We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Liwonde National Park, Liwonde National Park, Malawi (Formerly Wilderness Safaris)
Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mvuu camp was the best part of my Malawi trip. The agent Claudia was thoughtful about everything as I booked my room. In fact the entire camp staff was thoughtful, sensitive, and polite. I saw lots of animals on the 4x4 and the boat safari including warthog, zebra, antelope,African shrew,elephants, hippos, water buck, dozens of different types of birds, monkeys,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

Sounds like you had a wildlife packed visit! Glad you were able to see so much, and that our staff supplied you with the quality of service that we are known for. We look forward to your next visit with your family. Thank you for choosing to stay at Mvuu. Richard and the CAWS team. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Malawi visiting my daughter who is working there. We were delighted when we arrived at Mvuu. Compared to another place nearby Mvuu is 5 star. The staff were all lovely. The place was very very clean and our chalet was perfect. All meals were delicious, especially the goat shank. We did 2 land safaris and one boat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, we are so pleased you had such a fantastic time while staying with us. We look forward to your next visit! Richard and the CAWS team. More 

Lilongwe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

If you have time, go to Mvuu. If you don't have time, make time! This was an absolutely fantastic experience for us, from Claudia in the office through to Patrick the boat driver, Justin our guide and 'ello 'ello Dave our waiter everything was perfect. The accommodation is excellent, the food good, and plentiful, and the game drives, walks and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for visiting Mvuu, We're glad you had such a great time during your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future! More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 day stay at Mvuu Camp with our daughter and our two grandchildren (4 and 6). Due to it being out of season there were not many other guests. This resulted in a very exclusive feel. The guides were tremendous - so knowledgeable and really friendly. The attention to detail was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. We like to think that Mvuu Camp offers a real family safari experience so I am pleased to hear that your grandchildren were well catered for and that you all had such a great time. Thank you for choosing to stay at Mvuu Camp and hopefully we may see you again soon! All the best, from Richard and the... More 

Blantyre
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

What a pleasant surprise! I have visited Liwonde Game Reserve on several occasions and stayed at Mvuu camp before, but this was my first stay at the Mvuu Lodge. Visiting the Lodge in the green season the only way to get there is by boat, which add an exciting element to the visit. While travelling there we saw, Elephants, numerous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to post a review of Mvuu Lodge. Really glad to hear you enjoyed the boat trip on the way in. It does seems to be a highlight of our guests trips during green season and it sounds like yours was no exception - elephants, hippos and skimmers; fantastic! We appreciate the walk... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We stayed here for 1 night while working in Malawi for a short time. It was the best weekend trip we did our whole time there. If you are looking for a getaway with fantastic staff, superb food, amazing wildlife and outstanding comfort then this is the place to go. From the river cruise into the remote lodge, to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

Hello. Really pleased to hear you had such a fabulous time at our lodge on the beautiful Shire river. We look forward to seeing you again soon! All the best, from Richard and the CAWS team. More 

High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
47 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were back in Malawi after living there 30 years ago, and we were joined by our daughter for a short holiday. Mvuu Lodge offers a wonderful range of sights and tours - early morning walks, followed by breakfast 'in the bush' by the river, river tours along the Shire, sunset game drives, and the marvellous sights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

I am so pleased we were able to provide a great experience on your return to Malawi, welcome back! Although rooms 6 7 and 8 are a little further away from the main lodge this does allow those guests really wanting to 'get away from it all' to experience the peace and tranquility of the park. I appreciate however, that... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We loved this place from start to finish. For 2 out of our 3 nights we were the only guests in the lodge. The staff could not have been more helpful, knowledgeable or enthusiastic. Up early every morning for me is not something I would usually enjoy, and would avoid, but you don't want waste any time here. We loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for visiting Mvuu Lodge. We look forward to your next visit! Richard and the CAWS team. More 

Kirkwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We arrived by river boat from Liwonde township which was a great chance to see some of the hippos, elephants and crocodiles on our way in. Our "Tent" was very luxurious with a king size bed, open plan en-suite bathroom and lounge area. Best of all was the balcony over looking the river which also had an outside shower. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

Your more than welcome. I'm sorry on this occasion you were unable to get a sighting of the Black Rhino, although it sounds like the close elephant sightings more than made up for it! Thank you for visiting Mvuu. Richard and the CAWS team. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I stayed two nights recently at Mvuu Lodge. The lodge is beautifully designed, with rooms and common areas perfectly comfortable and rustic-luxurious. There is limited electricity, so no cooling in the rooms other than large, mosquito-netted windows, and it can get quite warm at night. (I wonder if the solar panels might stretch toward fans? Probably not, i would guess).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try to keep things as natural as possible at the lodge, hence the limited electric supply. Currently we don't have fans in the rooms, but you'll be pleased to hear that solar powered fans are due to be installed in the lodge rooms... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities