We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Randburg B&Bs / inns

Ikhaya Guest House

Save Saved
You added Ikhaya Guest House to your Saves list
31 Boschkop Avenue | Boskruin, Randburg 2188, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Ikhaya Guest House
Ranked #11 of 44 Randburg B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Randburg
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family from the UK recently stayed at Ikhaya for a week on a referral from a friend. After a long flight, the welcome they received from the staff was incredible. The room they stayed in was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The staff and management went above and beyond to make my family's stay incredible! Thank you Ikhaya. You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverbank, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed three nights during our first visit to South Africa. All we can say is "What's not to like?" The room was large and very comfortable, the staff were graciously accommodating. We had some great conversations with the owner during breakfast (did we mention good food?) and he fixed us up with anything we needed, like a driver, directions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, it was good to host you at Ikhaya. We hope you had a great holiday in our lovely country and are safe back home. We look forward to seeing you again, if you ever come back this way again. Take care! More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife & two boys stayed a total of nine nights in rooms 1 (Mum & Dad) & 2 (our boys) which we thoroughly enjoyed. The beds were so big & comfortable, mattresses & pillows were just right & it was exceptionally clean. As we had a busy family holiday time we wanted to be as free as possible with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Ikhaya. It was a pleasure to host your family at our establishment and we look forward to hosting you again, hopefully in the near future. Our best regards to you all! More

London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Place is outstandingly beautiful, nice outlook beautiful bathroom and nice sized rooms. That being said- little peturbed as a solo female to have strangers come into my bedroom after sleeping off jetlag. (see Helen review below). They had a key to my room- as their stuff had been moved from it before I came. A bit surprising. That being said,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience we might have caused, when we gave you a room for which another guest still had keys. Luckily, as it turned out, the other guests, who had the key to your room, were your friends. What you have interpreted as rudeness was only a reflection of my disappointment at... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The house itself is lovely, very picturesque and in a quiet and safe area which was important as we were travelling as two girls. The staff were also amazingly friendly and polite, couldn't fault them. However mid way through our stay we returned to our room to find out that a stranger was asleep in our bed and that all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for having taken the liberty to move your belongings to your new room, without your consent. This was done with the best of intentions, as we realized, too late, that you had initially been shown into the wrong room, by the housekeeping staff. You had the opportunity to tell us,... More

Napa, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were assigned Room 7 when we arrived at Ikhaya. Our hostess raved that it was her favorite room and that the views were terrific. She was right the views were terrific. However, after lugging our cases up all of those stairs to the top level and seeing the size of the bed (we are big people) we were less... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay at Ikhaya. We look forward to hosting you again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kind regards! More

Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay again on my recent trip and I must say, this is the best! I had spent a few night in a major hotel for a conference and like most large hotels, it is loud, noisy and the same as any other. I had the good fortune to switch once the conference ended and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Bob, hope you are well and still enjoying you globetrotting. Thank you for your kind review of Ikhaya, hope to see you again soon! Best regards! More

Pennington Natal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A very quiet, spacious luxurious retreat in a secure location, no traffic, yet close to lots of shopping malls, cinemas etc. Only ten minutes from the throb of Sandton, Roebank etc. Very easy to find. Attentive service, good breakfast cooked while you wait, huge bed and even an electric mosquito zapper! Only one thing - TV too far from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of Ikhaya Guest House. Hope you come and stay with us again, shortly. Best regards to you both! More

Killarney, Manitoba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ikahaya Guest House is a lovely place to stay. The area is quiet and secure and beautiful and the service was excellent. Our room was big and very comfortable and breakfasts were great. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I highly recommend staying there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about Ikhaya Guest House. We hope you come again this way, and to be able to host you again, in Johannesburg. Kind regards. More

Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

As a party of 6 we had booked 3 rooms for 2 nights, we booked this accomodation 9 months earlier as it was an important part of our trip because we were visiting family nearby. On arrival we were met by Rui who explained that he had been awake until 1am the previous night as he thought that was when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ikhaya, Owner at Ikhaya Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was indeed an unfortunate situation which your party had deal with, from the moment you arrived and were told that we had booked you in on the wrong dates. From then on it was just downhill, as everything seemed to have gone wrong. For us it was the worst experience we have ever had,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ikhaya Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikhaya Guest House

Address: 31 Boschkop Avenue | Boskruin, Randburg 2188, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ikhaya Guest House Randburg, Greater Johannesburg

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay