We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added Mahogany Springs to your Saves list
Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Mahogany Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    27
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
80
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
chattanooga tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay here for gorilla trekking! The staff was great, we appreciated them all especailly Gad, David and Emily. Be sure and get a message from Emily after trekking. Martin was our driver and we enjoyed him as well. Gad was very helpful in getting us our desired H group the day of our second trek, very much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Sasha, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We appreciate the time you have taken to post this. Martin says it was a pleasure to drive you around and the rest of the staff say hi! Thanks again and we hope to see you back for a 3rd Gorilla trek! Barrie More

Grimsby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This lodge is situated close to the conservation headquarters for the gorilla treks with stunning views overlooking the forest and a small river. The staff were great with particular thanks to David,Abraham and Emily who made our stay even ore memorable. The rooms are clean and spacious and overlooked the forest. A nice touch was the hot water bottles each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Brokies, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and your very complimentary comments about the hotel. I am also sure other would travellers will appreciate the advice you have given in regards to the Gorilla tracking. The staff say hi and also thank you for mentioning them by name. I hope you have a lovely day... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the pleasure of staying at the lodge in August for 3 nights whilst in Bwindi to see the gorillas. The cottages are lovely, simple, clean, peaceful and rustic, not everyone like such but its fitting to the local area. The main building is a nice setting, good bar, area for seating and dining. Food was very good and good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Deedids, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The title of your review is lovely and we are so pleased to hear that you had an experience that you will remember forever. All the staff at lodge say Hi and David told me to personally pass you his regards! Thanks again and we hope to see... More

Finlayson, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our safari group of 14 stayed here for two nights. The views from the verandas of the rooms and the lodge are spectacular. Service is attentive and truly engaging. Meals were perfect and staff proved very knowledgeable about gluten free needs. The rooms are large, beds are comfortable, showers are warm, and things work -- including wifi in the reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Minnetristagirl, Thank you very much for your detailed review of the lodge and surrounding area. We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience and that you were very happy with the service levels received. In regards to the generator power. We will look into this as generally power should be on when clients are within... More

Redwood City, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed everything about this lodge. The staff, the grounds, the food, the service, my room, beautiful views. I stayed here for 3 nights. I was one of a group of 10. The staff responded to all of my requests quickly and satisfactorily. They even helped keep my numerous electronic devices charged by plugging some of them in at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Laureen, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very pleased to hear that you think Mahogany Springs is the perfect lodge for Gorilla trekking! In regards to the massage table, thank you for this feedback and we are on the case! Take care Barrie More

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights on 28/29 Sept in (I think) Elizabeth lodge. A beautiful setting, very comfortable room, beautifully decorated, mosquito nets a welcome addition, bottled water. We had tea served on our verandah which looked onto the impenetrable forrest and gave us something to contemplate before and after our magnificent gorilla trek! The food was lovely. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn, Thank you very much for your extremely positive review. It is great to hear that you had such a fantastic experience and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you Barrie More

Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Stayed here two nights in October 2014 with my two grandparents. We all went gorilla trekking together. Mahogany Springs provided a good packed lunch. Anytime we asked for something (tea/coffee, even at off hours) they would bring it and bring it on time (lots of places in Africa bring things when they feel like it not when you have arranged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you so much for your great review. It is excellent to hear that you don't have a single complaint! We really appreciate that you have taken the time to post this. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again. Thank you, Barrie More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This lodge is amazing, the rooms are full of character and fit perfectly in the hillside, offering amazing views from the moment you get up until the moment you go to bed. It has a great location and only a short walk to the local village. But the best part of Mahogany Springs is its staff. From the moment you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Phynn, Thanks a lot for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience and that the Gorilla tracking went so well. We hope to see you again. Take care Barrie More

Cleveland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Being a seasoned traveler to East Africa, I'm probably not as easy to impress as first-time visitors. I'm usually traveling to a particular lodge or camp in order to experience the 'adventure' offered in the area and not too much concerned about the provided services. However, with the intention of possibly bringing groups to Uganda, this trip was a combination... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Spent 3 nights here in order to go gorilla trekking and was sorry to leave. The grounds are great with a river at the bottom and you can see the forest which the gorillas leave on occasion to visit the garden. The cottages were huge and the food was great but it was the staff that really make it a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mahogany Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahogany Springs

Address: Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mahogany Springs Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (176)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay