We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gwahumbe Game & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
D368 Road, Mid Illovo 3750, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwahumbe Game & Spa
Professional photos View all
Gwahumbe Game & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    19
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

So close to the city, yet so far away from the world. This place feels like being in the middle of nowhere and if you go during the week in low season, like we did, you feel like the place is totally yours. Perfect for a relax couple of days with your partner, and the perfect combination of a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff were friendly and accommodating and the service was exemplary. So glad we chose here for a morning of pampering at their Spa. Will definitely spread the word and plan another trip here when back in South Africa.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you chose Gwahumbe for your day and look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Amanzimtoti
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always an amazing visit - very special. We will back time and time again. Food was great as always. The SPA experience was amazing and the staff were excellent. Rooms very comfortable. This is about our 10th visit and we will keep going back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you the Zulbergs for taking the time to write your great review. We are thrilled that you once again enjoyed your visit. We can't wait to welcome you back for your 11th visit! More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All crew returned happy and full of positive emotions. Good peoples arranged a tour. Beautiful nature and landscapes. We had two trips with two teams. A second team was lucky to see more wild animals. One remarks to staff: please repair 4x4. Crew was happy, but got tired pushing a car that got technical problems. But... another adventure 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad your team enjoyed themselves. We do apologise for the Landcruiser trouble but would like to assure you that both vehicles are fully operational again and ready for game drives! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have known and been going Gwahumbe for a number of years and it is a very special place for me and my family. This is one of the most beautiful places you can go to and with a true Africa feel. Amazing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kat, Thank you for your wonderful review. The Karlsen family is very special to Gwahumbe and we love welcoming you back. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

What a wonderful weekend spent with old friends for our 25th school reunion. The unit we stayed in had the most incredible view of the Mid Illovo sugar cane hills with wild life passing under our balcony. Not a great time of year for the splash pool but a definite goodie for summer. When judging accommodation I always find the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you Kim. We had fun hosting the Epworth reunion and look forward to seeing you back with your family. More 

Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Gwahumbe is an absolutely awesome place to go for a break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We were welcomed by the friendliest staff, which went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the lovely rooms with their gorgeous views, the intimate dinner and breakfast they provided for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and do look forward to welcoming you back to Gwahumbe. More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We recently spent the weekend in Riverbend Cottage at Gwahumbe. We were blown away by the magnificent views from our gorgeous accommodation. We enjoyed lovely treatments at the spa and a fun game drive. Can't wait to go back to make use of the rim flow pool and the stunning picnic spots around the reserve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for booking for our Father's Day lunch. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gwahumbe. More 

Kloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

I am extremely disappointed with the useless service I have received from Gwahumbe. I went onto their website to make a booking for a weekend away. Sent through a booking request, and heard nothing. I then redid the booking request twice. Still I got no response. After waiting a few days I called. I got no apologies for the lack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear about your negative experience trying to make a booking and are very grateful that you have brought this to our attention. Please see your email inbox. More 

Kloof, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We stumbled upon Gwahumbe whilst searching the net for things to do. Upon arriving the staff were so pleasant. They asked our names and showed us to the bar for a drink that we took outside awaiting the lunch. The lunch was great! We were then asked if we wanted a game drive so we agreed. Neil was superb! As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us this past Sunday. We are delighted that you had such a great day. We can highly recommend the Ranger Camp and are sure that you son will have a super time. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay