We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Eungella hotels

Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Eungella Dam Rd., Eungella, Queensland, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella to your Saves list
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
88%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Eungella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
  • Overview
  • Reviews (112)
  • Photos (61)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    53
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
51
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In the middle of a national park, it is an oasis of civilisation by the Broken River but not far (5kms) from the nearest town of Eungella, where other accommodation options exist. The cabins with a fire place are outrageously priced and the cabins without a fire place are cold in winter unless you immediately find (they are hidden away... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm sorry you found our prices excessive - the main meal in question at $35 is a Filet Mignon, and other mains range from $26-$32.We do Towel changes or Midweek cleans every three days. Enjoying the wildlife is quite often dependent on the number of people around and sometimes the Complementary Night Spotlighting Tours don't provide a full range of... More

Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is very unique. It's located right in the middle of all the nice nature in the area, and you can view the local platypus from just around the corner. The room was clean and the bathroom especially was very nice. The hotel arranged 2 tours while we were there, and we enjoyed both of them, although it did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry you didn't enjoy the Spotlighting Tour. Sometimes the children get a little excited and noisy which can tend to frighten the night creatures. More

Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not only one of the most beautiful places I saw so far, it has also one of the most friendly staff we met during our Australia Trip. We had a nice little cabin room with a small fire place. The room was simple but very very nice. We were offered by the hotel a gratis spotlight tour in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - look forward to seeing you next time you visit. More

Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

It has been an amazing 24h at Eungella NP and Broken River Mountain Resort! Our Cabin was very comfortable and practical (with toilet, shower, sort-of-kitchenet, fridge, TV, nice views to the garden...), the staff was very nice, dinner and breakfast at the restaurant absolutely DELICIOUS!! and the surroundings are amazing!! Cloud forest, platypus, turtles, and great for bird watching! A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

We look forward to welcoming you back. Several of the migrating birds are on there way through at the moment, as the seasons change so does the bird life. More

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for a few nights at this place and enjoyed the location, near the National Park, River and Platypus viewing, as well as making use of the complimentary birdwatching trip in the morning, nightspotting tour and transportation to the walking trecks, which was really nice. The nature guide Miles was very knowledgeble and friendly. The accomodation itself, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have spent a lot of time in Eungella but never ventured into the resort until last weekend. We really loved our stay, the room was clean and cozy and the fire place was a treat. Chris & Jenny were really accommodating - they dropped us back to our car after a one way hike and the managed to squeeze... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

So pleased you liked your stay. It was our pleasure to look after you and was no trouble to give you a lift back to your car. Glad we could squeeze you into dinner it was a very busy night wasn't it? Look forward to seeing you again. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in the Cedar Lodge which was very clean and well equipped (even had a wood fireplace fully stocked with logs and matches). The location is picturesque in the mountains of Eungella National Park and upon arrival we were given directions by the friendly staff on hiking trails and the best places to spot a Platypus. The Platypus viewing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

So glad you liked our place. When you see the platypus so easily here you can forget how special it is to see them. I would say most Australians have not seen a platypus in the wild. We are amongst the lucky ones. More

Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

There was only one negative thing (Service in the restaurant) about it and they excused for that! Food in the restaurant was good. Staff in the lodge was friendly and helpful. It was easy to get a ride to the start of our walk through the forest, which was really nice. And we saw heaps of platypus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

There have been so many platypus around this year and the walks are just lovely. The forest has recovered well after the cyclones of recent years. I am sorry you were disappointed with the service in the restaurant and from your comments it looks as if it was dealt with at the time. The food is excellent isn't it? More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nothing special in this place other than just another motel type self-contained accommodation. Could not notice any eco friendly features, though promoted as an eco lodge. Paid a premium price for a river-view cottage. But the river was about 20 meters from the cottage and 3-4 meters below the ground level so virtually there were no river-views. Food was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this review

I have written a response to this before but it has not been published. I am sorry that we did not come up to your expectations. Our cabins are as near to the river as allowed and yes the vegetation has grown up which obscures the view but that is national park land. It is lovely and handy for platypus... More

Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed with my daughter for three night in March. Rained the whole time we were there but that didn't matter at all. It was just so nice to relax. My daughter had hoped to do some bush walking but just too wet (guess we will have to go again). We stayed in a one bedroom chalet and it was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella

Address: Eungella Dam Rd., Eungella, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Eungella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken River Mountain Hotel

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer