We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vagabond Inn Bishop

2.0 of 5 1030 N. Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    84
    47
    16
    20
See reviews for
65
69
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (204)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Fallon, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When we visit family further south, Bishop is our "half-way" stop over and we choose the Vagabond Inn as our home away from home. Everyone is so friendly and do their very best to accommodate us "oldie but goodies"! The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean, the price is right and the popcorn is pretty good, too. It is a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We are honored to be your "home away from home". We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our property and your past experiences. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My first time in Bishop i stayed at the Vagabond with my dad. I had a really great time in the mountains and the hotel was perfect for our weekend trip. It has a laid back feeling to it and in the same parking lot as denny's. Its the only hotel I've ever stayed at in Bishop. If the fair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate you taking your time to leave such a wonderful review. Our surrounding area has much to offer and we are pleased to have added to your amazing experience in Bishop. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Good basic motel for a night on the road. Very clean and comfortable beds. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. Great price and value for money. Good place to stay on the way to Mammoth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you were comfortable during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are traveling to Mammoth Lakes. More 

Fernley, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We were passing through Bishop and decided to stay an extra night so we could visit the nearby Laws Railroad Museum. This was a shoulder period for the hotel (which is undergoing repairs/renovations on the rear portion). The people there couldn't have been nicer. The room is clean, comfortable, and servicable. Having a microwave oven and refrigerator is a real... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are vary happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in Bishop and your visit to the Laws Railroad Museum. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Orange County, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Describe the service you experienced-good service, very friendly Tell us how you liked the room-no complaints, could use updated tv's. Talk about the location & amenities-average, no complaints Say what you liked best & least-best was good wifi/least-noisy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We are glad you felt you received the quality service that we aim to provide. We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future, and perhaps we may provide you with a room in a more quiet area. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Staff said the price advertized on the TripAdvisor Was not available and it does not matter to them. I would not believe it is right way to do business. They should have updated their price or they are not honor the tripadviser's ad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the discrepency in prices that you found. Rest assured that appropriate measures will be taken to ensure that this will not happen again. We hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you in the future. More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

16th September we turned up to check in having booked with Expedia, checking our itinerary there was no indication that the hotel had suffered a bad fire at the end of August 2014. there were workmen gutting rooms, and a sign on the door sending us to Travelodge, who then sent us on to the Motel 6. I have yet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the fire, and the difficulty you had finding your relocation. Unfortunately, we were not able to make contact with a few of our reservations, such as yourself. We have re-opened almost half of our rooms, and plan to have the second half reopened by summer. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Arrived last night to find the Hotel had unfortunately been closed due to a fire. The Vagabond guys had arranged for all bookings to stay at theTravelodge in Bishop instead. No email notification the guys at Vagabond though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience that the fire caused you. We did attempt to contact all guests to the best of our ability, and we sincerely apologize that we were not able to reach you. Hopefully this did not impact your trip to much, and you were still able to enjoy a wonderful time in Bishop. More 

San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Basic, clean motel with a few extras. Breakfast was decent and simple. The pool was clean, as was the room for the most part. The bathroom had a few issues, and when I expressed my dissatisfaction, the manager was quick to take action. He also credited us back 25% of our payment for the night we spent there. A good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear that you were so pleased with the rooms and the staff. Our goal is to provide top quality service in hopes to give our guests the most outstanding stay possible. More 

England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a reservation at the Vagabond Inn and arrived to find that the hotel had suffered a fire several days before. There was a kind lady on reception who greeted us and informed us that they had made replacement reservations for us at the local Travelodge. She remained professional and considerate despite being clearly upset over what has happened.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for your concern and especially your understanding while we dealt with this unfortunate circumstance. We have opened a portion of our property, and plan to open the second half before summer. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Vagabond Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Address: 1030 N. Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay