We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Mid Illovo accommodations

Gwahumbe Game & Spa

4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   D368 Road, Mid Illovo 3750, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Gwahumbe Game & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gwahumbe Game & Spa to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
robbieh545 Durban, South Africa
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff really went the extra mile to do small things to make the stay memorable. The adventure picnic was amazing!! .................

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing Gwahumbe Game & Spa to celebrate this occasion. Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This gem is tucked away so close to home yet when you are there you feel miles away. Bernice and her team were amazing hosts. Our Adventure Picnic was awesome. I would definitely recommend it. We will certainly be back. P.S: They have the best rusks in KZN :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Gwahumbe. Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to hosting you in the near future and yes the rusks are a sought after item.... PS you can buy bags from the front office to enjoy at home.... More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were told that there was a new years eve dinner but no attempt was made to make it any different from a normal evening meal. We were disappointed as were many of the other guests. We did not think it was value for money and will not return again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centurion, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful location!!. My husband enjoyed the 4x4 adventures. Very clean and neat self catering accomodation. Enjoyed it very much! Staff very friendly and efficient! Excellent stop-over when going to the South Coast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed Gwahumbe as a stop over and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Amanzimtoti, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always thoroughly enjoy visiting Gwahumbe, but unfortunately were let down with our stay in the following areas. The campsite that we booked as advertised on their website had a certain amount of inclusions. The fridge that we were relying on to keep our perishables in, apparently broke a few days prior to us arriving. When you arrive after paying... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We did have a problem with the fridge but this should not have affected the water in any way. You most definitely should have been informed about the fridge. We are really sorry that your visit did not stand up to your normal positive experience and we would like to... More 

KZN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of us went there for Christmas dinner. It was unfortunately very hot, which I guess the venue had no control over. The food was good but unfortunately they ran out of a number of dishes they were serving. Lamb ran out quite early and I asked for some & was told they would get it but they never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We agree that there is no excuse for running out of food although it appears that our 90 odd Christmas lunch guests so enjoyed the spread that they couldn't resist coming back for seconds and thirds which resulted in consumption being considerably more than our usual benchmarks. Our policy is certainly... More 

Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

What an incredible experience and sincere thanks to Donovan,Bernice, Daniel, Inkford, and all the staff who work as a team to make an event so special. Because of the uncertain weather we set up 2areas for our ceremony and nothing was too much trouble. Each time you turned around, one of them was there to assist. The accomodation is clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We loved hosting your wedding. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Great location, friendly and accommodating people. It was great to be able to drive around freely and enjoy the outdoors at our own leisure. The unit we stayed in was great, with fantastic views. The staff was very flexible and helpful with all our queries

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Emile S, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Gwahumbe and look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I was blown away by the helpfulness of the staff and how they went above and beyond to accommodate us! The spa was heavenly and the therapists were friendly. The reserve was a beautiful drive and the ranger had a great knowledge of the area and animals. Can't wait to go back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gwahumbe. More 

South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary and were so happy we chose Gwahumbe Game Lodge & Spa. We only spent a night there (21 November 2014), but wish it could've been longer. The food was AMAZING - from the crumbed halloumi starter with sweet chilli sauce for dinner to the creamy mushrooms at breakfast. Inkford, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Gwahumbe, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gwahumbe. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gwahumbe Game & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwahumbe Game & Spa

Address: D368 Road, Mid Illovo 3750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mid Illovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwahumbe Game & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Gwahumbe Game & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Gwahumbe Game & Spa

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby