We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn on the Lake

Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Inn on the Lake
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    208
    74
    24
    10
See reviews for
159
575
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (982)
  • Mar-May only
    (257)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (259)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (263)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (203)
All months
There are newer reviews for Inn on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I have just stayed at this hotel and we must have had the same room as Amanda1234508. Although there were no vista's from our window and an extractor whirring away but this was turned off at 11pm we did'nt go there to stay in the room all day. On our arrival, the hotel looked very grand and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, the standard rooms of which there are only four out of 47 are beautifully appointed. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Gary GM More 

Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just returned from 2 day break at Ullswater, and stayed at the Inn on the lake, at Glenridding. Had a great stay , the hotel is spotless and the staff friendly. The food is excellant and the views of the lake from the terrace and gardens is lovely. Next time we visit the lakes we will definately stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

It was lovely to read your review and so pleased you enjoyed the hotel. We take great pride in what we do and it really gives the staff a lift when I print out the comments and present them in our department meetings. Gary GM More 

Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

On a very hot day as we were visiting the "Lakes" we stopped at the Inn on the Lake for a drink. The hotel had recently been refurbished and every where was spotless. We had tea and a snack in the lovely lounge, then took our drink on the terrace. We explored the grounds and sat in the sunshine all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manageriotl, Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks G Wilson More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Absolutely loved it. I think we may have been lucky with the room as we overlooked the lake & had a balcony...just right for Gin & Tonics. They should be proud of their hotel. I wish I could afford to live here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Inn On The Lake, in an industry where you are constantly been judged and critiqued its lovely when people enjoy themselves and let us know. We use all feed back in our training and the staff get a real boost when they realise all there hard work isenjoyed and appreciated... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at The Inn on the Lake in May for a friends wedding . The room was booked for me & my OH as a 50th Birthday present from a friend so it was anticipated to be a double celebration . You can imagine our disappointment when we were given a room with no natural light as the view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manageriotl, Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, We did reply to your original e-mail, I am so sorry you felt you need to go to Trip Advisor and make unfair and inaccurate comments. The person, who bought you the gift and reserved the room, was made aware that the standard rooms do not have a view but have been recently refurbished to a high standard.... More 

Todmorden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I got married here on Friday 13th April 2012 and we had the most amazing day. The venue was perfect which was why we chose it in the first place but what made our day even more special was how Johnathan our wedding coordinator ensured that everything ran smoothly and we did not have to think about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Visited Inn on the Lake after a morning on the Ullswater Steamers trip around the lake. We know the place well having married here in September 2010 and visited many times since. Have to say the new decor really does the place justice. We enjoyed some tea and scones in the lounge this time rather than staying. The staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Just visited this little gem of a hotel for my sisters wedding. A truly super place, they have customer service down to a fine art, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms have had a face lift, and are now in good shape, the corridors need the same attention, but this can be forgiven due to the lovely restaurant, bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I had chosen this hotel as our party consisted of 3 ladies, two of whom hadn’t met each other before, with 6 decades between us, and a guinea pig! My oldest guest has mobility problems, and after much careful discussion with the booking staff we decided that our “normal” Lakes Hotel – the Lodore, wouldn’t really meet our needs. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Best location of anywhere else I've ever stayed in the Lake District. Quiet, beautiful grounds right on the lake, with it's own pub next door, which caused a bit of noise after closing.. Very professional and helpful staff. Food was also very good and I recommend taking their offer off evening meal for an extra £20 per person - excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

424 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (369)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question