We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mahogany Springs

Hotel website
Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Mahogany Springs
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    34
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
96
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights to track the gorillas (which if you ever get the opportunity to do you must!) The gardens are beautiful and the rooms nice, but some maintenance. I don't think they're quite at the standard of luxury, which is what they're marketed at. The main building is nice, the food was good and there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jenni, thank you for your extremely constructive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay at the lodge and in Uganda. In regards to maintenance, every year around April/May (low season) we begin a maintenance/upgrade programme which takes place when the lodge is quiet so we don't effect the clients. Being based around a Forest with very big... More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had four fantastic nights at Mahogany Springs. The position of the hotel is fantastic - 10 minutes walk from the hotel to the main entrance of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. The restaurant and the rooms have wonderful views of the forest, the valley and the hills opposite. The staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and friendly. The food is fresh and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Gav, thank you so much for your very kind review! It sounds like you had an excellent time. All the staff send their regards and hope to see you back at the lodge! Thanks Barrie More 

Durham England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Stayed here for two nights although it would have been good to stay longer. The individual cabins were very good although some repairs were necessary with the blinds. Food was good and my wife who is vegetarian was adequately looked after which wasn't tne case in other lodges in Uganda. What made this lodge excellent was the quality of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Hoth, What an amazing title for your review :-) We really appreciate it along with all your lovely comments. Thanks for mentioning the blinds, they are always needing repairs and we are on top of it. So pleased that your wife's vegetarians needs were catered to and she also enjoyed her stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.... More 

LONDON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We have just finished a short fly safari in Uganda. This lodge was the highlight of the trip. Mahogany Springs is truly luxurious, the rooms are warm, comfortable and spacious. The service is faultless. They really did make this an experience to remember. I see the review below mentions the maintenance of the lodge. There was a little maintenance going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear London, Thank you for your superb review. We really appreciate your comments about 5* service and 5* comfort. It sounds like you had a trip to remember. Those short fly-in safaris really are growing in popularity and opening up the market for those people that would not have the time to visit the Gorillas normally. David says thank you... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

The staff made our short stay ok. Abraham, and all the other staff were so welcoming, and did their best. The food was fair. The "BUT" comes in because the lodge is priced at , and marketed , at luxury top end prices, (5 star) but it is so run down and in dire need of upkeep, care and maintenance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Vikki, Thank you for your review. All the staff appreciate your comments and Abraham says thanks for the mention! Thank you for your constructive feedback. April/May is when the real maintenance/upgrade programmes kick in. Being based around a forest with fairly volatile weather conditions does means that maintenance is a constant issue for all lodges but one that we... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Mahogany Springs was an amazing place to stay. We booked our trip through Africa Travel Resource who in turn booked us into Mahogany Springs. We had such a great experience from the time we landed (driving with Martin - who is such a gem to talk with and listen to stories from) to the time we had to leave back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Britney, Thank you for your amazing positive and comprehensive review. Anyone thinking of coming to the see the Gorillas should read all the information you have provided here. Sounds like you had an amazing all round experience. I am glad you noticed the shoe cleaning we do. It is a little thing that we think makes a big difference.... More 

Minnesota
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stayed at Mahogany Springs for 3 nights. From the moment we got out of the van to the morning we left, the staff was just the best. They were there to serve you, to help you in any way they could......and also with a smile and a nice comment. I also noticed how well the staff treat one another,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, What a fantastic, detailed and heart warming review. We are so very appreciative of your kind words and the time and thought that has gone into this review. It really does sound like you've had a Ugandan experience that will live in your memories forever and that is our number 1 aim for all clients. Jotham send his... More 

Osthammar, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This is a very beautiful place with helpful and nice staff. The location was fantastic and the villas big and OK. I can not rate it higher as the food was very boring. Food was lacking in imagination, boringly presented and boring dishes with little flavour. For every meal the same kind of vegetables was served and it was carrots,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Erica, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you loved the location and the rooms plus your overall Mahogany experience. We are disappointed that you were not happy with the Vegetable selection. We take a lot of pride in presenting excellent dishes. I have passed on your feedback to the chef. Thanks again,... More 

Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I recently spent two nights at this hotel and I highly recommend it. Mahogany Springs Luxury Lodge is indeed a luxury lodge. Built in a unique village-like setting with all kinds of plants around. Its unique construction style puts it in a class of its own; you live in a hotel as if you are in your own wilderness cottage.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Chris, thank you for your very kind words and excellent review! We are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the Mahogany Springs experience. It sounds like you will be coming back and we can't wait to spoil you again. thanks Barrie More 

West Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

On arrival we were given a warm facecloth and a cold drink. At all times the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not far from the restaurant but the mosaic paths are a little rough. The rooms are clean and have all the normal facilities. The food is first class. There is a veranda near the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MahoganySprings, Owner at Mahogany Springs, responded to this review

Dear Mr Simpson, thank you for taking the time to post your very detailed review. We are pleased to hear that you referred to the food as first class and enjoyed your stay at Mahogany Springs. When walking from the restaurant to your room at night, the pathway lights should be lit and one of our staff should offer to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (214)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question