We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tigh nan Saor

39 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Tigh nan Saor
Rate this Hotel

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Port Angeles, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

My granddaughter and I spent three nights here while touring Skye. We shared a twin bed room with en suite bath up two flights of stairs facing the back yard. It was disappointing not to have a view of the bay of Loch Carron. Sparsely populated Plockton is a National Trust for Scottish Conservation village. With no place but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Angeles, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Stayed here two nights while on a Rabbie's tour. The place was very cozy. My grandma and I stayed in a twin room just up the stairs and to the left. The locks to the rooms were with old fashion turn keys, very noisy but I found them a lot of fun. Other people may not. It was odd that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corralitos, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

If you can be assured of getting one of the rooms facing the harbor and castle, stay here! The breakfast was tasty, we loved the homey dining/living room and communal table to have breakfast. If you request a twin room you will get the tiny room at the back with two uncomfortable twin beds and nowhere to put your bags... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We were dropped here from Rabbie's tour. The beds were not very comfortable, I could count the number of springs in the mattress. The rooms are not sound-proofed - when other guests were walking or opening their doors next to our room, it sounded as if they were opening my door. Luckily the other guests were very quiet. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

They are polite, but they don't mean it - Small rooms, only one stated breakfast time 8:30 - Many things not working or missing, breakfast is average, but nor more ! I personally did not feel comfortable there...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

This is right on the main road next to Plockton Inn, so fab location, but sadly our host was not very welcoming. Our room was neat, and once you opened door you had to go up internal steps inside the room, which was not ideal for one as used walking stick. The beds were rather hard, I had sore hips,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tigh39, Owner at Tigh nan Saor, responded to this review

I'm sorry that there was a problem with the shower. I thought we might have had a non-slip mat, but we didn't. I put in an extra cotton bath mat instead. Didn't do the job, you say. My apologies. I've ordered three non-slip mats, and am in touch with our local Occupational Therapy regarding grips. Camomile tea? When you asked... More 

perthshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Well? A clean, comfortable, spacious room, with a very comfortable bed and an excellent view. Clean shower with hot water a plenty. Good breakfast (although could have more options - no black pudding was a disappointment) All of the above ticked off. The hosts seem very nice, although they lack somewhat in social skills, so don't expect a full blown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The incredible, stunning view of the bay you get from rooms 1 and 2 is on worth the stay on itself. I didn't follow the advice of the owner to leave the curtains closed: I believe he's so used to the view he doesn't understand what a gift it is to wake up at 4.30 in the morning and look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

A great location with a view to die for in room 2. Comfy room although extremely noisy with paper thin walls. We could hear other showers flowing and voices from other rooms but I suppose you can expect this when the rooms back on to each other. The shower was terrible. I could not adjust the temperature and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room was great with wonderful view comfy bed and good breakfast. Very friendly people without being intrusive. A beautiful village with some great short walks wonderful eating houses and views galore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question