We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn on the Lake

Ullswater, Glenridding CA11 0PE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Inn on the Lake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,095 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    743
    231
    78
    29
    14
See reviews for
181
643
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1095)
  • Mar-May only
    (277)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (350)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (265)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (203)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our visit was celebrating our 25th anniversary and we stayed for 2 nights and upgraded to a fell view room. We had tea and scones in the orangery on our arrival. We had drinks in the Ramblers pub on site the first evening and in the orangery on the second. Both evenings we ate in the restaurant and had coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic hotel blessed with its position overlooking lake Ullswater. Rooms are great, with views of either the mountain fells or the lake, and the restaurant is exquisite. Afternoon tea is also served either on the terrace or overlooking the lawns.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at Inn on the Lake over the August Bank holiday for 2 nights to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary, we had got married at Inn on the Lake in August 2014 and couldn't wait to go back for a more relaxing break on our own. We had a fantastic few days, we stayed in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoyed a very generous and delicious afternoon tea in the Orangery, amazing views over Ullswater. Couldn't have asked for a nicer setting, the food was delicious and very well presented. All the staff were very friendly, and even bought a dish of water and lots of fuss for the dog :) Thanks Inn on the Lake!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overpriced old folks home in stunning setting. This place does not meet the expectation of a 4 star hotel. Stayed here for a family special occasion and was left reeling by general managers lack of interests in my concerns mainly with the restaurant food. However my disappointment also extends to the weak service and tired decor in bedroom and bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Helen M I am pleased I have the opportunity to reply to this misleading untrue review. You are very unkind and not honest in your assessment of both our meeting and the hotel. However, I am not surprised about this review as you did threaten me with trip advisor. You were quite forceful telling me how you eat in... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As part of a hen weekend we had afternoon tea here. Beautiful!! The food was amazing and there was so much of it!! The orangery is beautiful and the views are breathtaking. The gardens are gorgeous too! Well worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel does a lot of weddings, and they have not impacted my stays here in the past, but this time my room was directly above the pub where the evening reception was held. Load banging music, screams etc. Not acceptable at this price, absolutely appalling, unable to sleep, just disgusting conversation by people smoking etc. Bear in mind the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Cambourne Thank you for placing a review on this site. I am so sorry you were disturbed by wedding guests as you state that having stayed before several times and not been affected by other guests this is a one off. We keep wedding guests and hotel guests separate but on this occasion its sounds like we have failed... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attended my nephew's wedding a couple of days ago. Wow, it was amazing. The Inn is an ideal place for small intimate weddings. The wedding breakfast was fabulous as was all the other food on offer during our stay. Bedrooms nicely decorated and a decent size with really comfortable beds. Nice modern bathroom. Staff pleasant and helpful. The views from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Pat C We are so pleased you enjoyed your nephews wedding at the Inn on the Lake. Your right about it been perfect for the smaller intimate wedding as well as the larger functions. We hope you revisit us at some time but until then let me wish you well. Kind regards Gary and the team More 

Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My step-daughter and son in law chose the Inn on the Lake for their wedding, which took place on the 11th August 2015. We all live in Lincolnshire and it was a leap of faith to have a wedding so far from home based on a two hour visit last year. That faith was justly rewarded. From the outset the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear SLS1234567 Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted you were pleased with the whole experience of your step- daughter’s wedding. It’s a very important time and so much expectation, so it gives us such a sense of pride and achievement when everyone leaves happy. I put this down to the fact that the wedding manager has... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited as guest at a wedding, beautiful setting, food very good, staff helpful, it would have helped so much if there had been air conditioning, it was so muggy all day (we were there for 13 hours in total!) and we felt overwhelmed by the heat. The Ramblers Bar has been refurbished and it is much lighter now and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manageriotl, General Manager at Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Karen333purple Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you had a lovely time at the hotel. With regards the heat, I wish this was a problem we had on a far more regular basis. Unfortunately that with the period of the building and its setting we would not be allowed to put air conditioning units... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

456 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (401)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (122)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenridding
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
7.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
13.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#5 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
11.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay