We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Bishop hotels

Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Bishop to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
29%
Ranked #17 of 21 hotels in Bishop
  • Overview
  • Reviews (50)
  • Photos (9)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
8
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room smelled of cigarette smoke, even though cleaning was evident. A/C rattled, and rolled, but still could not get the temp. below 80 on our first night there. Outside temps were 100, what a treat! Carpet may have been cleaned during the Reagan administration. Occupants next to us smoked outside incessantly, stink permeated our room whenever we opened the door.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Older place, adequate for a night but lousy internet. Staff most helpful, but no internet. Discovered that lots of motels say they have internet but their systems are so cheap that saying they have internet is stretching the truth. Cheap systems produce disappointing results.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At first glance the motel was okay. Not the cheapest but certainly more reasonable than other places and you get what you pay for, right? The bed was comfy which is the most important factor. The bathroom appeared un-finished and had spots of mold growing here and there. But the hot water worked, it was strong and consistent, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that a maintenance issue detracted from your stay. That problem with the lock impacted only one room, was due to a broken mechanism and has been fixed. I’m pleased that it did not cause you any issues. Thanks for noticing that we provide comfortable beds and a great value. I hope you... More

Garden Grove, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived on June 9th. We left on Wed at 6:15am to go fishing. When we got back to the room at 2:30 pm they were fixing the bathtub with a smelly epoxy. They said that the smell would go away in 4 hours. It was hot in Bishop on this day. Temp was 90+. We wanted to rest but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that an emergency repair was necessary during your stay, but I’m pleased we could fix it so quickly. Epoxy can cause a smell for several hours, and I’m also pleased that we were able to completely resolve the issue for you by moving you to another room, solving the problem. It’s great... More

Medford, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here on the way throught. Homey rooms, with frilly curtain type touches. Clerk was helpful, and the bed was excellent. Good amenities in the room, and it was clean. Good value for the price, and I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auburn, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I needed to review this dive in the hope you won't have to experience this horrible place.Beyond noisy; a/c loud, floors squeak, heard all voices in accompanying rooms. Old beds and linens, poor cable t.v./ WiFi. Truly no value!

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. I’m sorry that we failed to exceed your expectations. Most guests are completely satisfied, but we use all comments in our continual improvement efforts. I again apologize that we did not meet your requirements and hope you will give us another chance when you’re in the area again. Sincerely, Hotel... More

Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

After road tripping California for two weeks this was a lousy way to end the trip. No hot water & no AC. Owner offered a $10 discount on the room after we already took cold showers. She would not refund money and offered us a different room. We've stayed at several America's Best Value Inn's before but this franchisee clearly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that there was a maintenance issue with your room, and I’m pleased to hear that we were able to resolve this for you by moving you to another room, meaning that no refund was necessary and you were able to complete your stay. The discount was by way of an apology for... More

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Undergoing upgrading construction at present of an older motel. Notwithstanding that we spent three quiet, restful weekend nights here. Yes, it did show its wear, but will be upgraded soon. Manager and wife were very helpful. Quiet, off the main street location but yet close enough to walk to restaurants. We look for secure, quiet, clean and reasonably priced rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. We are indeed making changes to the property to make it an even nicer experience for guests like you. I’m glad you were satisfied with our great location and clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. That experience will only improve as we complete our renovations. Thanks again for staying with us, and I’m sorry you... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The room is a good size with a little kitchenette and an ensuite shower. The building is quite old and the towels were off White with age and wear. Definitely need replacing. The breakfast was quite good including corn flakes with milk, crunchy red apples, fresh muffins, and orange juice. The breakfast is placed in the very small office so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
culver city
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is obviously a economic choice, a motor lodge sort of motel for the value-minded customer. It was the cheapest room I could find in Bishop, and I knew we were only going to be there long enough to sleep and get back on the road, so I took the chance. The owner called me while I was on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Address: 192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bishop 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in beautiful downtown Bishop, California. Bishop is known as the "Mule Capital of the World" and hosts a week-long festival called "Mule Days" that has been held annually since 1969 during the week of Memorial Day, celebrating the contributions of pack mules in the area. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer