We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Thurles hotels

Horse & Jockey Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exit 6 M8 | Horse and Jockey, Thurles 0, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Horse & Jockey Hotel to your Saves list
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Thurles
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Mandyb1980 Dublin, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (266)
  • Photos (31)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    77
    32
    18
    14
See reviews for
59
98
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Was disappointed to be told we could not book into after 4.30pm as hotel had been at full capacity night before. We went to the bar for the drink to wait until the room was ready. Bar staff seemed scared to make eye contact incase we wanted served. Finally got served after having to call a member of staff over.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had a meal here with my friend and was very impressed with Liam Crowe the waiter. He was very observant nd extremely fast services the waitress who brought our meal down was lovely I couldn't rate this establishment high enough for food nd accommodation

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Reception and breakfast staff good. Very expensive food one course dinner 22 euro with a wait of 55 mins for it to be served!!!! Had to request room change as first allocation was unacceptable as it was dirty, dusty and with heavily stained carpet. Second room which appeared to be an upgrade also had stained carpet, dusty shelves,and shower did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I stopped for dinner at the Horse & Jockey Restaurant and Bar in the Enclosure Bar. The food was good but not exceptional (definitely not worthy of a Michelin recommendation). The manager was more concerned about watching sports than supervising wait staff. The waitress that served us had some form off attitude or air about her. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a regular visitor to the Horse and Jockey I am a bit confused by the review Irelandbobo posted about the cappuccino at the Hotel. The coffee has always been of great quality. In fact Horse and Jockey is a favourite for business people hold meetings due to its location and fantastic range of homemade pastries/ cakes and great coffee.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely meal here recently. It was perfect for what we were looking for. Great food and friendly service from our waitress Becka!! Pretty gift shop there too. We will definitely call in again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind review, it is indeed gratifying when people appreciate the effort the staff make during our busy period. Tom. More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my girlfriend booked a last minute night away last weekend. Really enjoyed the hotel. The room was massive with two king doubles and we'd a free standing bath in the bathroom. Beautiful dinner and a few beers. With change from €200 all in including dinner you can't ask more from a 4 star hotel. Perfect for what we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Horse and Jockey and thank you for going to the trouble to write a review which I have passed on to the staff. Tom. More

Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Horse & Jockey is a well known "stop off" for travellers coming from the South of Ireland to Dublin/elsewhere. We used it for a coffee break - but stopped because the coffee is just awful - a cappo is really just a cup of hot milk..however, we decided to give it another chance this weekend - we should have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

It is difficult to understand why you would go to the trouble to write a review complaining that your cappuccino was too weak when all you have to do is ask the server to add a extra shot of coffee which would solve the problem. It also should be remembered why people order cappuccino's is because they like weak coffee.... More

Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
451 reviews 451 reviews
83 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read the reviews before booking, I did not read the recent terrible reviews. I have written more than 400 reviews across the globe and very few in the terrible category. When you arrive look at the common areas, then the leisure center. Yuk is the best I can say, it doesn't look as these have been cleaned in months.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

On looking up your reservation which was booked and confirmed through Booking.com, you reserved two rooms for the day before you arrived, there was no cancellation made which meant we lost revenue from four customers at the height of our season. There is no underfloor heating in our bedrooms so it could not have been on "full Whack"!!. I checked... More

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great hotel, a very enjoyable stay. The room was brilliant, 3 four foot beds, a full couch, loads of space, high ceiling. Restaurant and bar staff very friendly. Food was/is excellent, both for breakfast and restaurant. If I had to "give out" about something, then it would have to be about, some, not all, front desk staff being not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom054, Owner at Horse & Jockey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for going to the trouble to write such a excellent review. We are glad you enjoyed the family room and that all the meals were satisfactory. We were obviously offering good value judging from your heading. Tom. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Horse & Jockey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Horse & Jockey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse & Jockey Hotel

Address: Exit 6 M8 | Horse and Jockey, Thurles 0, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Thurles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse & Jockey Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Horse & Jockey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel
Horse Jockey Thurles
Horse Jockey Hotel

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Thurles with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Suitably located beside the M8 Motorway at Junction 6 approximately 1 1/4 hours from all main cities. Our facilities include an award winning restaurant, traditional Irish Bar, 67 luxurious bedrooms featuring plasma TV & Wi-Fi, superior conference centre comprising of 10 meeting rooms and a tiered auditorium for up to 200 delegates. Leisure complex includes a 21m pool, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, hydro-therapy area and gymnasium. The Spa is a haven of relaxation. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
67

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Horse & Jockey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer