We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tigh nan Saor

39 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tigh nan Saor
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    27
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and I spent four nights at Tigh nan Saor as a base for Munro bagging in Glen Shiel. Our room was comfortable and had an excellent view of the bay. Breakfast was plentiful and set us up for the day ahead of us. Plockton is a unique place and I look forward to returning again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milngavie
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice B&B just to the right of Plockton Hotel and we had a nice room with good view for two nights looking over the prom and bay. The proprietors were friendly and supplied nicely cooked breakfasts in the morning and it was sensibly priced. The room was large and airy, clean comfortable. We moved on to Scalpay View B&B in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Stayed here for one night with my son. This B and B is conveniently located on the main street in Plockton. The room was well equipped, but the best feature was the stunning view across the harbour towards distant mountains. The owners were friendly and the full Scottish breakfast could not be faulted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

We stayed two nights here and were made very welcome by the hosts. Nothing fancy, but nothing wrong or missing either. What is outstanding is the library! I could stay for a month and not get through all I'd be interested in. We enjoyed the local area - a nice quiet, pleasant coastal village - and a day trip to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

My granddaughter and I spent three nights here while touring Skye. We shared a twin bed room with en suite bath up two flights of stairs facing the back yard. It was disappointing not to have a view of the bay of Loch Carron. Sparsely populated Plockton is a National Trust for Scottish Conservation village. With no place but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Stayed here two nights while on a Rabbie's tour. The place was very cozy. My grandma and I stayed in a twin room just up the stairs and to the left. The locks to the rooms were with old fashion turn keys, very noisy but I found them a lot of fun. Other people may not. It was odd that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corralitos, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

If you can be assured of getting one of the rooms facing the harbor and castle, stay here! The breakfast was tasty, we loved the homey dining/living room and communal table to have breakfast. If you request a twin room you will get the tiny room at the back with two uncomfortable twin beds and nowhere to put your bags... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We were dropped here from Rabbie's tour. The beds were not very comfortable, I could count the number of springs in the mattress. The rooms are not sound-proofed - when other guests were walking or opening their doors next to our room, it sounded as if they were opening my door. Luckily the other guests were very quiet. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

They are polite, but they don't mean it - Small rooms, only one stated breakfast time 8:30 - Many things not working or missing, breakfast is average, but nor more ! I personally did not feel comfortable there...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

This is right on the main road next to Plockton Inn, so fab location, but sadly our host was not very welcoming. Our room was neat, and once you opened door you had to go up internal steps inside the room, which was not ideal for one as used walking stick. The beds were rather hard, I had sore hips,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tigh39, Owner at Tigh nan Saor, responded to this review

I'm sorry that there was a problem with the shower. I thought we might have had a non-slip mat, but we didn't. I put in an extra cotton bath mat instead. Didn't do the job, you say. My apologies. I've ordered three non-slip mats, and am in touch with our local Occupational Therapy regarding grips. Camomile tea? When you asked... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
4.7 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portree
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
Fasgath Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Kyle of Lochalsh
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities