhere to stay between Zion National Park and San Francisco: we wanted to stay somewhere close to Yosemite too. It was good for one night. The pool was enjoyable and the place is on the main drag, so close to food places. The TV in the room is a bit old, but whatever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping at our Vagabond Inn. We're glad you enjoyed the pool and that our location was convenient for you. Please come back again soon. More

Brea, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

When we come up to bishop several times a year to go fishing we are greatly satisfied with the clean rooms and friendly hospitality. Always very helpful with our questions about the area. In walking distance to several eateries. We don't stay anywhere else when we visit Bishop/ Mammoth. Sincerely- T. & G. Reid

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We are extrememly happy that you have such a wonderful time when you stay with us. Our goal is to provide a relaxing, welcoming environment for all travelers. We thank you for choosing our Vagabond Inn and cannot wait to see you again soon! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Vagabond Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Address: 1030 N. Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay