We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Thurles hotels

Horse & Jockey Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exit 6 M8 | Horse and Jockey, Thurles 0, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Horse & Jockey Hotel to your Saves list
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
78%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Thurles
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Rosslare16 Rosslare Harbour, Ireland
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    70
    27
    14
    12
See reviews for
52
87
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosslare Harbour, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'm always checking trip advisor for reviews especially before booking somewhere not knowing anything about the place. I understand that people have different opinions and experiences but I have to disagree with the bad reviews about this hotel! It was absolutely fantastic. We were looking for a luxury getaway for the weekend and that's exactly what we got! We booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall this is a really comfortable hotel with a fantastic atmosphere. Check in was brisk but efficient. Room was spacious and relaxing - I had a great night's sleep. But the shower was dreadful -- it was a pathetic trickle. I had to go and use the shower at the swimming pool in the morning. My colleague said his shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here years ago and the hotel was great, but after our recent stay, this hotel has deteriorated badly and needs a lot of investment. On arrival everything seems good, clean modern reception, but this is just a front to what is to come and just shows don't believe pictures the hotel show on their website. The rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at hotel for 2 nights. After reading the reviews and looking at the pictures on their website we were really looking forward to our stay there, we were very disappointed. The photos of the rooms we had seen on the website were nothing like what we got. The room look very poor and old ..bathroom the same +was dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, 8 month old& I stayed here this month. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel! We have been here on numerous accessions for a coffee and recharge when travelling to and from Cork but had never stayed.The room was spacious, spotless& well furnished overlooking the courtyard. From the moment we checked in, to our departure the staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind review which I have passed on to all the staff. It is indeed satisifing to get reviews from people who sampled all our facilities rather than people who pass through our busy bars and restaurants. More

Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stopped for some bar food here- very handy location on way back to Cork. I don't think the food is quite as good as it used to be. The service was slightly sloppy- the waiter brought some incorrect orders- and a bit lacking in charm. The soup was actually delicious but a very small portion. Smoked trout salad- the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is indeed frustrating to receive poor service especially with the food been of a good standard. I will look into it and hopefully it will improve the next time you call. More

Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

me and the guy working with me went in for breakfast on Wednesday the 20th of march at 8 am when we went to be seated the waiter looked us both up and down and asked were our booths clean i was so disgusted we turned on our heels and left.basically speaking there is a recession in this country and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

I noticed from your review that you did not disagree with the waiter's analysis of your boots which he has concurred with me. We have literally hundreds of working people coming through every day and we try to keep a reasonable high standard which we hope our customers would appreciate and respect, just because there is a recession does not... More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have gad many meetings here but never stayed till tonight. From check in by the superb reception made to feel welcome, to the large rooms lovely and clean, great spa and excellent food in the bar! 100% really enjoyed my stay and the best place I have stopped on Bussiness for a long time! Well done horse and jockey

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and all our facilities More

Thane, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. It provides 5 star experience in a countryside backdrop. Amazing location with horses, cows and sheeps for company. The bar is the perfect place for evening extravaganza! The food menu is a bit short and does not provide many choices!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere of our Irish countryside.I was recently visited your country and had a most beautiful and memorable holiday More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

As i stay here about 8 times a year for buisness trips,this is always my first choice hotel when travelling to Ireland. The room was spacious and charming and very affordably priced. Breakfast was hearty and dinner was delicious,A warm welcome and very hospitable staff thank you very much. I would highly recommend this hotel well done. Kind Regards Mark... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

It is indeed rewarding to get such a pleasent review from a regular customer. Thank You very much. More

Been to Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse & Jockey Hotel

Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel
Address: Exit 6 M8 | Horse and Jockey, Thurles 0, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suitably located beside the M8 Motorway at Junction 6 approximately 1 1/4 hours from all main cities. Our facilities include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates. Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. The Spa is a haven of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse & Jockey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.