We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parador de Santillana Gil Blas

Certificate of Excellence
Plaza de Ramon Pelayo 11, 39330 Santillana del Mar, Spain
Hotel amenities
Parador de Santillana Gil Blas
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
GitanaUSA Delmont, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    64
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
26
117
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (172)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The parador is beautiful sitting on a quiet (at night) square but it is outshone by the generous and caring staff. Javier and José made our trip flow easily where it could have been disappointing. Transportation in Santillana is very limited and getting to Santander to make connections was vital. They ensured we had a taxi reserved both for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This parador is housed in a historic building right in the center of Santillana's historic area. It has parking, for a fee, and free high speed wifi. The staff is very friendly and the interiors of the building have a typical Parador decor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Jarb46: Le agradecemos sinceramente las molestias que se ha tomado en dejar constancia de sus impresiones sobre nuestro Parador.... More 

Laren, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fairly experienced parador-visitors, and presumably fairly spoilt as well, this parador gave mixed feelings. Yes: a lovely building in a beautiful old town (in an attractive area with enough things to see and do). By the way: the parador on the other side of the square is not another parador, but an annex. No: it's all a little dated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cliveden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location could not be better--in the very heart of Santillana del Mar, surrounded by ancient buildings providing a most incredible atmosphere. The hotel was superbly well kept with very comfortable old fashioned rooms and excellent bathrooms. The restaurant had superb food and an extremely friendly staff. In fact, all the personnel with whom we came into contact were gracious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Robert G: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction.... More 

Moraira, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

my husband and I stayed hrre as we were visiting the museum with prehistoric cave paintings at Altamira. Lovely warm hotel though hard to find,poor signage. Room lovely although dark due to construction and age, beds firm. No complementary water in the room. It is so cheap in Spain do not understand why. Breakfast however was awful hence low score.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear Jean R. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador. We regret that we were unable to satisfy your expectations with respect to this Parador in the way we had hoped. Please know that we have taken note about your suggestion. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to... More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Stayed one night as a bit of a treat whilst on long term roadtrip. The hotel is situated right in the middle of a medieval village is not to be confused with the much newer Parador opposite (they share a car park). The rooms are extremely comfortable and well fitted as you would expect from this chain. The hotel oozes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear Byn2015: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards, More 

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We have stayed here many times en route to or from the Picos as it is a relatively short journey to the Ferry or airport in Santander. Santillana itself is an incredibly beautiful mediaeval town and the Parador is typical of the many historical buildings here. Our bedroom was very large with ceiling to floor windows, the beds very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kindly words. Oppinions likes yours make us follow up to reach the best quality for our Friend/Costumers. We hope see you in Santillana Gil Blas again. Faithfully, More 

LaJolla
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

This is a typical Spanish parador, charming rooms, good breakfast and excellent service. We considered this stay great value for our money. The town is interesting and well worth a wander. There are fine restaurants nearby. Of course, this is a convenient place to stay when visiting the Caves of Altamira.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review

Dear MittyLajolla: We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards, More 

Barcelona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

What can one say about this parador? To complain of small windows in a mediaeval building, as one reviewer has done, is plainly ridiculous. They didn't build 'em with sheet glass windows 500 years ago! The lighting in the room gave plenty of light for reading etc. I also can't agree with another comment about the breakfast. We were two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jose Carlos C, Gerente at Parador de Santillana Gil Blas, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado Pandemonic: Gracias por su tiempo en escribir un comentario sobre su estancia en el Parador de Santillana Gil Blas.... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Over the years we have stayed in a large number of Paradors, and we usually love them. However, this was a disappointment. First the good news. The location is in the centre of a beautiful medieval village, which is a pleasure to walk around even though it is very much full of tourists. The village bans cars, but you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities