We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Hoek Country Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Portion 7 | Zeekoehoek, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
De Hoek Country Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    143
    45
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
141
1
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The service was excellent. Staff were attentive and looked after all our needs. the food was great and the rooms were of a high standard. All IT issues were resolved quickly. Staff also ensured that we were undisturbed during our conference

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great comments received - luxurious facilities - rooms, plentiful and delicious food and excellent service. Thank you to the team! Only crit is time - when on a conference, food could be served a little quicker or as timeously as possible. but if for leisure...then one has more time...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I revisited De Hoek, after a long break to experience their new rooms. The New Quarter Superior Suites and Penthouse Suites are extremely modern and I loved the decor. The Penthouse Suites are fabulous, large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The large bed is firm with ample pillows. This pictures, as depicted, on their website, is exactly what you get. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mholenstein, Guest Relations Manager at De Hoek Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madame_XYZ, Thank you very much for the lovely compliments. It is highly appreciated. We are looking forward to seeing you very soon again! Kind regards The De Hoek Management Team More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Frankly I was disappointed on the basis that I was anticipating a wow experience and in the end it was average to good. The service was excellent, end t end - the staff seem well trained and competent. The food I am afraid was 'unimaginative' and really quite ordinary. Worst aspect of the stay was having been given a room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
mholenstein, Guest Relations Manager at De Hoek Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard L, Thank you for taking the time in writing to us about your stay at De Hoek Country Hotel. What a disappointing review and I am sure you felt the same about your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the food only being average and the sewerage issue. We will definitely take this up with the team... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a weekend to celebrate our anniversay and what a wonderful two nights it was. A superb, comfortable room, welcome goodies ; excellent cuisine; outstanding service and a wonderful surprise on our return from dinner on Saturday evening to find a bottle of excellent red wine, rose petals and scented candles around a bath filled with hot bubbles. Such... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
mholenstein, Guest Relations Manager at De Hoek Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 173Phyllish, Wow! What a magnificent review, thank you kindly! We are looking forward to hosting you very soon again! Kind regards The De Hoek Management Team More 

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent Venue! The food was delicious and the rooms were gorgeous.. pity I only had one night there! Will definitely go back! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The wine selection was great! Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
mholenstein, Guest Relations Manager at De Hoek Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andreak654, Thank you very much for your valued comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate it so much when our guests post valued comments like this. Thank you very much! Kind regards The De Hoek Management Team More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly, the positives...The service was excellent, start to finish. The staff are friendly, efficient and polite from porterage through to room service and restaurant service. They have clearly been extremely well trained - efficient without fuss, unobtrusive but attentive. The grounds themselves are very nice and the walk up the ridge and along the river was great fun. We didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mholenstein, Guest Relations Manager at De Hoek Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AfricanTravel, Thank you so much for your feedback with regards to your stay at De Hoek Country Hotel. We are pleased to hear that the majority of your stay wasn't completely dissapointing however we want our guests to be over the moon when they depart. We would sincerely appreciate it if you could be in touch with our Managing... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The check in was slow, disorganized and not personable. Our room was poorly lit. We couldn't read our books with the poor bedside lighting. There was no safe in our room so we had to carry any valuables with us. Although they advertise 'wifi' throughout' we could not pick it up in our room and in the main lounge it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mholenstein, Guest Relations Manager at De Hoek Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephlw88, Thank you for your valued email and sending us your review. We are rather disappointed to hear that you had a "ok" experience. We want our guests to leave feeling rested and revitalized. I would appreciate it if I may contact you and see how we can turn around your guest experience for the better. We pride ourselves... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came for a friend's birthday dinner and slept over. The rooms were cold. The waiters kept on disturbing us by talking whilst we were having speeches during dinner. On a couple of occasions we had to ask them to keep the noise level down so that we can talk and hear one another. Breakfast was good though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
mholenstein, Guest Relations Manager at De Hoek Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kgomotsom, Thank you for the feedback around your friends dinner. We will most certainly take it up with the team and ensure this does not happen again. We have employed a new Executive Housekeeper and we are sure the rooms will never be cold again. We look forward to having you back in the near future. Kind regards The... More 

Gauteng
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We took up on your fantastic offer of the special for the one night of R380 pp(unfortunately can't afford the normal rates). We have had dinner by you before and as before,everything was fantastic!! Loved sleeping over. Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
mholenstein, Guest Relations Manager at De Hoek Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Francoisv301, Thank you so very much for sending us your review on your stay with De Hoek Country Hotel. It means the world to us to see our guests left happily and would like to return. I agree, the special was amazing and afforded so many guests the opportunity to stay at such a magnificent property (if I may... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
3.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#3 of 6 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
2.1 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
20.5 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#5 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
7.7 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 12 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay