We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3318 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #40 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015
Margaret G San Dimas
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
9
1
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
San Dimas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I liked the hotel overall but there are some things that they could be better at. The towels were like sandpaper and some smelled. The chairs had stains on them and the table leg needed to be fixed. The bed was too firm for my liking but my friend did not mind the firmness of his. They have a grab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Margaret - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The towel issue you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I will make every effort to assure the towels are washed and dried in the correct settings. The towels may have been over-dried, causing them to feel rough. I appreciate you... More 

Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I usually stay here once a month on business. As time has gone by, there has been a noticeable decline in not only the condition of the rooms, but the hotel overall. It's not unusual to find either a broken recliner, a TV on the verge of going out, or something not working. One thing I liked about the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the condition of your room. I will be meeting with our maintenance staff to address any outstanding maintenance issues to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. As well, I am sorry to hear that you were... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

beirut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Was planning to stay for 2 month, first we booked on a price, on my arrival i updated for a better room they made me pay additional $55 per week . Ok for that, but every night i used to come to the hotel, the keys didn't work, after 2 days when i asked the reason they said have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Seattle
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 days. Easy access to the freeway and some restaurants with in walking distance. For basic needs this is a good hotel. Found it very clean and staff was very helpful. Located in the middle of Bakersfield. COSTCO and other shops are very close. If looking for a low cost, clean hotel I recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so pleased to have provided you with a clean room and helpful service. Thank you again for your kind words. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again soon. More 

San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Terrible. Dirty stairwells, hoodlums roaming around. And if you are lucky enough to get a room next to the train tracks then you can count on getting NO SLEEP. The bed would literally shake. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Karen - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience and that the stairwells were not to standard. Please accept our apologies. We will work with our staff to make sure our common areas are cleaned to our standards at all times. Thank you again for... More 

Bay Point, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hector at the front desk was extremely helpful and courteous. Five stars to him. However the printer was broken and couldn't print out a receipt for me. He did offer to e-mail one. The sink in the bathroom was missing the drain cover. The remote control was sticky! Yeow! And the towels were like sandpaper! OUCH!! The stairwell was extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so disappointed that you did not enjoy your accommodations at our hotel. Please accept my apology. In response to your feedback, I am making sure all issue in your room and outside of the location are addressed. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate your... More 

Medford, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. However, we had after the first week bedbugs in our room. They did take care of it, but I still had to wash all the clothes and transfer to another room by myself. They did pay for the laundry. Took me half a day to do all this. I was expecting a little more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are glad to hear that our staff provided you with superior service and that you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens; however, we are very sorry that you had to change rooms. Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have checked all of our beds to... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Dirtiest place I've ever stayed! This is the type of fleabag hotel you see in the movies. Dog hair everywhere! Dog food all over the floor. Dirty panties stuffed in the chair! You bet I'm getting my money back on this stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory conditions you experienced in your room. To make sure this doesn't happen again, we will be retraining our housekeeping staff and ensuring every room is cleaned to our standards. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you would like... More 

Perris, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

When we walked in I noticed the rooms to be very dirty. Remote control was sticky ( don't even want to know why) and the beds were very hard. The freeway was very loud from my room. It was right out our door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Trying to save a little money and have a place that has a kitchen, might have been better off at a similar cost (or cheaper) hotel without the kitchen. The staff was very friendly (to me). The room smelled lightly of cigarette smoke, the bed linen did not, thankfully. Because I grew up with smokers it did not bother me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities