We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gwahumbe Game & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
D368 Road, Mid Illovo 3750, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gwahumbe Game & Spa
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ixopo
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Poor service ,the menu is extremely short , it was the same food I had last time I visited , I had to get up and get our own drinks , while the waiter stood there and watched me , we had been given a meal voucher for lunch and dinner , I was so disappointed by the service I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Garth T
Westville, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our relaxing stay. It was peaceful and tranquil. Fresh food from the garden was great! Spa was very nice and we thoroughly enjoyed the game drive. The staff were very friendly! We really enjoyed it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shelley_fourie
Manager_Gwahumbe, General Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Shelly Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Gwahumbe Game & Spa. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return Regards Derek More 

Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We travelled early in the morning to arrive in time for our Game drive at 7.30am...We were warmly welcomed by the Staff and offered refreshments. We had decided on the early morning viewing due to the heat of the day and we had arranged for a breakfast on our return after the game viewing. We had a wonderful drive and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank georgebez48
Manager_Gwahumbe, General Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear George I am thrilled to hear you and your American guests enjoy the time at Gwahumbe Game and Spa. Thank you for the compliments which I shall pass onto the Team. We look forward welcoming you back with more guests in the near future Regards Derek GM More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

My partner and mom were booked in for spa packages at Gwahumbe. They both came back raving about the experience. They thoroughly enjoyed it and were rejuvenated afterwards. However, they did feel a bit let by the restaurant and felt the menu was too limited.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hlengiwe N
Manager_Gwahumbe, General Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hlengiwe Thank you taking the time in reviewing Gwahumbe Game and Spa. I am thrilled they enjoyed their time with us. Thank you for the constructive feedback, we are currently re-doing our menus to add a greater variety. Regards Derek GM More 

Illovo Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Brilliant facilities, good food and an abundance of nature go hand in hand with extremely friendly and efficient staff to make this breakaway ideal for any tired soul. I can recommend this to anybody looking for a weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle or city life.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heleen E
Manager_Gwahumbe, General Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Heleen, it was pleasure having you join us at Gwahumbe Game and Spa. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back Regards Derek More 

Pietermaritzburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Gwahumbe ensured that everyone there enjoyed their Christmas Lunch even though the weather was miserable. Your staff went the extra mile - atmosphere and food was great. We arrived just before at 13:00 as we had to wait for a 2 year old to wake up...maybe we should have been advised the starting time of lunch when we booked so... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suecA3376WN
Manager_Gwahumbe, General Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sue, thank you for the review, I am please you enjoyed your Christmas Lunch with us and shall pass your compliments onto the Team. We look forward to your return in the near future More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

So we ducked off for a one night getaway. Was amazing. Four hours of spa treatment is one definite way to relax. Rooms are awesome well decorated. Only down fall is the room I was in there was no aircon or fan. Could have done with some air movement. My wife's food was a bit of a bloody mess. Ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry C
Manager_Gwahumbe, General Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Barry, thank you taking the time in forwarding your most valid comments. They have been addressed and corrective measures put in place I look forward to welcoming you back to Gwahumbe Game and Spa Regards Derek More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

My sisters and myself had a wonderful time at the lodge.The service was great and the whole lodge was spectacular. We had the greatest experience ever and we learnt alot also whilst on the game drive. Thank you for the great experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank silindiled2015
Manager_Gwahumbe, General Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are thrilled that you and your sisters had such a memorable time at Gwahumbe Game & Spa We look forward to your return in the near future Regards Derek Grose General Manager More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Air con in the room would be nice. Getting a king or queen size bed as opposed to single beds put together would be lovely. Improvements in room security would go a long way. Perhaps key cards would be a great option.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank glitz_justin
Manager_Gwahumbe, General Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Justin, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Gwahumbe Game & Spa Your valid comments are appreciated and will be considered. We look forward to your return Regards Derek GM More 

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

The staff at Gwahumbe went over and beyond to make our wedding anniversary special. The food was delicious, the room was so beautiful, we were able to see giraffe from our balcony. The spa treatments were so relaxing. We were lucky enough to go on a game drive with our ranger who was so informative about all the wildlife we... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kerryannstander
Manager_Gwahumbe, General Manager at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kerry Good morning, I trust this finds you well Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Gwahumbe Game & Spa We are delighted you enjoyed stay and experience with us All the best for the years ahead and we look forward to your return Regards Derek General Manger More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mid Illovo
0.0 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
iNsingizi Lodge
iNsingizi Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mid Illovo
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rain Farm Game and Lodge
0.0 mi away
Thanda Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay