We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Bishop

Hotel website
Hotel deals
636 North Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2426
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Astoria, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at hundreds of HIEs. This HIE is one of the worst. First impression was a front-desk staffer who ignored us when we arrived to check-in while she answered telephone calls. In general, during our 2-day, stay the front desk staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. Room carpet was badly worn and stained. Lower bed sheet was stained. Internet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leon J
Trese M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review

As an IHG Gold Elite Rewards Club Member, we truly value your feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst driving up to Lake Tahoe, the lady at reception was lovely and friendly and recommended lots of things to do and places to eat in bishop (mountain rambler brewery was amazing) and up at Lake Tahoe. The room was clean and spacious and although we had to walk to the back of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandyl07
Jackson, Alabama
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

Well, this has to be the worst designed HIE I've ever visited. The hotel is long and narrow; the elevator is on the opposite end to where you bring in luggage. Staff was indifferent. I will skip this travesty and look elsewhere if passing this way again.

Helpful?
Thank RoadGhost
Trese M, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. More 

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express and this one was by far the worst. We normally stay at the Creekside Inn but they were booked this time so we chose what we thought was the next best thing, right? Wrong. When we booked weeks in advance, we booked 2 rooms with a government discount (my daughter whose family... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sgtgbacon
Trese M, front desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. More 

LA CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel in the past but I won't be back. Our latest experience was awful. The staff seemed bothered to check us in 15 minutes before posted check in time. (3pm) We had reserved 3 rooms and not one of them was decent. Dirty carpets, broken down furniture, and a broken bathroom fan greeted us. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travel4funLaCa
Trese M, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. More 

Canton, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

The elevator is at the rear of the hotel instead of the center of hotel. The breakfast wasn't as nice as other Holiday Inn Express', the yogurt was in their original cases and you had to tear it open for the yogurt.

Helpful?
Thank Donna B
Trese M, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. More 

Goleta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

This was the last night of our five day trip. What a disappointment. First of all the elevator is located at the far end of the building, a mile away from the lobby... Everyone we spoke with couldn't believe how odd that was. The hotel needs a major make over. The plaster in the pool and hot tub is very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowsubmawing
Trese M, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay. We are in the process of planning a full hotel remodel to be completed this winter season. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. More 

Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

The room rate was very high. I felt we were totally taken advantage of because of late reservation and demand. Room itself was sparsely furnished, carpet grossly stained around the bathroom, a/c loud. Hot breakfast was not hot. Not enough room in the breakfast area to serve and eat. We feel we got totally ripped off.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan K
Trese M, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, as we are in the process of planning a full... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

Selected because of brand as alternative to typical highway motel. Room was very disappointing and did not offer the value I expected from this chain. Room was dark and had some random odor. Shower did not operate properly, but it was too late to call maintenance. Guest laundry machines were out of order. Hotel staff was pleasant. Breakfast area and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchel O
Trese M, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. More 

Carson, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

I would go back in a pinch, clean rooms, and staff friendly,only one elevator and it is at only one end of the 2 story building, so if you get a room on the wrong end of the building you will be in for a walk..Breakfast was was cold and did not taste good, went to McDonald's next door..

Helpful?
1 Thank MARK H
Trese M, Front desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at our hotel. We appreciate all comments in order to have the chance to improve. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast fell short of your expectations. That is not our usual standard of quality and I hope that you will stay with us again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#5 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#8 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay