We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3318 California Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Bakersfield
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015
Tina C Sacramento, California
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    4
    11
    11
    9
See reviews for
11
2
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Ensenada, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a two night stay late but found that this hotel location was convenient and cheap....my mistake! Although the location was good the service was only average and the room was clean the management is apparently asleep! Upon checking in I remembered that I had not brought a hairdryer... most hotels furnish them... but I was told that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were in town for a family reunion and we arrived to check in, front desk was little helpful..gave me directions to my room as if she was in a hurry ..had to look for it my self just to find that they had assigned me a smoking room. My husband is has asma so I asked to be moved...gave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Confirmed Reservation was not available at check-in. Credit card system out of order. Computer system for check-in out order. After one hour of arguing in the hotel lobby we were finally given a smoking room (we booked a non-smoking room!) next to the highway. Our request for discount was refused. Because of memorial day weekend we had to stick with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. I am very sorry that you were placed in a smoking room and that you did not receive professional customer service. In response to your feedback, I am making every effort to make sure our staff... More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

It's an okay hotel and good enough for a short stay. Our beds were hard as a rock but the hotel itself is clean. We asked for a non-smoking room and got a smoking room. Service was friendly and there is coffee and muffins in the lobby in the mornings. Oh, and housekeeping only comes on Fridays, so don't expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that you were placed in a smoking room. Still, I'm glad that the cleanliness of your room met your expectations and that our staff provided you with friendly customer service. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again,... More 

San Dimas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I liked the hotel overall but there are some things that they could be better at. The towels were like sandpaper and some smelled. The chairs had stains on them and the table leg needed to be fixed. The bed was too firm for my liking but my friend did not mind the firmness of his. They have a grab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Margaret - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The towel issue you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I will make every effort to assure the towels are washed and dried in the correct settings. The towels may have been over-dried, causing them to feel rough. I appreciate you... More 

Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I usually stay here once a month on business. As time has gone by, there has been a noticeable decline in not only the condition of the rooms, but the hotel overall. It's not unusual to find either a broken recliner, a TV on the verge of going out, or something not working. One thing I liked about the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the condition of your room. I will be meeting with our maintenance staff to address any outstanding maintenance issues to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. As well, I am sorry to hear that you were... More 

beirut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Was planning to stay for 2 month, first we booked on a price, on my arrival i updated for a better room they made me pay additional $55 per week . Ok for that, but every night i used to come to the hotel, the keys didn't work, after 2 days when i asked the reason they said have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Seattle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 days. Easy access to the freeway and some restaurants with in walking distance. For basic needs this is a good hotel. Found it very clean and staff was very helpful. Located in the middle of Bakersfield. COSTCO and other shops are very close. If looking for a low cost, clean hotel I recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so pleased to have provided you with a clean room and helpful service. Thank you again for your kind words. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again soon. More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Terrible. Dirty stairwells, hoodlums roaming around. And if you are lucky enough to get a room next to the train tracks then you can count on getting NO SLEEP. The bed would literally shake. Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Karen - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience and that the stairwells were not to standard. Please accept our apologies. We will work with our staff to make sure our common areas are cleaned to our standards at all times. Thank you again for... More 

Bay Point, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hector at the front desk was extremely helpful and courteous. Five stars to him. However the printer was broken and couldn't print out a receipt for me. He did offer to e-mail one. The sink in the bathroom was missing the drain cover. The remote control was sticky! Yeow! And the towels were like sandpaper! OUCH!! The stairwell was extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - California Avenue, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so disappointed that you did not enjoy your accommodations at our hotel. Please accept my apology. In response to your feedback, I am making sure all issue in your room and outside of the location are addressed. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay