We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3318 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #45 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015
Tina C Sacramento, California
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    4
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
14
2
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are originally from Bakersfield but have recently moved to the South Lake Tahoe area and came down to visit family .... Because we know most hotels in bako suck and we had never been to an extended stay it look decent and we were planning a three day stay we decided to give it a try. I have traveled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros: room was fresh - appliances, internet ... etc worked Cons: one of the had comforter that had stains and it was dried. They made me carry the utensils basket from Office to my room and wanted me to return the empty basket in two hours or so - (I was told if I did not return I will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am happy to hear that the room was fresh, had appliances and internet that worked. I sincerely apologize that one of the comforters had dried stains on it, that you had to carry the cooking utensil basket to your room, were asked to return it or be billed for the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Los Banos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came to Bakersfield for a graduation on June 9, 2015. I booked three rooms so that we could all be together. (And let me preface this by saying that we did not get there late and the hotel was not full whatsoever.) At first, all the rooms were spread out, but after I complained, they were finally able to put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that your 3 rooms were not together, that your room was hot, even with the a/c on, that the mattresses were uncomfortable and horrible. I apologize that the train noise disturbed you, and that we did not have a blow dryer for you to use. In... More 

Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

I booked a two night stay late but found that this hotel location was convenient and cheap....my mistake! Although the location was good the service was only average and the room was clean the management is apparently asleep! Upon checking in I remembered that I had not brought a hairdryer... most hotels furnish them... but I was told that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize for the service issues you experienced. In response to your feedback, I will be meeting with our staff to make sure guest requests are responded to in a timely manner. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

We were in town for a family reunion and we arrived to check in, front desk was little helpful..gave me directions to my room as if she was in a hurry ..had to look for it my self just to find that they had assigned me a smoking room. My husband is has asma so I asked to be moved...gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am working with our front desk and housekeeping staff to make sure that issues such as these do not happen again. I appreciate you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Confirmed Reservation was not available at check-in. Credit card system out of order. Computer system for check-in out order. After one hour of arguing in the hotel lobby we were finally given a smoking room (we booked a non-smoking room!) next to the highway. Our request for discount was refused. Because of memorial day weekend we had to stick with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. I am very sorry that you were placed in a smoking room and that you did not receive professional customer service. In response to your feedback, I am making every effort to make sure our staff... More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

It's an okay hotel and good enough for a short stay. Our beds were hard as a rock but the hotel itself is clean. We asked for a non-smoking room and got a smoking room. Service was friendly and there is coffee and muffins in the lobby in the mornings. Oh, and housekeeping only comes on Fridays, so don't expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that you were placed in a smoking room. Still, I'm glad that the cleanliness of your room met your expectations and that our staff provided you with friendly customer service. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again,... More 

San Dimas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I liked the hotel overall but there are some things that they could be better at. The towels were like sandpaper and some smelled. The chairs had stains on them and the table leg needed to be fixed. The bed was too firm for my liking but my friend did not mind the firmness of his. They have a grab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Margaret - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The towel issue you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I will make every effort to assure the towels are washed and dried in the correct settings. The towels may have been over-dried, causing them to feel rough. I appreciate you... More 

Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I usually stay here once a month on business. As time has gone by, there has been a noticeable decline in not only the condition of the rooms, but the hotel overall. It's not unusual to find either a broken recliner, a TV on the verge of going out, or something not working. One thing I liked about the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the condition of your room. I will be meeting with our maintenance staff to address any outstanding maintenance issues to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. As well, I am sorry to hear that you were... More 

beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Was planning to stay for 2 month, first we booked on a price, on my arrival i updated for a better room they made me pay additional $55 per week . Ok for that, but every night i used to come to the hotel, the keys didn't work, after 2 days when i asked the reason they said have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#13 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#30 of 59 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - Chester Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
#19 of 59 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
5.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#22 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#8 of 59 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay