We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tigh nan Saor

39 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Tigh nan Saor
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for one night with my son. This B and B is conveniently located on the main street in Plockton. The room was well equipped, but the best feature was the stunning view across the harbour towards distant mountains. The owners were friendly and the full Scottish breakfast could not be faulted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights here and were made very welcome by the hosts. Nothing fancy, but nothing wrong or missing either. What is outstanding is the library! I could stay for a month and not get through all I'd be interested in. We enjoyed the local area - a nice quiet, pleasant coastal village - and a day trip to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

My granddaughter and I spent three nights here while touring Skye. We shared a twin bed room with en suite bath up two flights of stairs facing the back yard. It was disappointing not to have a view of the bay of Loch Carron. Sparsely populated Plockton is a National Trust for Scottish Conservation village. With no place but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Stayed here two nights while on a Rabbie's tour. The place was very cozy. My grandma and I stayed in a twin room just up the stairs and to the left. The locks to the rooms were with old fashion turn keys, very noisy but I found them a lot of fun. Other people may not. It was odd that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corralitos, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

If you can be assured of getting one of the rooms facing the harbor and castle, stay here! The breakfast was tasty, we loved the homey dining/living room and communal table to have breakfast. If you request a twin room you will get the tiny room at the back with two uncomfortable twin beds and nowhere to put your bags... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We were dropped here from Rabbie's tour. The beds were not very comfortable, I could count the number of springs in the mattress. The rooms are not sound-proofed - when other guests were walking or opening their doors next to our room, it sounded as if they were opening my door. Luckily the other guests were very quiet. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

They are polite, but they don't mean it - Small rooms, only one stated breakfast time 8:30 - Many things not working or missing, breakfast is average, but nor more ! I personally did not feel comfortable there...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

This is right on the main road next to Plockton Inn, so fab location, but sadly our host was not very welcoming. Our room was neat, and once you opened door you had to go up internal steps inside the room, which was not ideal for one as used walking stick. The beds were rather hard, I had sore hips,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tigh39, Owner at Tigh nan Saor, responded to this review

I'm sorry that there was a problem with the shower. I thought we might have had a non-slip mat, but we didn't. I put in an extra cotton bath mat instead. Didn't do the job, you say. My apologies. I've ordered three non-slip mats, and am in touch with our local Occupational Therapy regarding grips. Camomile tea? When you asked... More 

perthshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Well? A clean, comfortable, spacious room, with a very comfortable bed and an excellent view. Clean shower with hot water a plenty. Good breakfast (although could have more options - no black pudding was a disappointment) All of the above ticked off. The hosts seem very nice, although they lack somewhat in social skills, so don't expect a full blown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The incredible, stunning view of the bay you get from rooms 1 and 2 is on worth the stay on itself. I didn't follow the advice of the owner to leave the curtains closed: I believe he's so used to the view he doesn't understand what a gift it is to wake up at 4.30 in the morning and look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities