We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Eungella hotels

Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Eungella Dam Rd., Eungella, Queensland, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella to your Saves list
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
91%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Eungella
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014
AdnilAustinmer Austinmer
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    51
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austinmer
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had a little cabin that was immaculately clean. Saw platypus and went on terrific bushwalks. Also dined at the restaurant which was excellent. Would certainly recommend to others. Temperature was around 10 degrees cooler than in Mackay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I will pass on your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms. Our cleaners take great pride in their rooms. It is great to get away from the heat of the coast sometimes and find a cooler spot. Glad you liked it. More

Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have just experienced a wonderful week away at Broken River Resort. This is the second visit since we have moved to Airlie Beach and would highly recommend it as a relaxing or active place for all share. Dennis and Judy along his staff are more than pleasant and great fun to be with. The chef and his wife (Thomas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

You must be passing the good word around. We have had a flush of visitors from Airlie Beach. Thank you. More

Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a wonderful night here- saw platypus in the river at dusk, and had two of the best meals we've enjoyed at any restaurant in Queensland (dinner and breakfast)- fresh, and cooked with such obvious care and passion for flavour. Congratulations to the new couple in the kitchen, and thanks for the fantastic overall service and welcome. We'll be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Look forward to seeing you when you come back with friends. Just perfect here at the moment. It always makes my day when I see platypus also and so easy to see here. More

Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

A wonderful weekend away. Spent the night at the resort and enjoyed a super delicious meal prepared by the new chef. The best Barramundi I have ever eaten, thank you. Accommodation was very comfortable and clean. Judy at reception was informative and friendly and the lovely lady in the bar and on table service was delightful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay. The food is good isn't it. Hope to see you again soon. More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here at a thursday night, so we were lucky that we could both do the guided nightwalk and the morning birdwalk. Both were free of charge to join! We were the only guests, so both walks it was just us and Myles, the guide. It was incredible how much he knows about the wildlife and nature here. Very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the guided tours. Myles is very passionate about the wildlife isn't he? Glad you had a good time. More

Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The wildlife here is amazing and the best chance of seeing Platypus in the wild. We saw them in the afternoon and the morning! Surrounded by rainforest the resort is simple but sparkly clean. The resort receptionist who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We stayed here on Boxing day and our meal at the restaurant was meant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your restaurant experience. The restaurant is leased and we will be having a new chef arriving mid January. I wish you had spoken up whilst you were still here so that I could have dealt with the problem at the time. The only excuse I can offer is that both chef... More

Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Broken River Mountain Resort lies at the Eungella Nationalpark. We stayed in the platypus lodge for two nights in november 2013. On both days, we went to the playtypus viewing platform and saw three of those shy creatures just a few metres away. Our room had an ensuite bathroom and a small kitchen, equipped with toaster, kettle and all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

We might have taken you early on the shuttle as you were the only ones but we usually do our shuttles at 1000 & 1030 each day. Did you manage to take in any of the complementary guided tours? Great that you were able to see so many platypuses. Guests are seeing them all day at the moment which is... More

hogla
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

maybe most of the people come for platypus's watching and they indeed doing that.but to my humble opinon that is also the right place to take a rest and to clean your head in a place "full of nature".it not only the stroll in the forest,it's also to sit with a coffee and look and hear the birds and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I will pass on your comments to the staff. We all love it when someone really enjoys their stay and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Australia. More

Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Wonderful chalet style lodge at the edge of the Eungella National Park. Far easier to get to from McKay than the driving instructions and maps suggested. Our cabin was basic but functional although the shower/toilet room was small and narrow. The lodge is very cosy and the restaurant offers a limited but very tasty menu. The meals have to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I agree it is worth getting off the beaten track. It is amazing how many Australians have not seen a platypus in the wild and overseas visitors come and see them so easily here that they don't realise how special it is. Still makes my day when I see one even after all these years. More

Newcastle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely cabin in such a peaceful location, walks through forest were beautiful and with added bonus of seeing platypus early evening. Staff very friendly only minor disappointment was evening meal was a little bland and disappointing given the cost of it, although feeding possums was a great experience. Breakfast good though

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm sorry your evening meal did not come up to your expectations but it seems like you enjoyed your breakfast. I'm pleased you had a relaxed time and the staff were friendly. It is nice to top off the experience with platypus sightings. More

Been to Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Also Known As:
Broken River Mountain Hotel
Address: Eungella Dam Rd., Eungella, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Eungella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Eungella
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.