We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added Mahogany Springs to your Saves list
Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Mahogany Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
90
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Minnesota
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

We stayed at Mahogany Springs for 3 nights. From the moment we got out of the van to the morning we left, the staff was just the best. They were there to serve you, to help you in any way they could......and also with a smile and a nice comment. I also noticed how well the staff treat one another,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, What a fantastic, detailed and heart warming review. We are so very appreciative of your kind words and the time and thought that has gone into this review. It really does sound like you've had a Ugandan experience that will live in your memories forever and that is our number 1 aim for all clients. Jotham send his... More 

Osthammar, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very beautiful place with helpful and nice staff. The location was fantastic and the villas big and OK. I can not rate it higher as the food was very boring. Food was lacking in imagination, boringly presented and boring dishes with little flavour. For every meal the same kind of vegetables was served and it was carrots,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Erica, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you loved the location and the rooms plus your overall Mahogany experience. We are disappointed that you were not happy with the Vegetable selection. We take a lot of pride in presenting excellent dishes. I have passed on your feedback to the chef. Thanks again,... More 

Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently spent two nights at this hotel and I highly recommend it. Mahogany Springs Luxury Lodge is indeed a luxury lodge. Built in a unique village-like setting with all kinds of plants around. Its unique construction style puts it in a class of its own; you live in a hotel as if you are in your own wilderness cottage.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Chris, thank you for your very kind words and excellent review! We are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the Mahogany Springs experience. It sounds like you will be coming back and we can't wait to spoil you again. thanks Barrie More 

West Auckland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were given a warm facecloth and a cold drink. At all times the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not far from the restaurant but the mosaic paths are a little rough. The rooms are clean and have all the normal facilities. The food is first class. There is a veranda near the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Mr Simpson, thank you for taking the time to post your very detailed review. We are pleased to hear that you referred to the food as first class and enjoyed your stay at Mahogany Springs. When walking from the restaurant to your room at night, the pathway lights should be lit and one of our staff should offer to... More 

Didcot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Mahogany Springs as part of our tour of Uganda and had a wonderful time - the staff were lovely, interested and so helpful. The lodge has a central area that has WiFi, space to relax as well as dine. The rooms are individual cottages and offer privacy and great views with comfy beds and everything we needed. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Sheffle, Thank you so much for your excellent review! It sounds like you had a great time and enjoyed all that we had to offer. We are so happy to be a special part of your Ugandan Tour. You are welcome back anytime. Kind regards Barrie More 

Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 5 nights here and enjoyed excellent views from the rooms, good food & friendly staff. Plenty to do locally and the birding is really good. The staff made a special effort on our last evening to serve us on the veranda a "typical" Ugandan meal ... a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Nigel, Thank you for posting such a great review about Mahogany Springs. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a lovely trip. Its pleasing to hear that you wanted to try a Ugandan style meal and enjoyed it! Hope to have you back. Barrie More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We stayed 2 nights at Mahogany Springs and loved everything about it. The cottages were simple but very nice and comfortable with lovely views. Our cottage was large enough for a family of 4 (kids aged 6 and 2.5yrs) to have a really comfortable sleep in 3 x double beds. The staff were wonderful and friendly. They really cater for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Mcgsan, Thank you very much for your lovely review of Mahogany Springs. It was fantastic that you were able to bring your whole family and the kids were well catered for. We hope to have you all back one day. Kind regards Barrie Gotch More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

From the moment we were welcomed to Mahogony Springs it was an absolute delight, the staff are incredible people and really care about your individual experience. The food was amazing and Abraham, the happiest man with the biggest smile in Uganda, was always on hand to check you were ok. Gorilla trekking was incredible and also the day activities organised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Cygna, Thank you for your amazing review of Mahogany Springs. Your very kind feedback is much appreciated. Smiley Abraham says hi! We hope to see you again. Thanks Barrie More 

Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We stayed at the Mahogany Springs for 2 nights in September this year. The cottages were simple, very clean and a nice size. The location was fine, just a short walk through the village to the gates of Bwindi. The view from the cottage across the valley was beautiful. The service was great and the staff were friendly. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Varvara, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your experience at Mahogany Springs. We are very pleased that you said the massage was the best you had all trip as that was the intention! Thanks Barrie More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

What a view! The farmers' fields on the mountainside edged up to the start of the impenetrable rain forest, goats being herded by young boys, women working their fields, lots of birds, lovely gardens and everywhere the real sounds of Africa. This is a true African lodge with much use of local products, only a very short drive from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Travelhag, Thank you for your very detailed review. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a memorable trip and enjoyed the authentic experience. You should have asked us for another bedside lamp it would not have been a problem. In regards to maintenance thank you for mentioning this we are always refreshing the lodge and conducting maintenance... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mahogany Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahogany Springs

Address: Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mahogany Springs Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

220 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (207)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay