We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 57 Bakersfield hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Truxton Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
75%
Ranked #13 of 57 hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
rincewindcymru Wrexham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (388)
  • Photos (85)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (53)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    139
    55
    23
    22
See reviews for
84
123
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (388)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival We were greeted warmly and during the check-in the formalities were dealt with while still keeping an lovely informal discussion going. The room was clean, quite large and had (nearly) everything you need. Kettle please! The bed was comfortable and breakfast (continental) was included with a good choice of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redding, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was passing through on a drive from Redding all the way to Phoenix and needed a place to crash for the night. I came in after a long drive and somehow my reservation wasn't booked so the lady at the front desk I believe her name is Desi gave me a lot of lip and was extremely rude, only reason... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tripresponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House, responded to this review

We do not have any employee name by Desi, I think this survey could be for another hotel. We are very sorry to hear this. G J Zala More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had a great stay here. The stay was very friendly and accommodating. We wanted to change rooms because we didn't like the one we were given and it was changed with no hassle by the girl at the front desk. She referred us to eat at the Mexican restaurant next door and it was awesome! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lemoore, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the price I expected a shabby place, but actually the hotel is very nice, renovated, comfy with spacious rooms, and the guest team members are friendly. They have patio/balcony areas too. Which was very nice to relax and chat. The pool is big and has chairs for guests. It stayed open late too. Which is nice with kids and... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good check in with no problems. Room was spacious for 4 people, and beds were comfortable. Very secure as you has to use access card to get into the interior corridors. Breakfast was included and it was good! Had a good variety of food and everything was hot. No complaints at this hotel at all. Would stay again, and probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here for 12 days. My truck brokedown and was in the shop. All of the staff here were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice, bed and pillows were very comfortable, it also had a micro/fridge combo which came in handy. Pool and workout room available. Breakfast every morning from 0600-0900. Everything from fruit,cereals,hot oatmeal,pastries,toast,muffins,eggs,sausage,waffles,juice,coffee and milk.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Hill House. The rooms were clean, large enough and quiet, as long as we did not turn on the loud air conditioning. The bathroom was a bit small, but with all amenities. We had a microwave and coffee maker in the room and enjoyed swimming in the pool after our long drive. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I was using their glitchy website to book online when I recieved an email showing my reservation for the wrong date. I immediately called this hotel and imformed them that their calendar widget was creating errors and that my reservation was wrong. They said it was too bad and they would not change or cancel my reservation that I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tripresponse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear this however we are not able to cancel or change the third party reservation. G J Zala More

REDLANDS, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stay here weekly for business and have always had a pleasant stay. Staff is very attentive. Hotel site is very well taken care of and picturesque. Rooms are taken care of. Location is excellent lots of services near hotel

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This property is two blocks from the Amtrak station in Bakersfield California and consists of several two floor buildings. No elevators and there is a large canal through the middle of the property. The buildings appear to be older and refurbished. The building that houses the office also houses a Mexican restaurant/bar, however the latter is not part of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House

Address: 700 Truxton Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bakersfield with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield #6 Business Hotel in Bakersfield #7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
97

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer