We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Greenwoods Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Dharamkot Road, Green Valley | Next to TIPa,Mcleodganj,, Dharamsala 176219, India
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Greenwoods Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Greenwoods Inn
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
16
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is ideal for travelers who prefer to stay close to nature and away from the noise of the marketplace. It is about 900mtrs away from the mcleodganj square and the rooms offer an amazing view of the valley. We stayed here for 5 days and were well taken care of by the courteous staff. They were friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We (me & my wife) stayed at this hotel on 6-7th March. I usually avoid writing about feedbacks for hotel/trips. But this time I was so happy with the stay, that I wanted to write few words of appreciation for the Hotel Greenwood Inn, on Dharamkot road. We were very happy and satisfied with the quality of rooms and service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We were recently in Mcledoganj and had a pleasant stay here. Save for the dank, musty smell in the room when we reached there, it was a nice place. Just 1 km from the market/hang outs with stunning views [especially if you're living in room 203...ask for it]...a no frills place that delivers. They provide decent rooms with a heater...which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

If you are considering a stay here, check to see if they are done the construction on the roof first. I stayed 4 nights, and because of the poorly managed construction, I had no hot water for 2 nights, no water at all for 2 days (no flushing toilet, tooth brushing etc), no WiFi 2 days and nights, no TV... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greenwoods_inn2013, Manager at Hotel Greenwoods Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mam, We are very extremely sorry for what all happen during your stay here although we had taken utmost care do not to disturb our prestigious guest . we would like to see you again here for best of our services we regret for all . More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked a hotel in Dharamsala because we had a late arrival. We booked Greenwoods because it was one of the cheaper places on line. In real life this is not one of the cheaper places. The quality of the rooms, bathroom and food is good. The staff is helpful and the restaurant serves reasonable food. It's a bit far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Clean and comfortable. Great food from room service. Wonderful view of the Himalayas. Have stayed here many times and will continue to do so. Good honest staff. Not far from markets defiantly a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Walking (uphill 10-15 min) from mcleudgunj is greenwoods. Away from the city madness,yet accessible. Clean rooms and toilets. Does not boast of a play area for kids etc, but good food and very prompt service. I have walked uphill dharamkot with kids (5 and 10 years) for dinner and morning and of course walked down to the town and monastery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

D place Mcleodganj in itself s a beautiful to visit...I went wid my frnds on a road trip n out of all d places I enjoyed d most here n much credit goes to Greenwood inn..awesome place..gud food...perfect service as we asked for tea n coffee at late night to enjoy at terrace n dey let us sit till midnight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kharagpur
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is located at 1 km steep height from Macleodganj market. But it is worth to stay there as it is away from crowded places and you see Bhagsu valley and upper Dhauldhar mountains from your hotel. Bhagsunag temple is very near down the slope. Price is reasonable. Food is good, not very highly priced. The girl (Anesha) at... More 

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A great, clean, well equipped hotel about 2km's out of McLeod Ganj, on the way to Dharamkot. About a 20 minute walk through the forest, it is a peaceful forest setting with good views. The staff were helpful. The room was nicely serviced and had wifi. Not the most convenient location if you intend to walk, and you will have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question